Jump to content

The Rhein Gibson headcover incident


Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

Have you guys seen this?

 

http://golfweek.com/2018/01/24/web-com-tour-player-throws-headcover-at-caddie-over-costly-and-mysterious-penalty/

 

Quick summary:

  • Web.com player in the hunt for a tournament win, hooks ball into hazard on the last hole.
  • Caddie picks up ball. Rules official assesses a stroke penalty because the caddie got the ball without explicit authorization from the player.
  • Gibson drops and hits, nearly holes out. Grabs putter out of the bag, pulls headcover, and flings the headcover at the caddie. Apparently at the same time, fires the caddie.
  • Gibson finishes 3rd instead of T-2, costing him about $12,000.
  • Caddie posts summary of the event on YouTube, including his argument that the penalty stroke should not have been assessed.

My thoughts: first, events like this are always interesting to learn more obscure rules. It looks like the caddie is correct: there should not have been a penalty here. Provision is made in the decisions of golf for circumstances in which a drop is obvious that a caddie can pick the ball up without penalty.

 

Second, Gibson comes out looking really bad. His anger is understandable, but any circumstance in which a person treats a subordinate (caddie, waitstaff, etc.) in a demeaning manner is a telling revelation of that person's character. Fire the guy: fine, that makes sense. But throwing things at him on the course? Childish and way over the line.

  • Like 8

:callaway-small: Epic Flash Sub Zero, 9°, Aldila Rogue White 70 X
:taylormade-small: M4 3HL 16.5°, Atmos Red 60
:cobra-small: F6 5-6W, 19.5°, Fujikura Motore 6.3
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 20°, Project X HZRDUS 85 5.5
:Sub70: 699 Pro, Modus3 105, 5–PW
:Sub70: Forged Black 50°, 54°, and 58°
:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab EXO Seven Mini, 34"
:srixon-small: Z-Star XV

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

That dude is lucky I wasn't his caddy. That entire bag would have been in the water.

Read about this earlier. Another case where the player didn't know the rules and know to challenge the penalty assessment.   I guess there are a couple of ways to look at this   Players fault

Have you guys seen this?   http://golfweek.com/2018/01/24/web-com-tour-player-throws-headcover-at-caddie-over-costly-and-mysterious-penalty/   Quick summary: Web.com player in the hunt for a tou

Read about this earlier. Another case where the player didn't know the rules and know to challenge the penalty assessment.

 

I guess there are a couple of ways to look at this

 

Players fault for not knowing the rules

Caddie found the decision later in an effort to clear his name.

Rules officials fault for not knowing the rules and incorrectly assessing a penalty.

  • Like 9

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :cleveland-small: 588 54-14, 58-12
Putter:  :odyssey-small: Ten S      Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330,   :EVNROLL: ER2.2,  

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I completely agree about Gibson's poor behavior.  Some guys would have knocked Gibson's block off!  I'm not so certain at least some fault doesn't lie with Davis though.  The rule clearly states, "any doubt should be resolved against the player".

 

About a dozen years ago, I caddied for a junior from my home club in a fairly well known junior event.  I had caddied for him and others lots of times in the past and have since.  Given the layout of the course, he took a driver and 3 iron to the tee of a par 5 while I went toward the landing area through the pine forest down the right side of the fairway.  Which happened to be OB for no reason other than the property didn't belong to the club even though they appeared to use it much more than the property owners.  Anyway, my player decided to hit driver over the corner of the pine forest, cutting the corner, in an attempt to reach in two.  A line off the tee that is almost entirely over OB until it reaches the intended landing area.  The ball clipped the tip-top of a pine tree and landed no more than 3 feet OB.  

 

I instinctively picked the ball up and began walking back toward my player knowing, he would need to re-tee.  I can vividly remember going down to pick up the ball thinking "what the hell are you doing".  I immediately realized I had screwed up but it was too late. 

 

The moral of the story is, never touch another players ball without express consent from said player!

  • Like 4
Link to post
Share on other sites

Bad form by the player. Being angry is understandable but throwing things? Very childish IMO.

  • Like 2

:ping-small:                      400 Driver (8*)                      UST ATTAS Punch 6S

:cobra-small:               F6 Baffler (16*)                      Matrix Red Tie 65Q4

:titelist-small:                        816 H1 Hybrid (21*,23*)        Diamana S+ Blue 82 HY

:srixon-small:                        Z765 (5-PW) +2*                    Aerotech Steelfiber i110cw

:titelist-small:                        Vokey SM5 50.08F 54.10M   Aerotech Steelfiber i110cw

:callaway-small:                         PM Grind 60*                         Dynamic Gold S400

:ping-small:                      TR 1966 Anser 2

 

:srixon-small: Z Star ball        

:ping-small:  Pioneer Cart Bag

Link to post
Share on other sites

That dude is lucky I wasn't his caddy. That entire bag would have been in the water.

I would've done the same thing. You wanna fire me with golf still to be played? Carry your own bag then. Walk off the course right there.

 

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

The point of contention is decision 26.1/9.

 

 

Per the caddie: Ball was dead underneath two rocks and I told you about it and you said "f**k" and turned around stopped looking and walked back to the bag. The tour official actually found the unhittable ball. I then went over and quickly retrieved it.

 

Decision 26.1/9 states that if it's assumed it won't be played a caddy can pick it up without the players' permission without penalty. We'd already picked our drop spot, we weren't playing it!

  • Like 6

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :cleveland-small: 588 54-14, 58-12
Putter:  :odyssey-small: Ten S      Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330,   :EVNROLL: ER2.2,  

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Read about this earlier. Another case where the player didn't know the rules and know to challenge the penalty assessment.

 

I guess there are a couple of ways to look at this

 

Players fault for not knowing the rules

Caddie found the decision later in an effort to clear his name.

Rules officials fault for not knowing the rules and incorrectly assessing a penalty.

 

Jim Duncan was the rules official who assessed the penalty.  He is the head rules official for the Web.com Tour and is extremely knowledgeable and experienced.  He stood by his ruling on Morning Drive this morning.  He also refuted, on Morning Drive, that he found the ball as the caddie has claimed. 

 

It seems to me, the caddie screwed up and isn't willing to admit so.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like there are multiple stories. Probably will never hear the complete story. After reading the caddies statement that said they were still looking but had picked the drop spot it seems he may really be at fault.

  • Like 1

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :cleveland-small: 588 54-14, 58-12
Putter:  :odyssey-small: Ten S      Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330,   :EVNROLL: ER2.2,  

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I completely agree about Gibson's poor behavior.  Some guys would have knocked Gibson's block off!  I'm not so certain at least some fault doesn't lie with Davis though.  The rule clearly states, "any doubt should be resolved against the player".

 

This is a good example of a poorly written rule. The whole point of decision 26-1/9 is to allow for the caddie to pick up the ball with explicit verbal instruction. But, as you note, it also says that "any doubt should be resolved against the player." By its very nature, any situation without explicit verbal instruction could be construed as having some amount of doubt. Which means that, with one phrase, everything that the decision gives with one hand it takes away with the other, making the whole thing stupid.

  • Like 1

:callaway-small: Epic Flash Sub Zero, 9°, Aldila Rogue White 70 X
:taylormade-small: M4 3HL 16.5°, Atmos Red 60
:cobra-small: F6 5-6W, 19.5°, Fujikura Motore 6.3
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 20°, Project X HZRDUS 85 5.5
:Sub70: 699 Pro, Modus3 105, 5–PW
:Sub70: Forged Black 50°, 54°, and 58°
:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab EXO Seven Mini, 34"
:srixon-small: Z-Star XV

Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a good example of a poorly written rule. The whole point of decision 26-1/9 is to allow for the caddie to pick up the ball with explicit verbal instruction. But, as you note, it also says that "any doubt should be resolved against the player." By its very nature, any situation without explicit verbal instruction could be construed as having some amount of doubt. Which means that, with one phrase, everything that the decision gives with one hand it takes away with the other, making the whole thing stupid.

 

But couldn't one also make the argument that Gibson's body language and behavior leave doubt as to what his intentions were?  If a landing area and drop zone had already been selected and conversations had taken place on how to proceed, why throw putter covers and fire the caddie in the manner in which Gibson did?

 

As others have stated, we will likely never know the whole story as to what actually happened.  I tend to believe Jim Duncan, knowing his character and professionalism in his role as Vice President of Rules, Competitions and Administration for the Web.com Tour.  Not to mention, the caddie and player both have an "agenda"! 

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

But couldn't one also make the argument that Gibson's body language and behavior leave doubt as to what his intentions were?  If a landing area and drop zone had already been selected and conversations had taken place on how to proceed, why throw putter covers and fire the caddie in the manner in which Gibson did?

 

As others have stated, we will likely never know the whole story as to what actually happened.  I tend to believe Jim Duncan, knowing his character and professionalism in his role as Vice President of Rules, Competitions and Administration for the Web.com Tour.  Not to mention, the caddie and player both have an "agenda"! 

 

I honestly don't want to defend anyone here; I think there's lots of blame to go around. But from the caddie's own report, he didn't know the decision that might have allowed him to protest. I suspect it's a safe assumption that the player didn't as well.

 

So the caddie picks up the ball, the penalty is assessed, and neither Gibson nor his caddie know that they might have grounds to protest that decision. They don't think they have any choice but to accept the penalty, and so Gibson is irate.

 

So Gibson's temper tantrum doesn't necessarily indicate that there was doubt about whether he was going to drop. It may (again, not pretending to know what's going through his mind) simply mean that he wasn't aware that the rules allowed for what his caddie did (and I do think that that ignorance is very, very likely).

  • Like 2

:callaway-small: Epic Flash Sub Zero, 9°, Aldila Rogue White 70 X
:taylormade-small: M4 3HL 16.5°, Atmos Red 60
:cobra-small: F6 5-6W, 19.5°, Fujikura Motore 6.3
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 20°, Project X HZRDUS 85 5.5
:Sub70: 699 Pro, Modus3 105, 5–PW
:Sub70: Forged Black 50°, 54°, and 58°
:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab EXO Seven Mini, 34"
:srixon-small: Z-Star XV

Link to post
Share on other sites

Not a very classy move throwing stuff at people no matter the circumstance. Stuff happens in golf all the time that is out of our control but childish tantrums are no way to deal with it.

  • Like 3

Driver: Cobra F8 Tour length

3W: Cobra King F7 3/4 Wood

5W: Cobra King F7 5/6 Wood

Hybrid 3/4: Cobra F7 20.5*

Irons: 5 to PW Taylormade P790

A Wedge: 48* Vokey SM6 F grind

S Wedge: 54* Vokey SM6 M grind

L Wedge: 58* Vokey SM6 M grind

Putter: Rife Two Bar Hybrid 35" P2 Aware Tour grip

Ball: Taylormade TP 5X

Bag: Hot Z Canadian flag 🇨🇦

Link to post
Share on other sites

I honestly don't want to defend anyone here; I think there's lots of blame to go around. But from the caddie's own report, he didn't know the decision that might have allowed him to protest. I suspect it's a safe assumption that the player didn't as well.

 

So the caddie picks up the ball, the penalty is assessed, and neither Gibson nor his caddie know that they might have grounds to protest that decision. They don't think they have any choice but to accept the penalty, and so Gibson is irate.

 

So Gibson's temper tantrum doesn't necessarily indicate that there was doubt about whether he was going to drop. It may (again, not pretending to know what's going through his mind) simply mean that he wasn't aware that the rules allowed for what his caddie did (and I do think that that ignorance is very, very likely).

I can see neither caddie nor player having a very good grasp on the rules.  Especially when you consider, neither knew they could protest the official ruling.  I just don't believe any rules official, especially one as experiences as Duncan, would haphazardly issue a penalty in that circumstance.  Something in that moment gave him doubt as to the intentions of the player.

 

Maybe the language of the rule needs to change but, as it's written, it was correctly applied in my opinion.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

I can see neither caddie nor player having a very good grasp on the rules.  Especially when you consider, neither knew they could protest the official ruling.  I just don't believe any rules official, especially one as experiences as Duncan, would haphazardly issue a penalty in that circumstance.  Something in that moment gave him doubt as to the intentions of the player.

 

Maybe the language of the rule needs to change but, as it's written, it was correctly applied in my opinion.

 

And it's worth adding that, however it went down, Gibson and his caddie both carry the blame of not knowing the rules. The rules and decisions can be arcane, and it think's its understandable that recreational golfers don't know them exhaustively. But if golf is your livelihood, know the rules.

  • Like 2

:callaway-small: Epic Flash Sub Zero, 9°, Aldila Rogue White 70 X
:taylormade-small: M4 3HL 16.5°, Atmos Red 60
:cobra-small: F6 5-6W, 19.5°, Fujikura Motore 6.3
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 20°, Project X HZRDUS 85 5.5
:Sub70: 699 Pro, Modus3 105, 5–PW
:Sub70: Forged Black 50°, 54°, and 58°
:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab EXO Seven Mini, 34"
:srixon-small: Z-Star XV

Link to post
Share on other sites

"5 iron huh? Well, you're fired"

tenor.gif

 

 

God I hate when people are crybabies and blame someone else for their own misfortune. This kid is gonna have a tough time replacing his caddie that's for sure. Even if the caddie made a boneheaded decision, it still wasn't malicious and he didn't deserve to be publicly embarrassed.

 

 

Whenever I get mad that I can't find my ball in the rubbish, I remind myself that it would've been a lot easier to find in the fairway.

 

 

Sent from carrier pigeon using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 3

In my ATumSBM.jpg Pisa riding on a hXf3ptG.jpg 3.5+
.......tracked by :Arccos:


:ping-small: G410 Plus: Tensei Orange
:cobra-small: King F7 3/4 FW: Tensei Blue

:cobra-small: King F7 3/4 Hy: Fujikura Pro
:ping-small: i500 5-GW: Modus3 105
wxW5hk4.jpg Equalizer 56/60: KBS Tour 90
:MLA: Tour Classic Black w/ :P2-grips-logo:

Link to post
Share on other sites

"5 iron huh? Well, you're fired"

tenor.gif

 

 

God I hate when people are crybabies and blame someone else for their own misfortune. This kid is gonna have a tough time replacing his caddie that's for sure. Even if the caddie made a boneheaded decision, it still wasn't malicious and he didn't deserve to be publicly embarrassed.

 

 

Whenever I get mad that I can't find my ball in the rubbish, I remind myself that it would've been a lot easier to find in the fairway.

 

 

Sent from carrier pigeon using MyGolfSpy

I think this is a great point.  Anyone Gibson tries to hire as a caddie will be hesitant to take the job, I would think.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Shooter McGavin actually weighed in on this:

 

  • Like 7

:callaway-small: Epic Flash Sub Zero, 9°, Aldila Rogue White 70 X
:taylormade-small: M4 3HL 16.5°, Atmos Red 60
:cobra-small: F6 5-6W, 19.5°, Fujikura Motore 6.3
:755178188_TourEdge: CBX 20°, Project X HZRDUS 85 5.5
:Sub70: 699 Pro, Modus3 105, 5–PW
:Sub70: Forged Black 50°, 54°, and 58°
:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab EXO Seven Mini, 34"
:srixon-small: Z-Star XV

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...