Testers Announced! Callaway Paradym Ai Smoke Drivers and Autoflex Dream 7 Shafts! ×

Open - Neutral or Closed Stance?

Shankster

How does everyone set up? I've been playing with an Open Stance since I can remember, a few years back I switched to a closed stance and caused myself all sorts of issues.

What is your stock shot with:

Driver

Irons

Wedges

Can you work the ball from your stock set up? Or do you need to open/close to hit draws/fades?

Should more people play to their stock shot instead of working on a new swing?

I like to hit a fade as many of you have probably read elsewhere. But I've found out recently that I can hit a nice high draw from my slightly open stance. Maybe I'm not set up open at all and it's all in my head.

Don't have access to a pro, so I don't want to hear go see a pro. And I'm asking what you all do.

- Alan

I have an automatic stance. On the course I don't think much about mechanics, I'm going for zero.

On the range I'd put 2 alignment sticks one for shoulder and another for the target.

I usually look at the target then visualize the shot flight then set up and fire. Works 80% of the time.

Thinking can leads to the world of hurts on the course.

Open for me to combat a rope hook and to get through the ball. I will close it up a bit when I try a draw which it has to be a drastic situation. Most folks fear is the shank mine is a rope hook with any club except the wedges. Also when I try a controlled draw I turn my right hand over or as the old timers called it a knuckle hook with all 4 knuckles on my right hand showing. My normal grip is neutral

Driver ---- Callaway Big Bertha Alpha  Speeder 565 R flex- 5W TM V-Steel Fubuki 60r--- 7W TM V-Steel UST Pro Force Gold 65R----- 9 W TM V Steel TM MAS stiff---- Irons 2015 TM TP CB Steel Fiber 95 R--- GW Callaway Mack Daddy 2 52* shaft unknown junk pile refugee. SW Callaway PM Grind 56*  Modified sole grind--- KBS Tour Wedge-- LW Vokey 58* SM5 L grind--- Putter Ping B90I Broom Stick 

G