Jump to content

Taylormade R9 Irons for ONLY $112


GolfSpy_X
 Share

Recommended Posts

To those who were fast enough to get in on this.. I hope they honor it for you. I was too late.

•Never argue with an idiot. First, he will drag you down to his level. Then he will beat you with experience!•

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 92
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It now says...$869.99

 

 

 

Hope you guys get your orders processed.

Driver: PXG 0211 w/Evenflo Riptide CB Regular shaft 

Fairways:  Cobra King F8 3-4W(16*), 5-6W(20*) both w/Mitsubishi ck Blue regular shaft and Patriot 7W w/AccuLaunch 60 by Accuflex

Hybrid: Cobra F8 3 Hybrid(19*) w/Recoil ES regular shaft 

Irons: Wilson D7 5-PW w/Recoil 460 Regular graphite shafts 

Wedges: Cleveland RTX Zipcore(50*/54*/58*) w/True Temper Spinner Wedge steel shaft  

Putter: 33" Evnroll ER2 w/Evnroll Gravity Grip 

Bag: Vice cart bag(Black).  

Pushcart:  Caddytek 3.0 from Costco

Ball: Maxfli Tour CG & Titleist Pro V1x.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Appears to be no chance of this deal. Here is an example of a feedback left regarding a pricing error. Although I do recall something in the Uniform Commercial Code regarding pricing errors. I wonder what the legal ramification of this is? I mean that the terms are clear and by submitting payment, albeit a credit card that remains uncharged until the order is processed, would that not qualify as offer, acceptance, and consideration? Any attorneys out there?

 

" 1 out of 5: "Seller advertised a set of golf clubs at a $537 discount. Then they tried to send me 1 club instead of a set. This is false advertising. Similar ads continue to run after my complaint."

Date: June 16, 2010 Rated by Buyer: William J.

Seller Response: "There was an obvious error on Amazon's website (there was no mention of a $537.00 discount). The customer was informed of the error and the order was refunded immediately. We are still in the process of rectifying this problem with Amazon. Thank you." Date: June 16, 2010"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If TGW was smart (business wise), they would honor the mistake. They are a big enough company to handle the loss. Plus, I need a good trade in!!

Cobra Connect 5 Competitor - Team Chad

  • :cobra-small: King Radspeed 10.5* w/ Hzrdus RDX Blue 60 6.5 tipped 1/2" - Peacoat/Red
  • :cobra-small: King Radspeed Big Tour 3 Wood w/ Hzrdus RDX Blue 70 6.5 Tipped 1/2"
  • :cobra-small: King Radspeed Tour 5 Wood w/ Motore X F1 70 X Flex 
  • :cobra-small: King Utility 4 21* w/ Tensei Pro White 100 X Flex
  • :cobra-small: King Tour MIM Copper Irons 5-G w/ AMT White X100 Onyx
  • :cobra-small: King MIM Black Wedges 55* & 60* w/ AMT White X100 Onyx
  • :taylormade-small: Spider SR
  • :titelist-small: Pro V1x Left Dash
  • Lefty
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If TGW was smart (business wise), they would honor the mistake. They are a big enough company to handle the loss. Plus, I need a good trade in!!

They more than likely wont. Im sure that its in small print somewhere that prices on their website are not always correct. A few years ago Walmart.com had a typo that was selling a $3000 plasma tv for $100, so I ordered 5 of them. Three days later I got an email that said they're had been a mistake made on their website and the tv actually retails for $3000 and they did not have to honor the $100 price tag.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Spoke with my attorney who is also my golf buddy. We both agree that it will be interesting to see their approach to this whole situation.

 

I ordered a set and got the confirmation for my order. Of course there has been no confirmation of shipping yet.

 

I know that I cannot make that kind of error without standing behind it in my business.

 

I wonder when we will hear from TGW's representative to try and back out of the deal....

Link to comment
Share on other sites

They will probably ship one club and then I will have to pay return shipping to get my refund, effectively losing money in this deal somehow...

 

I'm sure they're trying to figure out what to do. They probably have TGW on the horn and are apologizing profusely. I work in the retail advertising industry for a MAJOR home improvement retailer and crap like this happens all the time. Sometimes it benefits the consumer, sometimes it doesn't.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'm sure they're trying to figure out what to do. They probably have TGW on the horn and are apologizing profusely. I work in the retail advertising industry for a MAJOR home improvement retailer and crap like this happens all the time. Sometimes it benefits the consumer, sometimes it doesn't.

 

So are you guessing this is Amazon's goof? If so it would be great if Amazon would just absorb the cost. I wonder how many orders came through at that price.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I can't believe they'll honour it, sorry to be a party pooper.

 

Happened to me a while back, on another forum. Tesco online had beer crazy cheap, everyone ordered crates and crates of it only for it all to be cancelled from the orders.

 

Good luck ;)

"The more I practice the luckier I get" - Gary Player


R1, Matrix Black Tie 7M3 S flex
RBZ, 14.5, Matrix Black Tie 7M3 S flex
R11 17 & 22 Rescues, Motore F3 S flex
Rocketbladez Tour irons, 5 - PW,
ATV 50,54,Tour preferred 58 wedges
Daddy Long Legs 33-35"
Tour Preferred X
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Heres your answer. It's not even in small print.

 

DISCLAIMER

 

THIS SITE AND ALL MATERIALS CONTAINED ON IT ARE DISTRIBUTED AND TRANSMITTED ON AN “AS IS” AND “AS AVAILABLE” BASIS, WITHOUT WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EITHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. REDCATS USA DOES NOT WARRANT THAT: (A) THE CONTENTS OF THIS SITE (INCLUDING PRICING AND OTHER PRODUCT INFORMATION) WILL BE ACCURATE, RELIABLE OR ERROR-FREE, OR THAT ANY ERRORS IN SUCH CONTENTS WILL BE CORRECTED; OR MISTAKES IN PRICING OR OTHER PRODUCT DETAILS WILL BE HONORED; (;) THAT THIS SITE OR THE SERVER THAT MAKES IT AVAILABLE ARE FREE OF VIRUSES OR OTHER HARMFUL COMPONENTS; OR © THAT YOUR USE OF THIS SITE WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just place an order for a couple sets...we will have to wait and see.

 

I just tried the link from your post (12:55 EDT) and it sent me here:

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002ZAQUTI?ie=UTF8&tag=golfspy-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B002ZAQUTI

 

The page states:

Rh taylor made r9 tp 3-pw kbs stl s

by TaylorMade

No customer reviews yet. Be the first.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

List Price: $1,080.00

Price: $869.99

You Save: $210.01 (19%)

 

In Stock.

Ships from and sold by Carl's Golfland.

 

Only 2 left in stock--order soon.

 

2 new from $869.99

It has an R9 iron back of iron facing pic.

Check the attached pic I took off the page...

Ol' Stick

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Heres your answer. It's not even in small print.

 

Was that excerpted from Amazon's listing or the TGW.com website? Amazon specifically limits their pricing error disclaimer to orders fulfilled by Amazon. One cannot be expected to venture to TGW.com to read their disclaimer that ONLY applies to TGW.com prior to purchasing on Amazon.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

MGS,

 

I Googled "Rh taylor made r9 tp 3-pw" and found the link to the $112 reference to a set of R9's. I will pass on this, as it is obviously a mistaken posting.

 

Guys, let's take the high road on this one. A new set of R9's bought at that price is just not the way to play the game. Golf has taught me better than that.

Ol' Stick

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I just tried the link from your post (12:55 EDT) and it sent me here:

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002ZAQUTI?ie=UTF8&tag=golfspy-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B002ZAQUTI

 

The page states:

Rh taylor made r9 tp 3-pw kbs stl s

by TaylorMade

No customer reviews yet. Be the first.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

List Price: $1,080.00

Price: $869.99

You Save: $210.01 (19%)

 

In Stock.

Ships from and sold by Carl's Golfland.

 

Only 2 left in stock--order soon.

 

2 new from $869.99

It has an R9 iron back of iron facing pic.

Check the attached pic I took off the page...

 

It is obvious now it wasn't intended to be the deal of the century and it has been changed. See the pdf I uploaded earlier in the post. Earlier today TGW.com offered sets of R9 TP irons 3-PW with KBS S Shafts for $112 through Amazon. Many of us made purchases in good faith but now there is a question of whether the deal will be fulfilled due to speculation and that they have changed their price to $899. I believe they will cancel the order prior to charging anyone's card and offer nothing in return, likely after consulting with their attorneys regarding the matter.

 

My forecast...

"Oops" -TGW

Link to comment
Share on other sites

MGS,

 

I Googled "Rh taylor made r9 tp 3-pw" and found the link to the $112 reference to a set of R9's. I will pass on this, as it is obviously a mistaken posting.

 

Guys, let's take the high road on this one. A new set of R9's bought at that price is just not the way to play the game. Golf has taught me better than that.

 

So you are saying I should I call them and ask them to cancel my order because it isn't equitable? Sometimes they give away free clubs (sweepstakes) just for giving them your email address. $112 is a lot more valuable than my email address...but I agree that this is probably not a fair deal. Will not be surprised if it is cancelled...but it is fun to think about a new set of R9 TPs for $112!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Was that excerpted from Amazon's listing or the TGW.com website? Amazon specifically limits their pricing error disclaimer to orders fulfilled by Amazon. One cannot be expected to venture to TGW.com to read their disclaimer that ONLY applies to TGW.com prior to purchasing on Amazon.

It doesn't matter, they've got themselves covered.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...