Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

Guys, is there a rule where you can not swap clubs during a tournament? If you finish a round , change clubs, and play next round with different clubs.

Is that against the rules?

 

Tazz

 

Sent using the MSG app!

@bigtazzGOLF on Twitter

         Grip n Rip it

Chicks dig the LONG ball

In my :callaway-small: staff bag

:cobra-small: King F7+ Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro White 60 - Graphite Tour X-Stiff

:755178188_TourEdge:  CBX 13.5 3 Wood

:1332069271_TommyArmour:  Atomic Irons 4-AW (reviewing)

:cleveland-small: CG16 Satin 52*

:cleveland-small: 588 RTX 2.0 56* and 60*

Sentio Sierra 101-M Putter

 

Proud tester of the Tommy Armour ATOMIC Irons 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules refer to a stipulated round, not the entire competition. Players may change clubs between two stipulated rounds of a 36-hole competition, but not when play of a round has been suspended.

  • Like 1

There is no spoon.

WITB
TaylorMade M3
Callaway Diablo 15°
Callaway Diablo 18°
Callaway Steelhead XR Pro 4-W
Mizuno TP-4 50, 54, 58
TaylorMade Rossa Monza Spyder

Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules refer to a stipulated round, not the entire competition. Players may change clubs between two stipulated rounds of a 36-hole competition, but not when play of a round has been suspended.

Cool so as long as the round is complete and scorecards are signed I can swap out.

New used irons arrived today and they will be in action tomorrow.

Thanks

 

Sent using the MSG app!

@bigtazzGOLF on Twitter

         Grip n Rip it

Chicks dig the LONG ball

In my :callaway-small: staff bag

:cobra-small: King F7+ Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro White 60 - Graphite Tour X-Stiff

:755178188_TourEdge:  CBX 13.5 3 Wood

:1332069271_TommyArmour:  Atomic Irons 4-AW (reviewing)

:cleveland-small: CG16 Satin 52*

:cleveland-small: 588 RTX 2.0 56* and 60*

Sentio Sierra 101-M Putter

 

Proud tester of the Tommy Armour ATOMIC Irons 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep. Once you sign and turn in your card, it's official. The only thing that changes after that is a DQ if you signed for an improper score.

There is no spoon.

WITB
TaylorMade M3
Callaway Diablo 15°
Callaway Diablo 18°
Callaway Steelhead XR Pro 4-W
Mizuno TP-4 50, 54, 58
TaylorMade Rossa Monza Spyder

Link to post
Share on other sites

Just look at Robert Streb last year broke his putter during round. Played back nine using wedge made the playoff got a new putter for the playoff.

Chippewa Falls Wisconsin

10.3 Index

Right Handed

What's in the bag:

 

Driver: :wilson_staff_small: FG Tour F5 8* Fujikura Speeder 757 Evolution Tour Spec X-flex, :ping-small: Anser 8*, Black Grafalloy Bi-Matrix X-Flex; :cobra-small: King LTD Pro Orange Grafalloy Bi-Matrix X-Flex

 

 

FW Wood: :wilson_staff_small: FG Tour F5 15* Fujikura Speeder 757 Evolution Tour Spec X-Flex :ping-small: Anse14*, Fujikura Speeder 757 US Open Edition , X-Stiff

 

 

Irons: :wilson_staff_small: FG Tour V4 2 utility Iron, 3-PW, +0.25, 2* Upright, True Temper Dynamic Gold X-100

 

 

Wedges: :wilson_staff_small: FG Tour PMP Gun Blue 52* bent to 51*, 56* True Temper Dynamic Gold X-100 Shafts

 

 

:edel-golf-1: E2 35", :wilson_staff_small: 8802 35.5", :ping-small: Scottsdale, Wolverine C 35" :ping-small: Anser Milled, Anser 2 34"

Link to post
Share on other sites

Can it be made a condition of competition that you play the entire tournament with the same set?

 

I don't think so. CC's can only be implemented if they don't fundamentally clash with the rules of golf in general. In this case, clubs may be changed in between stipulated rounds under the rules of golf and also during the round if they become unfit for play under normal use. 

Therefore limiting the set (as played) during a tournament would contradict the rules - which you can't do.

You can limit the number of clubs (e.g. a single club completion) and you can also limit the type and brand of ball for the duration of a tournament, but you can't restrict the right of a player to change clubs in accordance with, and prescribed by the rules.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't think so. CC's can only be implemented if they don't fundamentally clash with the rules of golf in general. In this case, clubs may be changed in between stipulated rounds under the rules of golf and also during the round if they become unfit for play under normal use. 

Therefore limiting the set (as played) during a tournament would contradict the rules - which you can't do.

You can limit the number of clubs (e.g. a single club completion) and you can also limit the type and brand of ball for the duration of a tournament, but you can't restrict the right of a player to change clubs in accordance with, and prescribed by the rules.

Ethically you are correct but a Tournament Committee can do basically anything it wishes unless it is co-sanctioned by the USGA or PGA or something like that.

Driver Homna  G1- X Stock Homna Regular shaft

4 wood Adams Tight Lies 

5 wood Adams Tight Lies 

24* Hybrid Adams A 10-OS Pro Launch Red R

Irons 5 thru PW 1980 Macgregor VIP Hogan Apex #2 shafts

SW- Wilson Staff JP II 56* shaft unknown

Putter 1997 Santa Fe rusty as heck

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

The only exception is if you damage a club through normal use, for example snapping a shaft by hitting a tree on your follow through. In this case you can replace the damaged club.

 

If you damage it by smashing a club into your bag, tree, ground etc, bad luck, play with one less club.

  • Like 1

:ping-small:  G400 SFT with Aldila Xtorsion Copper Stiff
:cobra-small: F8 3 & 5 Woods with Project X Evenflow Blue 6.0

:cobra-small: F8 4 Hybrid
:mizuno-small:  MP18 MMC - Project X LZ 5.5
:mizuno-small: S18 Wedges 50,54,58
MLA Tour Mallet 33"
:srixon-small:  Z Star
:ping-small: Pioneer bag
:Clicgear: buggy

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ethically you are correct but a Tournament Committee can do basically anything it wishes unless it is co-sanctioned by the USGA or PGA or something like that.

 

Ethically correct? Without ethics, what are you left with? If the committee does anything that is outside the rules, then it ceases to be golf. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

So if your clubs are stolen after one round but before the next, you can't play because you don't have the same set?

The way I understand it is once the round is over. You can swap out any club(s).

 

Tazz

 

Sent using the MSG app!

@bigtazzGOLF on Twitter

         Grip n Rip it

Chicks dig the LONG ball

In my :callaway-small: staff bag

:cobra-small: King F7+ Mitsubishi Tensei CK Pro White 60 - Graphite Tour X-Stiff

:755178188_TourEdge:  CBX 13.5 3 Wood

:1332069271_TommyArmour:  Atomic Irons 4-AW (reviewing)

:cleveland-small: CG16 Satin 52*

:cleveland-small: 588 RTX 2.0 56* and 60*

Sentio Sierra 101-M Putter

 

Proud tester of the Tommy Armour ATOMIC Irons 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...