Jump to content
GolfSpy MPR

The Rhein Gibson headcover incident

Recommended Posts

This is the direct quote from Jim Duncan, the rules official who imposed the penalty. Pretty cut and dry. The additional stroke penalty was justified and accurately applied by Mr. Duncan!

There's certainly going to be an element of he said/he said in this. In the main, I'm inclined to trust the account of the rules official, as he has less obvious incentive to shade the story in his own direction.

 

But the takeaway on the actual situation, for me, remains the problem in the rules decision itself, as written. If the rules allow for the caddie to pick up a ball without direct verbal authorization, but then also say that if there's any doubt (which there always will be without direct verbal authorization), then ruling should go against the player, how could a caddie ever be justified in picking up a ball? The rule is self-defeating.

 

Lesson: don't pick up a ball if you're not the player.

 

Lesson 2: seriously, don't throw things on the course, and especially don't throw things at people. We're supposed to be gentlemen—if that standard's too high, let's at least be adults.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Total crap move by Gibson.

 

Even if it truly was the caddies fault there were how many other strokes he took that weren't perfect? The caddie didnt help but he certainly isnt at full blame for 2n to 3rd drop.

 

Correct. IIRC, Gibson 3-putt 17 for bogey to remain 1 back, then from position A on 18, hooked it into the hazard. I mean the ball pinballed between the rocks something like six times before settling in way down the hill.
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sadly, so many people blame a team, a player, etc. on a last shot, last play, or here, the last hole. It is the player's fault, and only the player's fault for having finished second. Had he made a few more putts, hit a couple more greens, even hit a few more fairways, this happening on the final hole would not have mattered.

 

As a coach, I used to remind my teams had we given up one or two fewer offense rebounds, played defense and shut them down on a few more possessions , we would not have lost a game on the last second shot. Same applies here. Don't blame the caddie for the $12,000 loss, blame yourself for not having taken care of YOUR business.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Well said, and excellent summary. Every shot counts, starting from the first swing on the first tee .. .. it's just that when it gets closer between competitors (or: teams) towards the finish it gets so much more attention (especially from on-air commentators who love for these types of moments to overly dramatize the proceedings....).
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never been a caddie before and don't know anyone who has.  They must have some fantastic stories about who is great to work for and who is a total a-hole.  Maybe there's a good book or something...although, unless they're retired they probably don't want to go public to ensure their job security.  We've seen some high profile firings lately.

 

Has anyone been a caddie and experienced anything like this? 

Not necessarily a PGA tour caddie but just a caddie in general.

I caddied at a club from 8th grade until the summer I graduated from college. Where do I begin...

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man when I first saw this I couldn't believe someone would disrespect their caddy like that. Then I found out he fired him. I don't care how mad you are you can't act like that. Then to later find out that the caddy wasn't wrong at all makes it all even worse. I am not sure how I would react if I was the caddy but I can tell you he wouldn't have even been able to finish the round.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe next time Rhein misses a putt, maybe his caddy should throw a towel at him (just kidding). Certainly he is not representative of the game.

 

 

Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

terrible count to 10 deep breath - caddie did the wrong thing but player needs to treat people better. Bottom line I bet player never told caddie never ever touch my ball ever ever - need to go over all contingencies All

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jim Duncan was the rules official who assessed the penalty. He is the head rules official for the Web.com Tour and is extremely knowledgeable and experienced. He stood by his ruling on Morning Drive this morning. He also refuted, on Morning Drive, that he found the ball as the caddie has claimed.

 

It seems to me, the caddie screwed up and isn't willing to admit so.

Actually, Duncan never answered the question that the penalty should be rescinded. He only said what he was told to say by the tour. Which was the same story he told everyone. If the ball is dead under 2 rocks, and the rules official saw that, what makes anyone think that the ball was not going to be picked up and a drop taken. The rules official, was wrong in the penalty, and I don't care who the rules guy is. 26.1/9 should be aploed based on the officials statement and the statement of the caddie. The both know the ball was under rocks and was unplayable. These rules officials have too much authority. This panalty is bull and should be rescinded by the tour.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, Duncan never answered the question that the penalty should be rescinded. He only said what he was told to say by the tour. Which was the same story he told everyone. If the ball is dead under 2 rocks, and the rules official saw that, what makes anyone think that the ball was not going to be picked up and a drop taken. The rules official, was wrong in the penalty, and I don't care who the rules guy is. 26.1/9 should be aploed based on the officials statement and the statement of the caddie. The both know the ball was under rocks and was unplayable. These rules officials have too much authority. This panalty is bull and should be rescinded by the tour.

As the two rules in question are written, they were applied absolutely correctly. One could argue, the rules need to be reworked or reworded, but the application of the rule, as it exists today, was handled appropriately.

 

The rules of golf don't allow for the caddie to make decisions for the player. The player-caddie relationship was never intended to operate that way. The caddie screwed up.

 

Agree to disagree!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As the two rules in question are written, they were applied absolutely correctly. One could argue, the rules need to be reworked or reworded, but the application of the rule, as it exists today, was handled appropriately.

 

The rules of golf don't allow for the caddie to make decisions for the player. The player-caddie relationship was never intended to operate that way. The caddie screwed up.

 

Agree to disagree!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

26.1/9 is the correct rule to apply, and it was not. That's the issue. The official saw the ball since in his words, he found it, and he also knows there is no way possible to play the shot from where it was. I do agree that the player should have been the one picking he ball up, but he decide to storm off. So it really is his fault in the grand scheme of things, and should never have come down to a ruling.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

26.1/9 is the correct rule to apply, and it was not. That's the issue. The official saw the ball since in his words, he found it, and he also knows there is no way possible to play the shot from where it was. I do agree that the player should have been the one picking he ball up, but he decide to storm off. So it really is his fault in the grand scheme of things, and should never have come down to a ruling.

Whether the official “knows there is no way possible to play the shot” is speculative and irrelevant to the rule or ruling. Neither the official nor the caddie can make that decision for the player!

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether the official “knows there is no way possible to play the shot” is speculative and irrelevant to the rule or ruling. Neither the official nor the caddie can make that decision for the player!

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Rule 26.1/9 says that if there is no doubt, or it is reasonable to assume front the players actions or statements that the player was going to play his next shot from outside the hazard, there is no penalty. So if the ball is under 2 rocks, which was seen by the official, the caddie, and the player, and there looked as though it was reasonable from his reaction that he could not play the shot. There should be no penalty. Also, from the caddies statement, they had already chosen where they were going to drop.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 26.1/9 says that if there is no doubt, or it is reasonable to assume front the players actions or statements that the player was going to play his next shot from outside the hazard, there is no penalty. So if the ball is under 2 rocks, which was seen by the official, the caddie, and the player, and there looked as though it was reasonable from his reaction that he could not play the shot. There should be no penalty. Also, from the caddies statement, they had already chosen where they were going to drop.

Again, we'll agree to disagree.  You obviously believe the caddie/player.  I do not!  

 

Several people have refuted the caddie/player claim that a drop area had been selected.  Duncan even reveals the caddie had ball-in-hand while Gibson was still searching in the high grass several yards away with Duncan between the two.  The images from the Morning Drive clip prior to Duncan's interview seem to support Duncan rather than Davis beginning around 0.30 of the linked video.  So, if Gibson hadn't even made it to the ball in the rocks, how had a drop area been decided?

 

http://www.golfchannel.com/article/golf-central-blog/official-disputes-caddies-version-gibson-penalty

 

Furthermore, USGA Decision 26-1/9 also states "any doubt should be resolved against the player".  Given the nature of this thread, and the ones similar on other sites, doubt exists!

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Again, we'll agree to disagree. You obviously believe the caddie/player. I do not!

 

Several people have refuted the caddie/player claim that a drop area had been selected. Duncan even reveals the caddie had ball-in-hand while Gibson was still searching in the high grass several yards away with Duncan between the two. The images from the Morning Drive clip prior to Duncan's interview seem to support Duncan rather than Davis beginning around 0.30 of the linked video. So, if Gibson hadn't even made it to the ball in the rocks, how had a drop area been decided?

 

http://www.golfchannel.com/article/golf-central-blog/official-disputes-caddies-version-gibson-penalty

 

Furthermore, USGA Decision 26-1/9 also states "any doubt should be resolved against the player". Given the nature of this thread, and the ones similar on other sites, doubt exists!

Here is my understanding of the situation: caddie finds the ball. Player sees the lie. Player walks away muttering expletives (he's essentially saying, "shoot, we can't play that."). Caddie picks up ball. Situation explodes.

 

IMO, the player provided the caddie witu sufficient consent to go ahead and pick up the ball.

 

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is my understanding of the situation: caddie finds the ball. Player sees the lie. Player walks away muttering expletives (he's essentially saying, "shoot, we can't play that."). Caddie picks up ball. Situation explodes.

 

IMO, the player provided the caddie witu sufficient consent to go ahead and pick up the ball.

 

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

But that isn't the way the rules official on-site explains what happened in the video provided.  In the Morning Drive clip, Duncan explains when Gibson reached the rocks, Davis already had ball-in-hand and the images provided by Morning Drive appear to verify what Duncan is saying.  Watch to the clip from Morning Drive I provided above from the 4:00 mark to about the 5:05 mark. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But that isn't the way the rules official on-site explains what happened in the video provided. In the Morning Drive clip, Duncan explains when Gibson reached the rocks, Davis already had ball-in-hand and the images provided by Morning Drive appear to verify what Duncan is saying. Watch to the clip from Morning Drive I provided above from the 4:00 mark to about the 5:05 mark.

That is, however, the way the caddie himself explained it in his YouTube video. If you haven't seen it, check it out. It's worth watching.

 

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even if it was my fault. I'd still toss his sticks in the drink if he threw that cover at me.

I would of tossed them into the drink helicopter style while smiling at Gibson.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is, however, the way the caddie himself explained it in his YouTube video. If you haven't seen it, check it out. It's worth watching.

 

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

I saw both, actually. Seemed a bit self serving to me. As I said earlier, the caddie has an agenda, in my opinion.

 

Agree to disagree. I'm done with this topic!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Daily Deals

  • Sponsors

  • Our Sponsors

     
     
     

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      80,006
    • Most Online
      2,247

    Newest Member
    Ellison425
    Joined
  • Similar Content

    • By cksurfdude
      Happened across this very clever solution on Insta...
      Edit: Not a penalty anymore - *IF* the double-tap was unintentional... Thx, cnosil. (But you still have to be an adept trick shot artist - and s very good actor to pull it off!)
    • By Kansas King
      I am looking at buying a set of 2009 Callaway X-Forged or Razr X Forged. I played the 2007 X-Forged but since they were non-conforming, I switched to the Bridgestone J38 Dual Pocket Cavity (great clubs). I have the itch to go back to the Callaway forgings due to their weight (D2) (Bridgestone are a D1). Plus, I really like the look and feel of them.
       
      The Question:
       
      The 2009 X-Forged has grooves that are spaced "normal" but the Razr X Forged has the tightly spaced conforming grooves. Are the tighter grooves good or bad? (I've heard they don't change much) Additionally, does anyone know if the 2009 X-Forged (Version 2 on USGA Conforming Database) from Callaway have conforming grooves. The USGA database says additional testing required (ATR).
       
      If you have any input on how tighter grooves play it would be appreciated. I remember the conversations about it back in the day but I can't seem to find anything about it now.
       
      I'm a 5 handicap FYI.
       
      Thanks!
    • By puttingpirate
      Hey guys.
       
      I've been lucky to be able to afford a lot of golf stuff, and as an addict I constantly add new things to the collection  
      I'd like to do a giveaway of some stuff like rain suits, tees etc... as I don't use them, and not really feeling like selling them on the bay.
       
      Are there any rules I should follow? Is it ok to post it in the contest section?
       
      Thx
    • By golfinnut
      That guy ... you know the one that thinks he is better than he actually is. 
       
      He may do some of the following:
       
      line up every putt as if it's for the U.S. Open take as much time lining up the putt for an 8 that he does for a par get mad at someone because they "took the tee box from you" .... just because we are in the interest of slow play, we like to play "ready golf" ... especially when there is a storm clearly heading our direction! spend 10 minutes looking for the ball that was clearly hit OB just because you are the last group off in the league and there is no one behind you blame every missed shot on something other than what it actually is ... "Oh I pushed that one."  or "Damn this rough is brutal."   NO Pal ... you just suck and couldn't find the fairway if you fell out of the cart play the wrong set of tees because you think you hit the ball further than you actually do claim you got a 5 on the hole when you clearly hit it OB once & had to take an unplayable lie, so it was at least an 8.  Then get mad when I question it.  If you are going to play by the rules, you may want to learn them first. when taking a drop from a lateral stake in the rough, don't claim that the ball moved towards the green on each drop just so you get to place it.  (grant it the rough was about 4" high in places but still we all have to play the same course.) Take the game WAYYYYYY TOO serious!  It's league play .... I mean c'mon we are playing for a beer for Christs Sake!  
      Yes all of these occurred the other night in my league play.  It was brutal ... playing slow, having to teach the rules to someone, etc.  I even had to break out the actual Rule Book out of my bag for this guy!  (yes, I keep one just for days like this)
       
      So ... don't be "that guy!"  And if you happen to play with "that guy" ... I wish you well & good luck! 
    • By LostInMyWoods
      hot off the press ... obviously in response to Lexi ruling
       
      http://www.usga.org/articles/2017/04/new-rules-of-golf-decision-limits-use-of-video-review.html
       
      a good start and it looks like we might see more changes in the revisions being considered
       
       
  • Recent Topics

  • Latest from the Blog

  • Happy Birthday Today!

×
×
  • Create New...