M. Parsons 1,287 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 Not sure if this is the correct thread or not, but I have a question about rules. The other day I found myself in a fairway bunker and I noticed what seemed to be a tiny stick sticking up from the sand just in front of my ball. As I went to pull it out of the sand I found it connected to a loose root that ran along and just under the surface of the sand. Now I know that you obviously can’t move tree roots in the rough, because they are mostly immovable, but is it okay to pull/move a root that is connected from one side of the bunker to the other side? Does someone get relief from such things in a bunker? My playing partners agreed to giving me relief seeing as how my club would’ve gotten caught on the loose root during my swing, but was that the right call? 1 3 Quote In my BR-D4 6-way King F9 set to 9*, Tour length Hzrdus Smoke Black 6.0 S-flex, with GolfPride MCC +4 mid-size 3W - 13*, UST Mamiya 65 Gold S-flex, with GolfPride Tour Wrap 2G SIM UDI 2-iron - 18*, Mitsubishi Diamana Thump 100 X-flex, with GolfPride MCC Align ZX5 4-5 & ZX7 6-PW, Modus3 120 Tour S-flex, +1/2", with GolfPride Tour Wrap 2G - SM8 Tour Chrome, 50.08F - 54.10S - 58.12D, DG Wedge Flex, with GolfPride Tour Wrap 2G Custom Fit 35" ER6 Red at 68 degree lie angle and 4 degrees of loft MTB-X NX7 Pro Slope Tracked by #WPS Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chip Strokes 6,755 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 31 minutes ago, M. Parsons said: Not sure if this is the correct thread or not, but I have a question about rules. The other day I found myself in a fairway bunker and I noticed what seemed to be a tiny stick sticking up from the sand just in front of my ball. As I went to pull it out of the sand I found it connected to a loose root that ran along and just under the surface of the sand. Now I know that you obviously can’t move tree roots in the rough, because they are mostly immovable, but is it okay to pull/move a root that is connected from one side of the bunker to the other side? Does someone get relief from such things in a bunker? My playing partners agreed to giving me relief seeing as how my club would’ve gotten caught on the loose root during my swing, but was that the right call? calling @DaveP043 2 Quote SIM2 8º | KuroKage XD 70TX SIM 3W 14º | Fujikura Atmos Black Tour Spec 9TX SIM2 5W 18º | Fujikura Ventus Black 10X U500 2i | Fujikura Ventus HB Black 10TX T100 4-PW | Dynamic Gold X7 SM6 52* SM8 56* SM8 60* | Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100 DW | BGT Stability Tour Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tommc23 13,602 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 38 minutes ago, M. Parsons said: Not sure if this is the correct thread or not, but I have a question about rules. The other day I found myself in a fairway bunker and I noticed what seemed to be a tiny stick sticking up from the sand just in front of my ball. As I went to pull it out of the sand I found it connected to a loose root that ran along and just under the surface of the sand. Now I know that you obviously can’t move tree roots in the rough, because they are mostly immovable, but is it okay to pull/move a root that is connected from one side of the bunker to the other side? Does someone get relief from such things in a bunker? My playing partners agreed to giving me relief seeing as how my club would’ve gotten caught on the loose root during my swing, but was that the right call? I’m interested in the answer because that’s an interesting thing to happen 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MattF 14,598 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 10 hours ago, Getoffmylawn said: I’m on day 11 of our family trip back to my in-laws in Erie, PA. Spent three of those days near Philly going to Sesame Place, today I went to Kennywood near Pittsburgh and tomorrow is Idlewild…don’t know why my wife is pushing amusement parks this time around but tomorrow will make 3. Back in Omaha Thursday…got a message my 919 Forged reshafting job is complete…can’t wait to take them to the range with those fresh Steelfibers! I took my son and one of his friends to Kennywood a couple of years ago, it wasn't too bad, but it was hot. 2 Quote In the bag: Driver: TSi2 Project X HZRDUS Smoke Black RDX 6.0 Hybrid: 939X 3 Hybrid Project X Even Flow Riptide 6.0 Hybrid: Maltby KE4 HDI 4 and 5 UST Recoil 660 F4 Irons: Maltby DBM Forged UST Recoil 660 F4 Wedge: Smartsole S Wedge: SCOR4161 46° and 50° Putter Sycamore 005 Wide Blade Bag: Alpha Convoy 514 Balls: MTB-X or Black Cart: CaddyLite ONE Ver. 8 God Bless America, God save the Queen, God defend New Zealand and thank Christ for Australia! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post DaveP043 5,613 Posted July 13, 2021 Popular Post Share Posted July 13, 2021 (edited) 9 hours ago, M. Parsons said: Not sure if this is the correct thread or not, but I have a question about rules. The other day I found myself in a fairway bunker and I noticed what seemed to be a tiny stick sticking up from the sand just in front of my ball. As I went to pull it out of the sand I found it connected to a loose root that ran along and just under the surface of the sand. Now I know that you obviously can’t move tree roots in the rough, because they are mostly immovable, but is it okay to pull/move a root that is connected from one side of the bunker to the other side? Does someone get relief from such things in a bunker? My playing partners agreed to giving me relief seeing as how my club would’ve gotten caught on the loose root during my swing, but was that the right call? Two places in the Rules address this, Rule 12 - Bunkers, which refers you to Rule 15 - Relief from Loose Impediments and Moveable Obstructions. In a bunker, you can move Loose Impediments and Moveable Obstructions. But if you look at the Rules and the Definitions of these terms, you find that an attached root is neither, so you don't get relief and you don't get to remove it. If you go back to Rule 8 - Course Played as It Is Found you'll see that you're not allowed to move, bend, or break any growing or attached natural object. Once you determined that the root was attached, and not a loose impediment, you really should have restored it to its original condition as closely as possible. Note that this really applies all over the golf course, it its attached and growing, you're not supposed to "re-arrange" it at all. Oh, something I strongly suggest, you should go and read these rules for yourself. On one hand, you'll learn more about using the rules on your own that way. On the other, if I've screwed up you can correct me. I've done the first part of the work, you now have the specific rules to review. Edited July 13, 2021 by DaveP043 10 Quote Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X 52, 56, and 60 wedges B60 G5i putter Right handed Reston, Virginia Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shankster 33,069 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 I have a flow up question to that. Where does the self preservation come in? Say you are in a lie where if you swing, your wrist will be misshapen afterwards and can’t play golf for a year? I have never personally read the rules all the way through. Is there a “personal injury”‘prevention rule? I can tell you that I won’t be hitting a ball from a lie that has the potential to inure me, or break my clubs. sue me. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cnosil 25,342 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 23 minutes ago, Shankster said: I have a flow up question to that. Where does the self preservation come in? Say you are in a lie where if you swing, your wrist will be misshapen afterwards and can’t play golf for a year? I have never personally read the rules all the way through. Is there a “personal injury”‘prevention rule? I can tell you that I won’t be hitting a ball from a lie that has the potential to inure me, or break my clubs. sue me. According to the rules that would be an “unplayable lie”. You can take an unplayable lie anywhere, take relief and add a penalty stroke. there are also rules about dangerous situations …fire ants, snakes, alligators, etc. no penalty relief from those. 8 Quote Driver: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven Fairway: TS3 15* set to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke Hybrids: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype 915H 21* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype Irons: TR20V 5-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite Wedge: 54-10S 588 58-12 Putter: Auditions ongoing Backups: TM-180, Milled Collection RSX 2, Bellum Winmore 787, mFGP2, Directed Force 2.1 Member: MGS Hitsquad since 2017 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tony@CIC 22,362 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 12 hours ago, Getoffmylawn said: I’m on day 11 of our family trip back to my in-laws in Erie, PA. Spent three of those days near Philly going to Sesame Place, today I went to Kennywood near Pittsburgh and tomorrow is Idlewild…don’t know why my wife is pushing amusement parks this time around but tomorrow will make 3. Back in Omaha Thursday…got a message my 919 Forged reshafting job is complete…can’t wait to take them to the range with those fresh Steelfibers! And you didn't stop by Cedar Point in Sandusky? Not too far from Erie, Pa. 2 Quote Left Hand orientation SIM 2 D Max with Fujikura Air Speeder Shaft Cobra King F-9 5 wood 410 Hybrids 22*, 26* Cobra Speed Zone 6-GP/Recoil ESX 460 F3 Shafts SM7 54* Wedge Glide 3.0 60* Wedge O Works putter NX9-HD - 4 Wheel - too many shoes to list and so many to buy And BAG Boy Golf Balls: Snell MTB-X And Vice Pro Plus 2020 Official Tester Beginning Driver Speed - 78 2019 Official Tester 410 Driver 2018 Official Tester C300 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getoffmylawn 5,411 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 13 minutes ago, tony@CIC said: And you didn't stop by Cedar Point in Sandusky? Not too far from Erie, Pa. Kids are 8, 6, and 4…parks I mentioned have more to offer little kiddos. I’m sure Cedar Point will happen in a future year. 4 Quote Driver: TR20 460, Ventus Blue 6 S, 65g Stiff FW: CBX 119 3w, 15, Project X Evenflow Blue 65g Stiff Hybrids: Apex Pro 3 & 4H, Mitsubishi MMT 80g Stiff Iron: JPX 919 Forged 5-GW, Aerotech Steelfiber i95 Stiff Wedges: SM8 54 S Grind bent to 55, 60 M Grind bent to 59, Aerotech Steelfiber i110 Stiff Putter: White Hot OG Double Wide, Stroke Lab shaft Ball: Pro V1X Click here for my HONMA TR20 Official Review! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DaveP043 5,613 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 2 hours ago, Shankster said: I have a flow up question to that. Where does the self preservation come in? Say you are in a lie where if you swing, your wrist will be misshapen afterwards and can’t play golf for a year? I have never personally read the rules all the way through. Is there a “personal injury”‘prevention rule? I can tell you that I won’t be hitting a ball from a lie that has the potential to inure me, or break my clubs. sue me. 2 hours ago, cnosil said: According to the rules that would be an “unplayable lie”. You can take an unplayable lie anywhere, take relief and add a penalty stroke. As usual, @cnosil has it exactly right, there are situations where you really should take Unplayable Lie Relief rather than risk injury. Now there ARE some Model Local Rules that address some of these "dangerous" lies, I specifically remember one about relief from roots, but these have to be put into effect by the Committee to be used. 5 Quote Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X 52, 56, and 60 wedges B60 G5i putter Right handed Reston, Virginia Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
M. Parsons 1,287 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 2 hours ago, DaveP043 said: Two places in the Rules address this, Rule 12 - Bunkers, which refers you to Rule 15 - Relief from Loose Impediments and Moveable Obstructions. In a bunker, you can move Loose Impediments and Moveable Obstructions. But if you look at the Rules and the Definitions of these terms, you find that an attached root is neither, so you don't get relief and you don't get to remove it. If you go back to Rule 8 - Course Played as It Is Found you'll see that you're not allowed to move, bend, or break any growing or attached natural object. Once you determined that the root was attached, and not a loose impediment, you really should have restored it to its original condition as closely as possible. Note that this really applies all over the golf course, it its attached and growing, you're not supposed to "re-arrange" it at all. Oh, something I strongly suggest, you should go and read these rules for yourself. On one hand, you'll learn more about using the rules on your own that way. On the other, if I've screwed up you can correct me. I've done the first part of the work, you now have the specific rules to review. Thank you very much for your response Dave, and I have followed your advice to read and search the rules, which brings me to Rule 16.1 - Abnormal Course Conditions (Including Immovable Obstructions)...I see that the rule doesn't spell out "loose root" (I wish now that I had taken some pictures), but couldn't that be considered an immovable obstruction? 3 Quote In my BR-D4 6-way King F9 set to 9*, Tour length Hzrdus Smoke Black 6.0 S-flex, with GolfPride MCC +4 mid-size 3W - 13*, UST Mamiya 65 Gold S-flex, with GolfPride Tour Wrap 2G SIM UDI 2-iron - 18*, Mitsubishi Diamana Thump 100 X-flex, with GolfPride MCC Align ZX5 4-5 & ZX7 6-PW, Modus3 120 Tour S-flex, +1/2", with GolfPride Tour Wrap 2G - SM8 Tour Chrome, 50.08F - 54.10S - 58.12D, DG Wedge Flex, with GolfPride Tour Wrap 2G Custom Fit 35" ER6 Red at 68 degree lie angle and 4 degrees of loft MTB-X NX7 Pro Slope Tracked by #WPS Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DaveP043 5,613 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 8 minutes ago, M. Parsons said: Thank you very much for your response Dave, and I have followed your advice to read and search the rules, which brings me to Rule 16.1 - Abnormal Course Conditions (Including Immovable Obstructions)...I see that the rule doesn't spell out "loose root" (I wish now that I had taken some pictures), but couldn't that be considered an immovable obstruction? This is where I'll refer you to the definition of Obstruction, where you'll find that Obstructions are artificial things. Roots don't fit that definition. 2 Quote Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X 52, 56, and 60 wedges B60 G5i putter Right handed Reston, Virginia Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post sirchunksalot 16,391 Posted July 13, 2021 Popular Post Share Posted July 13, 2021 My plant caught fire today in the body shop. Thankfully the only injuries were due to smoke inhalation and I hope the seven people affected recover soon. Fortunately, our plant has a good evacuation plan in place and we were able to get to safety quickly. https://www.newschannel9.com/news/local/chattanooga-firefighters-on-scene-of-reported-fire-at-volkswagen-tuesday-morning 4 8 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
artful_golfer 1,563 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 1 minute ago, sirchunksalot said: My plant caught fire today in the body shop. Thankfully the only injuries were due to smoke inhalation and I hope the seven people affected recover soon. Fortunately, our plant has a good evacuation plan in place and we were able to get to safety quickly. https://www.newschannel9.com/news/local/chattanooga-firefighters-on-scene-of-reported-fire-at-volkswagen-tuesday-morning Glad you're ok. 5 Quote PXG 0811 XF driver Serene: 3 wood, 4 & 5 hybrid iron r7 Draw, Flex L: 4, 6 - 9 irons Wedges: RTX Zipcore 46 mid bounce; RTX-3: 52/10 wedge; 56/11 wedge; and Tour Action 900 60* low bounce Armlock putter or E-2 Torque custom fit putter Tour B XS golf ball V3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sirchunksalot 16,391 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 25 minutes ago, artful_golfer said: Glad you're ok. Thank you! 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GolfSpy_BOS 15,526 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 32 minutes ago, sirchunksalot said: My plant caught fire today in the body shop. Thankfully the only injuries were due to smoke inhalation and I hope the seven people affected recover soon. Fortunately, our plant has a good evacuation plan in place and we were able to get to safety quickly. https://www.newschannel9.com/news/local/chattanooga-firefighters-on-scene-of-reported-fire-at-volkswagen-tuesday-morning Scary stuff, glad you all were ok. You should probably get a few free vacation days to golf and de-stress from it! 7 Quote Epic Max LS 10.5 - Motore X F3 6x | Speedzone 5-wood - Ventus Blue 8s | TSi3 20* Hybrid - KBS Proto 85s KING Forged Tec 5-GW - Nippon Modus 120x | KING MIM Black 52.12C, 56.10V, 60.04W - Nippon Modus 125 Wedge ER2B | Pro V1x | NX9 Slope Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lacassem 16,748 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 36 minutes ago, sirchunksalot said: My plant caught fire today in the body shop. Thankfully the only injuries were due to smoke inhalation and I hope the seven people affected recover soon. Fortunately, our plant has a good evacuation plan in place and we were able to get to safety quickly. https://www.newschannel9.com/news/local/chattanooga-firefighters-on-scene-of-reported-fire-at-volkswagen-tuesday-morning Glad all was good, and this is why we do evacuation planning don’t yell at facilities when we do them 3 Quote Check out my reviews: G710 Irons Official Review MC Shaft & V Series Putter Official Review WITB: Traverse is filled with all this shiny metal and tracked by RadSpeed 8* - MotoreX F1 6X SIM 3W - Project X HZRDUS Green SpeedZone 4H - Project X HZRDUS Black 2019 P790 4-PW - Project X 6.5 LZ 48 (SM8), 52, 56, 60 (SM7) - Nippon Modus 125 S ER2VI PROV1X #19 Thank you to all those that have served/are serving and God Bless America Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickp 29,512 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 2 minutes ago, B.Boston said: Scary stuff, glad you all were ok. You should probably get a few free vacation days to golf and de-stress from it! 2 Quote Rick Left Hand, Driver; Titleist TSi2, Kuro Kage 50 gr R2 5 Wood; Cally Steelhead 5 Hybrid; Cally Steelhead, Hazardous Vista Pro R2 Irons; Ping G710 6-GW, Recoil 460 R2 Wedges; Titleist S9 54* Putter; Waaay too many to list Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sirchunksalot 16,391 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 4 minutes ago, B.Boston said: Scary stuff, glad you all were ok. You should probably get a few free vacation days to golf and de-stress from it! I couldn't agree more! We did get off today and I'm kind of wondering how we're going to produce anything since bodies can't get to paint. 1 minute ago, Lacassem said: Glad all was good, and this is why we do evacuation planning don’t yell at facilities when we do them I don't mind them at all, I was on the safety committee for about a two years and they do serve an amazing purpose. 7 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EasyPutter 2,509 Posted July 13, 2021 Share Posted July 13, 2021 The Testing feature from Scottsdale is really cool and the robot is just as cool from a mechanical and electronic point of view. I know there's a thing going on to name it and I hope what is picked is something as cool as Max Headroom. Something like Smash Factor or something else related to swing terminology since that is what it is spending it's lifetime doing. 1 Quote Verified Hack, 23 handicap Golfing for exercise and peace of mind. |> Big Dogs: First StrikeTM Rattlesnake (10.5), Ginty Trouble Club (29) |> Blades: First StrikeTM DeliveranceTM 3(20) 4(23) 5(26) 6(29) 7(33) 8(37) 9(41) P(45) |> Wedges: Worx (55) |> Flatsticks: Pinemeadow Z-ON M1 (3), testing L.A.B. Golf DF 2.1 . C130 Supercharged 3.5+ Q6 Slope SwingU Looper MGS Logo Ball mark |> IGBRC [International Golf Ball Rescue Committee] -Founder- PGA HOPE Graduate Member "The World's Greatest Golf Club Without The Course" Member #334 2020 Official Tester - PuttUp mat 2021 Official Tester - Inesis Waterproof Grip Golf Shoes 2022 Official Tester - L.A.B.Putters It's all lies I tell you, everywhere the golf ball comes to rest! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.