I'm a new poster to the Forums, here, though I've been reading the tests and your posts for years. After I'd paid for someone else to install grips and, later, shafts, in my clubs, the technician said, "Look, you seem to be a pretty handy guy, these are just mechanical processes. You could be doing this yourself and not paying me." Made sense! I'm a "Build Your Own Clubs" (BYOC) fan!

I've been building my own clubs since about 1999. I mostly use Bang Golf heads and have tried a LOT of different shafts. I keep coming back to my old Grafalloy Prolite Elite's in my drivers, and the Prolite Colors in my fairway woods (yes, they're metal, but...) I keep a couple of running searches on eBay. These older Stiff shafts just seem to fit my swing.

I have two sets of clubs with Bang drivers and fairway woods and Bang Mellow Yellow irons (one with the paint-fill changed to red) that I rotate most weeks. I recently added Wilson Staff FG Tour V4 Utility Irons to both sets. Each set is housed in an appropriately colored Sun Mountain C130 bag. (University of Wyoming for the yellow set.) I've been playing the red set for the past month or so, since I switched to full-cord grips in the heat. I'll leave the yellow set with the multi-compounds for now.

I'm a brand-loyal kinda guy. I try not to buy knock-offs, though I think I bought some fake Golf Pride's last year by mistake. Won't happen again.

I have two nearly identical Scotty Newports with Golf Pride SNSR Contour grips. One is copper-plated (aftermarket,) and the other was refurbed in Scotty's shop. I ruined the platinum finish on that one a couple of days after I got it back. Turns out I like it better this way!