Driving irons anyone?

Our Sponsors

I'm a big fan of driving irons. My home course is short and definitely rewards well placed long iron shots off the tee. I have been using the Taylor Made TP UDI 2 iron for a few years and I love it. I'm a diehard Mizuno iron player though so the release of the new MP 18 fli high line peaked my interest.

That being said, Taylor Made just released the p-790 irons and everything I read was how the touring pros loved them in the long driving irons. TM is only offering full sets of these irons starting at 3 iron to the public apparently. I guess TM just wants to sell full sets off the rack, no consideration of single order custom clubs. Would love to try one of these 2 irons but appears that not an option. Love that Mizuno is embracing the blending and customization of sets among all skill levels. Anyone have any thoughts?

Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

Taylor Made M2 - KuroKage Silver TiNi 60g X

Titleist 917f2 15 deg - Rogue Max 75s

Taylor Made M4 - 19 deg - Tensei Blue 80 X

Mizuno MP-18 MMC Fli-Hi  (2 iron) - Project X 6.5

Mizuno MP-18 SC (3-6 iron) - Project X 6.5

Mizuno MP-18 (7-PW) - Project X 6.5

Vokey WW SM6 Raw 52.08 - Project X 6.5

Vokey WW SM7 Raw 56.10 S grind, 60.08 M grind

Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2

You can custom order a 3i directly from tmag. I've also seen that they will have driving irons come out this year as well

Driver:   :callaway-small: Epic 10.5 set to 9.5 w/ Tour AD-DI 44.5

FW:   :cobra-small: F6 baffler set at 16º

Hybrid:  NONE
Irons:   :taylormade-small:  3i 2014 TP CB  4-PW 2011 TP MC w/ TT S400

Wedges:   :nike-small: 52º :nike-small: 56º  :edel-golf-1: 60 º w/ KBS C-Taper XS Soft-stepped

Putter:   :ping-small: Sigma G Tyne 34 inches Gold dot

Not my cup of tea anymore but my question would be if you have one that works why be concerned about it?

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Ping G410 - turned down to11.25 degrees, neutral setting - Fujikura Motore X R flex