Testers Wanted! Callaway Ai Smoke Drivers & AutoFlex Dream 7 Driver Shafts ×

Looking for an inexpensive quality putter

esqueleto3

Hello Im a beginner and I currently have a strata putter, but i am looking for a better putter. The max I'd be willing to spend is $100 I don't mind buying a used one in good shape.

Any suggestions?

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy mobile app

You can find some great used putters in a number of places.

Would you say you prefer a soft feel with you putter (something with an insert or a more firm feel of a putter with a milled face).

Your best path forward would be totally go to your local golf store and try a bunch of putters and see which you like best in terms of, looks, feel and performance.

Once you have an idea of what you like report back here and we can help you find a more economical version of what you like!

Welcome to the forums!  Glad you joined us.

Putters are very personal, probably more so than any other club in the bag because it is a "feel" club.  What feels good to me likely doesn't feel good to you.  I agree with jlukes; if you can go to a large golf store, spend an hour rolling balls on their practice area.  Pick out a couple that particularly feel good.  Then, walk away and come back another day.  Try those same few putters again, and add a few more.  Likely, you will decide which one feels the best.

Putters will come in different lengths; standard seems to be 34-35 inches.  However, I have found that most putters tend to be too long for the average golfer.  Your golf store should have an adjustable length putter for determining your proper length; I think Ping has one.