Jump to content

Steven T

Member
  • Posts

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About Steven T

  • Birthday 08/24/1979

Contact Methods

  • Twitter
    N/A
  • Instagram
    @steventroncoso

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Santa Ana
  • Interests
    Sports
  • Handicap:
    6.4

Recent Profile Visitors

187 profile views

Steven T's Achievements

1

Reputation

  1. Obviously there isn’t one answer that’s better than another, rather different perspectives on what your end goals are. Lower scores, hit a driver 300 down the middle, hit a driver straight… so many different aspects here but what works for me is this. I hit the ball further than most so I don’t get the big dog out that often, so I look at each hole and decide a few things before choosing a club. Yardage to different trees, bunkers, hazards, etc. then understand my bailout points and distances, meaning if I slice one to the right, what does my next shot give me to the green, what would my possible distance be from that tee shot, what if I hit it too far, what’s to the left and so forth. Once I am comfortable with the distances and bailout points I choose my club, typically I’m going to hit a 4 iron because that gives me shot shaping control and about 250 in distance. I can typically play any par 4 with that club. Now when do I get my driver out, really if a course suits my eye and my shot. I play a bit of a power fade (DJ inspired) so if I’m playing well and scoring well it’s in my hand, if I’m struggling a bit or the ball tends to roll out more on the fairways I’m putting the big dog back in the bag. I want to give myself the best opportunity to score well and this is what I have found that works for me. Hope someone finds it helpful! -Steven
  2. Hey Folks, Steven here checking in. Find me on Instagram @steventroncoso How long have you been playing golf? Been playing golf since I was 15 years old. Started off in high school PE class because I broke my leg and needed a PE class that didn't involve running. One semester of learning the game and I never looked back. From there I was off to the races and was on the varsity team team for the next 3 years. Didn't play any college though I probably should have as I was a scratch golfer at the time. What’s your handicap or normal score? Handicap is currently (as of Aug 1, 2021) at 7.4 and my typical scores are in the low 80s, nothing over 85. What do you love about golf? Bringing together friends, working on beating the course, trying to keep positive when having a bad hole, the time I get to spend with my wife and son on the golf course, the golf vacations we take, there's just nothing not to like about golf. What brings you to MyGolfSpy? Do you already know any other Spies? I'm not a big forum poster at all and typically just read all the reviews that MyGolfSpy puts out there to see if a product that I'm interested in is reviewed and if so, what is the community saying about that product. I don't necessarily take reviews as the spoken word because everyone is unique and that's what makes golf interesting, what works for you may not work for others and that's totally fine. Where are you from? What is your home course? I'm born and raised in Orange County, California. where golf never sleeps. It's golf season all year round from January thru December and it's fantastic. Even through COVID we were able to play some of our local courses, albeit tee times were a bit harder to come by. We don't have a home course as we are 50 miles outside of Los Angeles, 50 miles outside San Diego, and 1.5 hours away from Palm Springs, so we play all over the place. What are the best and worst things about golf in your region? Worst things about golf that I've experienced, at least lately, are the people who think in Orange County that you're actually going to get a round of golf finished in 4 hours. Courses are packed and there are all types of skill levels out there now so folks really need to just be patient. I mean what else do you have to do that you are in such a rush, obviously not working on your game, and by no means am I saying that we take all day cause that's not acceptable either. But go out there and enjoy your day with your friends and have a beer or two and chill out. Best things about golf in our region is that there are a ton of courses that are completely different for all skill sets and all are challenging in their own way! What do you do for a living? I'm a Controller for an Aerospace company. How’d you pick your user name? User name is nothing more than my prefix of my email...
  3. I'd love to get in on being a tester - T100 all the way... Pick me... Pick me! Letssss Gooooooooooo!
  4. Hey folks. Current handicap as of 7/15/20 is 9.3. Location is Orange County, Tustin California I hit an 8 iron 175 (I know it’s far and know most don’t believe it, but I’ve been playing a long time) and am currently playing the 2017 Taylormade P790 4 iron through AW with both taylormade wedges for the 60 and 54 degree lofts. Currently don’t know much about the Sub70, but they look nice and can’t wait to put them in play... Keep up the good work! -Steven Instagram: @steventroncoso
×
×
  • Create New...