Big McLargehuge

15-year-old irons / advice on a new set

Hello MGS members,

I've been playing the same set of irons for the past 15 years or so (Tommy Armour 845 EVO V-31 reduced offset).

I still really love the feel and I'm comfortable with them, but I also realize that I'm probably missing out on some added distance and forgiveness that come with today's irons.

Any advice on which new iron sets might closely match my Tommy Armours by way of feel, swingweight, sole width, looks, etc.?

Thanks very much. It's a big decision!

• Like 2

Pretty popular set from years ago. Not really sure what might have a similar feel in a current set. What I will say, though, is go swing and hit EVERYTHING you can. A new set is a big investment. Make sure you get what you want/need. Find a good fitter and get fit. Club heads mated with different shafts can make major differences. Whittle your choices down to a few that you really think you like. Hit them without paying attention to what club you're hitting. You don't need to find the club, the club will find you. Then zero in on the proper shafts and grips and fit, and you'll be a happy pair for another several years.

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

• Like 1

I'm going to say go get fit. That is the only way to make sure you are playing the right set for you. Hopefully you have a good fitter near you who can guide you

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

• Like 3

Irons have changed a ton in the last 15 years, especially cavity backs.

If you are looking for something with forgiveness, but little offset, something like the Srixon 545 irons get be found rather cheap on ebay, or go with the newer version (565).

Callaway Apex and Apex CF 16 would be other great options.

• Like 1

Thanks very much for the quick replies and good advice so far!

I think it's going to be fun testing out different iron sets and finding the right match, even if it takes a while. I'm certainly willing to put in the time and research.