Jump to content

LPGA Tour Lexi Thompson Ruling!


ole gray
 Share

Recommended Posts

Everyone is correct on a lot of things:

 

The late penalty was BS

Calls in shouldn't be allowed

The handling by the USGA/LPGA was horrendous 

 

But the one thing that is beyond true and needs to be addressed:

 

You damn well know when you put a marker almost to the side of the ball and then move your ball an inch over to replace it on that spot. She knew 100% what she was doing, I have no doubt about that.

 

 

... This is the most sanctimonious post I have read on any forum. I am not looking to get into an argument as this is your opinion and all opinions are valid, but calling her a liar and a cheater is just taking things too far. An inch? Were you there? Did you run the camera? As someone whose life is based on camera movement, location and a myriad of other factors there is no way to know what was going on with that lens. Looked like 1/2" to me and it was from the side so she had little reference to the hole. Brian cramp under the pressure of leading a Major? Sure. A just penalty? Yes. But obviously cheating is far from "no doubt". VERY far. 

  • Like 8

Driver:   TaylorMade SIM2 Max 10.5* ... Diamana Ltd 60R
Fairway:  TaylorMade SIM2 Max 15* ... Tensei Raw Blue 65R
                 TaylorMade SIM2 Max 18* ... Tensei Raw Blue 65R
Utility:   TaylorMade DHy 19* ... Diamana Ltd 65R
              Taylor Made Sim Hybrid 22* ... Diamana Ltd 75R
Irons:    4-Pw Cobra King Tour MIM ... Steelfiber 95R
Wedges:  Cobra Snakebite 50* ... Steelfiber 95R
                 Vokey SM8 58* ... Steelfiber 95R
Putter:  Cleveland Hunting Beach Soft 11S 33.5"
Ball:      TaylorMade TP5x (2021)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I still come back to the penalty for marking the ball is what it is, but a day later another 2 strokes for signing and incorrect card is real BS to me.  This would have been even more of a disaster if the DQ rule was in effect and she was told on 12 that she was DQ'd for signing and incorrect card.  Happened to Michelle Wie a few years ago after someone watching video called in and said she took an incorrect drop after she completed her round and signed her card. 

  • Like 7

In the Bag for 2021

:callaway-small: Epic Max LS 10.5* AD TP 6x

:callaway-small: Rogue SZ 15* AD TP 7x

:callaway-small: Rogue SZ 18* AD MT 7x

:callaway-small: X Forged UT 24* MMT 105TX

:callaway-small: Apex Pro 5 - AW Steelfiber 115x

:callaway-small: PM Grind 2.0 54* $ 58* KBS $ Taper 120 Black

:ping-small: B90

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This isn't going away anytime soon.  The camera used to penalize Lexi wasn't in a still position.

 

 

The camera should not have been zoomed in that close.  If the infraction is not be seen by competitors, officials on site, or the gallery and reported immediately, the cameras should not provide the doofus at home with a closeup view to see it either.  All of this has happened in the last few years with camera technology improvements.  For 200 years it would have only been called a penalty if the player or those watching locally observed it; only in the last 10 years could it be observed.  Don't allow broadcast of shots with closeups, and the call-ins and emails will stop.

  • Like 6

We don’t stop playing the game because we get old; we get old because we stop playing the game.”

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am with the common and dissenting opinion that a spectator has no right to call a penalty in from TV coverage. Being a golf rookie, can someone please briefly explain what rule she broke?

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

2020 MGS Hard Rock Challenge

 

SkyCaddie SX400
OGIO Silencer:  Followed by Arccos
:ping-small: G410+, Tensei Orange
:callaway-small:  Mavrik 3w, Evenflow Riptide
:nike-small: Covert 2.0 3H, Kuro Kage Black
:wilson-small:
Wilson D7 Irons 4-GW,  Dynamic Gold AMT
:ping-small: Glide  52, 56 ES
:EVNROLL: ER2
:titelist-small: -ProV1x (left dash)

Romans 10:9

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am with the common and dissenting opinion that a spectator has no right to call a penalty in from TV coverage. Being a golf rookie, can someone please briefly explain what rule she broke?

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

She played a stroke from the incorrect position. Don't know the rule number but that is in layman's terms what she did wrong.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

In the Bag for 2021

:callaway-small: Epic Max LS 10.5* AD TP 6x

:callaway-small: Rogue SZ 15* AD TP 7x

:callaway-small: Rogue SZ 18* AD MT 7x

:callaway-small: X Forged UT 24* MMT 105TX

:callaway-small: Apex Pro 5 - AW Steelfiber 115x

:callaway-small: PM Grind 2.0 54* $ 58* KBS $ Taper 120 Black

:ping-small: B90

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

TIL: the LPGA was playing a major this weekend. On a serious note, what was going on?!? If you watch how she marked it and replaced it, there was something extremely odd about the motion. I wonder if there was a spike mark between her and the hole.

 

Good weekend for the LPGA. Viewership was way up on Sunday and probably more people talking about her and the LPGA in the last two days than the last two months.

  • Like 1

<p><strong>D:</strong>    :ping-small:   9* G400 Max w/Xcalibur TSL</p><p> </p><p><strong>F: </strong>  :callaway-small: 14* XR Pro 16 w/Hzrdous Red</p><p><strong>I:</strong>   :edel-golf-1: SLS-01 4-SW w/Paderson SL</p><p><strong>W:</strong>   :edel-golf-1: DGR 59 w/Dynamic Gold SL</p><p><strong>P:</strong> Artisan 0318 or Edel TB</p><p> 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • SPY VIP

TIL: the LPGA was playing a major this weekend. On a serious note, what was going on?!? If you watch how she marked it and replaced it, there was something extremely odd about the motion. I wonder if there was a spike mark between her and the hole.

 

Good weekend for the LPGA. Viewership was way up on Sunday and probably more people talking about her and the LPGA in the last two days than the last two months.

Straight up strange and fishy. I'm sure you're right that there was a spike mark or something and she moved her ball over to avoid it. I have no doubt there was full intent to dodge the rules.

 

On the flip side the tour sure did generate some buzz for itself.

Yo #JustPlayBetter


Follow @GolfSpyMBP
twitmbp.jpg

wimb2.jpg 

latestreview.jpg 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • SPY VIP

https://www.instagram.com/p/BSbNoZ5helC/

 

- She walks up and is about to tap in and sees something she doesn't like

- places marker and it's 100% clear you CANNOT see the marker it is hidden by ball

- picks ball up and moves closer to herself and replaces

- marker is now 100% in clear view

 

She blatantly moves that ball, most likely to avoid something in her line.

 

*Note the hole on right side of screen, it never moves. Camera angle remains​ the same.

Yo #JustPlayBetter


Follow @GolfSpyMBP
twitmbp.jpg

wimb2.jpg 

latestreview.jpg 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Love this....courtesy of DivotDiggersGolf.

I can understand the 2 stroke penalty, but the 4 strokes was ridiculous.

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 8
What's in my  :cleveland-small: bag:

Driver :  :cobra-small: F9 10.5, Fujikura Speeder 757 TR 

Fairway  :cobra-small: F9 15.5° Aldila Rogue White 80X

Hybrid:  :cobra-small: King F7 18° KBS Tour PROTO Hybrid 95 S+

Irons:   :srixon-small: z585 4i - 6i,  z785 7i-PW, Nippon Modus 120X

Wedges:  :cleveland-small: CBX  50.11, 55.11, 60.10  TT DG S400 Black

Putter:  post-53756-150768041262.jpg Honey Badger 34" 

Ball:  :srixon-small: Q-Star Tour

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

IF they are going to allow " outside" officials ( and my opinion is not a hope in hell should it be happening) the very least is and decisions MUST be made prior to the commencement of the next round following any reported infraction.

In NO WAY SHOULD PENALTIES BE ASSESSED OR DELIVERED ( on an after the fact decision in the middle of a final round)

This was totally in appropriate and disrupted ALL the players and yes it took away a MAJOR CHAMPIONSHIP from a class act competitor whose unintended mistake had nothing to do with the short putt she made as it would have been made irregardless.

 

 

 

Sent from my SM-N920W8 using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

https://www.instagram.com/p/BSbNoZ5helC/

 

- She walks up and is about to tap in and sees something she doesn't like

- places marker and it's 100% clear you CANNOT see the marker it is hidden by ball

- picks ball up and moves closer to herself and replaces

- marker is now 100% in clear view

 

She blatantly moves that ball, most likely to avoid something in her line.

 

*Note the hole on right side of screen, it never moves. Camera angle remains​ the same.

 

If this is a normal play for her I'm sure it will come out. There has to be 100's of hours of footage of her out there to go through.

 

Haters have nothing but time.

 

Only she knows the truth!

  • Like 2

"I'd play a ladies set of clubs if it allowed me to break par."

PING G410 LST Fujikura Pro 2.0 Tour Spec 6

Titleist 17, 19, and 21 degree 818 H2 Hybrids

Ping G700 5 - GW

Titleist Vokey SM7 54 Wedge

Titleist Vokey SM7 58 Wedge

Evenroll ER3

Snell MTB-X

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It wasnt intentional..where she places the ball and that you can now see the marker doesnt necessarily mean the ball is closer just on a different line to the hole. It was a violation but the fact it was brought to her attention when it was ( on the back nine of the final round) is the issue. Along with the fact golf and golfers should police their game and NOT OUTSIDE VIEWERS!!

IT IS THE ONLY SPORT WHERE TELEVISION VIEWERS ARE ALLOWED TO BECOME OFFICIALS..AND ITS WRONG!

 

Sent from my SM-N920W8 using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

No more arm chair officials. Don't answer their calls or read their emails, tweets, etc until after the tournament. No more changing a scorecard after it is signed. The monday quarterbacking and stupid rules are a real black eye for golf. If you're gonna go like this, almost no ball is EVER PLACED back in the exact same spot. Guessing every tour pro has done this inadvertently at some point or another... as long as they are not placing it for an advantage please just let them play....

 

Sent from my SM-G900V using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

It puts the officials in an awkward spot. Once it is brought to their attention, they need to do something about it. I agree with the two stroke penalty for incorrectly replacing the ball but the additional two strokes for marking the wrong score is brutal. They need to change this. Why is this the only sport where this happens? And what number do you call? 1-800-GOLFRAT? If the on course officials don't catch it, it's done. Move on. In other sports the officials can't even use video unless there is a coach's challenge of some sort.

 

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've viewed the infamous clip about 50 times trying to get a feel for Lexi's mannerisms. My conclusion, she noticed something odd in the final movement of the ball on her previous shot. Most likely the ball came to rest in a slight depression (i.e. an old imperfectly repaired pitch mark). Rather than repair the spot under her ball (totally legal if deemed an old pitch mark) she slightly alters the position and then takes a moment to ensure the ball is at rest (not rolling sideways into the depression) before standing up and brushing it into the hole.

 

Under the circumstances, for Lexi, the best thing that could have happened was for her ball to roll back into the low spot, she then takes the time to make a legal repair and wins by 5 shots. But I believe she was going to make that putt either way and was merely trying to finish out in an expedient fashion.

 

In no way do I believe this hypothetical scenario is a knock against Lexi's honor, rather every pro is well aware how quickly things can go wrong any time you're trying to putt out of a depression and as a group effectively employ "professional courtesy" in those situations. Was it blatant? No. Was it an advantage? Only if she was trying to avoid something other than a pitch mark. Did she play a professional courtesy card? Probably. Should she have taken the time to proceed under the official rules? Right now Lexi would say "absolutely" but this point could easily belong in the pace of play debate. Did the schmuck who brought this to the attention of the officials have money riding against Lexi? Probably. Do I think there should be a private investigation into the masked individual's motivations? Absolutely. This is just my 2 cents; form what opinions you may.


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

:cobra-small:______S9-1 Pro D - Matrix Ozik XCON 6 S
:cobra-small:______S9-1 Pro 15* - Matrix Ozik XCON 7 S
:nickent-small:________3DX 17* - Matrix Ozik Altus Hybrid SG
:Hogan:______ICON Black 4-PW - KBS Tour V S
:cleveland-small:__________588 RTG 49  RTX 52.10  56.12 - DG S400
BobbyGrace.png.1dc40002fcec0eee8603b71b3e706e89.png______Amazing Grace NYC Tour CS
:taylormade-small:_______'19 TP5X
(the preceding have all been gamer approved)

"The most important shot in golf is the next one“ - Ben Hogan

Link to comment
Share on other sites

To my mind, Lexi made an error of judgement or just plain had a brain freeze. Either way, she was called out and subsequently had her score revised. It could have been a DQ if she was really unlucky and it was proven that a deliberate breach was made.

I prefer to give her the benefit of the doubt. But that doesn't mean her actions should go without some form of scrutiny. It could have been from her playing partner or the referee. Instead, it came from a tv viewer. I fail to see the difference in whoever sees it and calls it out.

From a professional perspective, knowing full well what was at stake, knowing the eyes of the world were watching her every move, it seems pretty naive for anyone to think that they are above the rules of golf at any point in a match - regardless if they feel they have done nothing wrong.

It's all very well playing the holier than thou card, but the rules of golf exist so that average guys like us can also enjoy the same level playing field even for fun on a weekend four ball. Would it make any difference to us if someone failed to replace their ball correctly in a friendly game? Probably not, but we have the luxury to make that call. Professionals with the money, title and sponsors at stake have something rather more substantial to adhere to when they play by the same basic rules as you and I. And because of that, their wits must be as sharp as their pencil. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...