Testers Wanted! Shot Scope V5 ×

What is penalty or is there a penalty?

Guys, I am new to this, but I wanted some feedback from some other people.  I am always playing in tournaments and watching rules violations.  When I bring it up to head pro, I usually get shot down and told no rules violation.

Recently, I played in a stroke play one low net two man team tournament.  Myself and my teammate were in second place, two shots behind.  There were two instances that happened during round that I did not know what to do.

First instance

My first shot of the day came to rest about an inch behind a drain grate in the fairway.  I asked for a free drop for relief from the grate because I felt my club would hit it during my swing and after contact of the ball.  Of course, I am hitting a wedge so a divot will be taken.  The team we were playing with would not agree that I should get relief.  I played two balls, one with relief and one without.   My club hit grate and actually made a mark on it.  I did not want to swing but the other team said I either swung or I was out of the hole.  After I hit the grate, the other team allowed me to use the second ball because it was proven to be in my swing plane.  By the way, was only a one shot difference.  What should I have done to not mess my club up??

Second instance