ole gray

Tinnitus

Being an old vietnam vet I've had to deal with ringing in my ears for years.  War is hell on the ears with gun fire and loud explosions to deal with on a constant basis. Some days my tinnitus is worse than others.  It spikes and at times the ringing noise in my head is overwhelming.  I just heard recently that magnesium helps so I'm going to check with my doc to see if she can recommend a daily dose. I'm pretty sure hard liquor causes mine to spike and beer actually helps to soothe the ring.  Not sure why one seems to help and the other aggravates it. I had some bourbon a couple days ago and the ringing spiked up to a 7 out of 10 type range.  I'm trying to keep a mental note of foods etc. that cause spikes.  The good news is golf is great for tinnitus as the time I spend on the course helps me forget the ringing.  Also my four days per week at the gym is another time where my focus on exercise helps a ton. Anyone else living with this and if so how do you deal with it? 

• Like 6

I'm with you here OG. I've found that caffeine is the number 1 issue I have. Not sure if you are a coffee/tea/soda drinker, but I cut back and mine isn't so bad. Still annoying.

• Like 3

YEP- for exactly the same reasons- never wore earplugs, as I was the one who was supposed to be in charge, and if I cant hear what is going on, then how could I make decisions and lead... 

Couple that with lots of time in helicopters (amazing how they could always manage to fly us to where we were going, but never back again!!) and other various noisy aircraft, etc.

Two Combat tours in Iraq didn't help, either, but I am sure it was the combined effect of loud noises over 30 years that left me with my tinnitus.  Interestingly, it is not ringing, per se, but rather like static- as if the television is on, but there is no signal on the channel and all you see is the "snow" -and hear that static buzz.