Search the Community
Showing results for tags 'search'.
Found 2 results
I own the Search N Rescue ball retriever. Its a great retriever albeit expensive. The lever popped off the head of the retriever and I cannot find it. Because it is pressure fit, it did not break off rather just popped off. I tried to find a replacement part and cannot find who to contact or if I can even get a part. I would hate to replace the entire retriever because of one small part. Any ideas or help out there? Otherwise, beware of this retriever.
I was at the 19th hole yesterday when one in our group relayed a story regarding a controversial ruling during a match play event at the club: On a par 3 with a carry over a water hazard (with mud and reeds obscuring the far side), the player's tee shot appeared to be short and potentially in the hazard. The player declared a provisional shot and struck a ball from the drop zone, holing out for three. The player then declared that they would take the provisional shot and not search for the original ball. The opposing team objected, walked to the edge of the hazard, and found the original ball. Here I am not sure if the original was in the hazard or safe. I'm assuming safe. What's the ruling? Is the player the arbiter of the search for their own ball? Once they declare the ball lost, is the provisional the ball in play? The 19th hole committee was divided. Some sited an anecdote of Mickelson declaring a ball lost after hitting a provisional proved that no one can search if a player instructs them not to: http://www.sfgate.com/sports/article/By-the-Rules-Ball-Was-Not-Lost-Odd-sequence-2952722.php. But when I read the story I am still confused. The marshal finds the ball and Mickelson winds up re-teeing. I need MGS wisdom here... PS, the onsite decision was that the original ball was in play.