Jump to content
Forum Structure Change: Equipment, University, and *Community* Read more... ×
Win a Custom Wedge Wizard Wedge: MGS Trick Shot Challenge Read more... ×

Colin L

Member
  • Content Count

    40
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

24 Excellent

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Interests
    Golf, gardening, golf, literature, golf, skiing, music ...did I mention golf .

    Club player; Scottish Golf referee,
  • Handicap:
    17
  1. Colin L

    New 2019 Rules of Golf

    You've answered your first question by realising it's up to you to choose where, within the relief area to drop. To confirm the answer to your second one, there is nothing said about how you get your hand to a knee height position from which to drop or how you position your body. You may hold the ball in front, to either side or behind you.. You may be kneeling down, lying down, standing on your head as you wish. You may orientate your body in whatever direction you wish. You just need to remember these few things: The ball must leave your hand at the height your knee would be when standing up; it shouldn't touch you before it hits the ground; it must land in and stay in the relief area.
  2. Colin L

    New 2019 Rules of Golf

    Dave, to be pernickety, any approved Local Rule that is adopted by a course/club is an actual Rule
  3. Colin L

    New 2019 Rules of Golf

    I think your nickname should be stubborngolfer rather than persevering golfer. You have the habit of going out of bounds at this place. When you do, you NR rather than walk back 250 yards (nice drive, by the way). You know you should play a provisional. You don't play a provisional because sometimes you are not out of bounds. You habitually find that you have gone out of bounds. You NR rather than walk back 250 yards .......... ..... and so the cycle goes on. There's a Scots word "thrawn". That means being perversely stubborn to the point of disadvantaging yourself rather than giving in. The cap fits, perhaps?
  4. Colin L

    New 2019 Rules of Golf

    That's not correct. There will be 5 defined parts of the course. Bunkers and the rules concerning bunkers are a discrete part. General Area Putting Greens Teeing Areas Bunkers Penalty Areas See Rule 2.2 https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-2
  5. Colin L

    New 2019 Rules of Golf

    Firstly, visit the Definitions to find out what a penalty area is. https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/definitions#definition-P Then as far as relief is concerned, think current water hazards. The relief options will be the same as for a water hazard regarding yellow staked penalty areas and a lateral water hazard regarding a red staked penalty area except that for the latter you can't drop on the opposite side. It's explained in Rule 17. https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/the-rules-of-golf/rule-17 The rules for a penalty area are being relaxed compared with water hazards. You will be able to move loose impediments, touch the ground or water with practice swings, when addressing the ball and with your backswing.
  6. Colin L

    New 2019 Rules of Golf

    Yes. Rule 11.2. In particular, 11.2b: • A player gets the general penalty if he or she deliberately deflects or stops any ball in motion. • This is true whether it is the player's own ball or a ball played by an opponent or by another player in stroke play. If you deliberately hit your ball twice, the second time is a deliberate deflection for which this rule applies.
  7. Colin L

    Flag stick laying on the green

    I did say, as the 2019 Rule says, that it will generally not be a penalty. Leaving the flagstick in a position with the intention of assisting your play like that will penalised if your ball hits it.
  8. Colin L

    Flag stick laying on the green

    Currently Rule 17-3 From Jan 2019 There will be generally no penalty for a moving ball hitting the flagstick. That includes when it is removed, [Rule 13.2 b (2)]
  9. That's a common misunderstanding. The line you are talking about is from the flagstick through the point where your ball last crossed the margin of the hazard.
  10. Colin L

    Match play rules infraction?

    I ask that question first because if his putter is obviously not indicating the line putt, there's no need to go any further. If it looks possible that it could be and it was touching the green, only then would I enquire about intent. Just the sequence I would use and by no means the only way of approaching such an issue.
  11. Colin L

    Match play rules infraction?

    Glad you got confirmation. As I said earlier, the questions to ask are: DId his putter indicate the line of putt? Did he touch any part of the putting green with it? Was his intention to indicate the line of putt? If yes to all of these, then he breached 8-2b. If no to any one of them, then he didn't.
  12. Colin L

    Match play rules infraction?

    With the state my putting is in at the moment, I could draw a line all the way to the hole and still miss.
  13. Colin L

    Match play rules infraction?

    No. He is addressing his ball not indicating his line of putt.
  14. Colin L

    Match play rules infraction?

    The question of intent has been made clear throughout this thread. The reason for my last post was to explain that RoverRick had misunderstood Rule 8-2b when he said "Even if he did so intentionally, he made no foul because it was not on the line of the putt."
  15. Colin L

    Match play rules infraction?

    Rule 16-1a deals with not touching the line of putt. Rule 8-2b deals with indicating the line of putt and the very part which you highlight tells you that you are not allowed to touch the putting green in the process of indicating the line of putt. Clearly the term putting green refers to the entire putting surface. For example, your caddie cannot indicate your line of putt by touching the putting green on the other side of the hole with the flagstick. Whether the player has finished "determining" his line of putt or not is irrelevant. If he he laid his putter down parallel with his line of putt with the intention of indcating his line of putt at any time before making his stroke, he would be breaching 8-2b. If this rule were to mean only that you cannot touch the line of putt it would say say so, but it doesn't. If it meant that, it would be redundant as it woud duplicating 16-1a. Changes From next January, the rule will change in that you or your caddie will be allowed to touch the putting green with your hand, your foot or anything you are holding to point out your line of play. It does not change with regard to putting a club or anything down on the green. The wording is clearer: The player or caddie must not set an object down anywhere on on or off the putting green to show the line of play. This is not allowed even if that object is removed before the stroke is made. [Rule 10.2b(2)] You will be allowed to touch your line of play on the putting green.
×