TESTERS WANTED! ×

Hard Cider Home Brew - keeping warm in the winter

GolfSpy Tim

So Brad was bugging me on my instagram feed to share how I make my hard cider.

I'm no expert, I've only done it once before, but... fermenting cider is one of the easiest things in the world (I don't have the patience or attention to detail for beer, did it once and was entirely over it in an hour)

I am in an ongoing fight with gluten, so I'm pushed to cider (or wine) - but, most cider is WAY too sweet for my taste, or boring.

Doing some research, I found the cure... hopped cider. I've yet to buy a store bought hopped cider that could even come close to being hoppy enough for me - so... I found the closest thing I could and added a BUNCH more hops:

I used this, but substituted in Citra and Simcoe hops (a total of 7 ounces, 3.5 each, tossed toward the end of the first ferment) with 1 oz. of his suggested hops at the start of the first ferment.

but... I am doing four batches this go around (20+ gallons total) and three are hopped and one is an english style dry.

Anyone else doing some home brewing?

Well the apple brandy got drunk already - Mrs Westy has been sleeping well.

But the first batch of sloe gin will be ready in 2 weeks, then a batch very month after for 4 months.

After the first batch is ready I'll take the sloes and add them to 15 litres of scrumpy; rough cider. That'll be in a sterile brewing bucket. Leave for two weeks so the sloe and gin infuses into the cider..... The cider will be a medium (hundreds of varieties round me to choose from). Run it through a sterile cloth to get all the sloes and bits out and bottle.

The cider will start at around 7% per volume, should gain some strength from the gin in the sloes.

Real good warming winter drink.

Also good mulled, with spices as an alternative to gluhwein.

Rest in peace long sticks - I'll remember you

TM Burner Superfast 2.0 TP Regular

TM RBZ Stage 2 Fairway 14.5 stiff

Adams Blue Hybrid No. 3 stiff