Final round of the Bridgestone Invitational
Just saw Ryan Palmer pressing down spike marks on #17 green on his intended line. Anyone else see this? Is this a rules violation?
...c. Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks and Other Damage
The player may repair an old hole plug or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball, whether or not the player’s ball lies on the putting green. If a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of the repair, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of repairing an old hole plug or damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball.
Any other damage to the putting green must not be repaired if it might assist the player in his subsequent play of the hole.