Jump to content

Match play putt conceded, player did not know opponent had a stroke...


Blogan99
 Share

Recommended Posts

Match play event, Member Guest, handicaps in effect.  Team 1, player A and B. Team 2, player A and B. Player 1B is putting for bogey, 4 feet from the hole. Player 2A asks Player 1A: "Are there any strokes on this hole?"  Player 1A responds: "I don't think so, BUT I don't know for sure."  Player 2B concedes Player 1B's putt. Team 2 makes a par, Team 1 believes they have made a bogey walking off the green.  When teams reach their carts, they realize that Player 1B did in fact have a stroke on the hole, and made a net par with the conceded putt, tying the hole.

 

Player 2A sternly protests that they would not have conceded the putt had they known Player 1B was receiving a stroke and contends they still win the hole.  

 

What is the ruling in this situation?  Player 1A did state that he was not sure if there were any strokes on the hole, when he was asked.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

its up to the players to know where strokes are given/received. As far as I'm aware once a hole is conceded thats the hole over.

  • Like 5

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Team B is down the drain on this one. Pro tip: If you want a solid answer, check the scorecard for yourself.

 

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

  • Like 2

2017  :taylormade-small: M1 460, Project X HZRDUS Black 6.0

:mizuno-small: JPX EZ 3 wood
:cobra-small: Fly-Z 4H
:mizuno-small: MP-60, 3i-PW, True Temper Dynamic Gold
:mizuno-small: S5 54° & 58°, True Temper Dynamic Gold
:cameron-small: California Monterey
:titelist-small: Pro V1x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Player 2a is just out of luck here. Can't chabge your mind after conceded hole

  • Like 2

Driver: PXG 0811 X+ Proto w/UST Helium 5F4

Wood: TaylorMade M5 5W w/Accra TZ5 +1/2”, TaylorMade Sim 3W w/Aldila rogue white

Hybrid: PXG Gen2 22* w/AD hybrid

Irons: PXG Gen3 0311T w/Nippon modus 120

Wedges: TaylorMade MG2 50*, Tiger grind 56/60

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The stroke was conceded therefore the result stands. As player 1A stated that he did not know the handicap status for sure then he is not deemed to have violated Rule 9-2b which pertains to giving wrong information. Had he knowingly provided wrong information he would have received a loss of hole penalty

  • Like 6

:callaway-small: Rogue SZ 10.5 *NEW* Fujikura Pro Green 65 X

:callaway-small: Rogue 15 degree Evnflow Blue 6.5

Back in the Bag :srixon-small: Z765 4-G Nippon Modus 120 Stiff

:vokey-small: 54 and 60

 

:bobby-grace-1: Amazing Grace Ass Kicker

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Player 2a is just out of luck here. Can't chabge your mind after conceded hole

Yep. It's your responsibility to know where the pope are being applied.

 

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 1

:titelist-small: TSi2 Kuro Kage 50g R Flex

:titelist-small: TSi2 16.5 FW with GD AD IZ 6 Shaft

:ping-small:  G410 FW 7 Alta CB R flex 

:ping-small: G410 Hybrid 26 degree Alta CB R Flex

:titelist-small: T100S/T200 Combo 5-7 T100S 8-P T200 TT Black Oynx R Flex

:titelist-small: SM7 54.08 F 58.12 K 

:ping-small: Heppler Tomcast 

:titelist-small: ProV1X Play number 12

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In this case team B is sol. When in doubt, you make them putt it out.

 

HOWEVER if a player thinks a putt is conceded and it's not, or if there is a misunderstanding on a putt being conceded or not then the ball may be replaced to the spot and played out accordingly. That is not the case here though. And as Gaussman mentioned, if incorrect info had been given and the putt was conceded then the team in error would have forfeited the hole.

  • Like 4

Driver- Tmag 2017 M2 tour issue 8.5* actual loft 7.8* w/ Diamana Ahina 80X 44"
Fairway Metal- Tour Edge Exotics XCG7 Beta 3W 13* w/ Matrix 7m4 X 42.5"

Utility- Mizuno MPH5 1 iron w/ Aldila RIP 85X (depending on course/ conditions)

Irons- Mizuno MP-18 FLI HI 3i and 4i w/ KBS C-taper lite X
          Mizuno MP59 5i and 6I w/ PX 6.5

          Mizuno MP69 7i-PW w/ PX 6.5

Wedges- Scratch 8620 Driver/Slider set.  50*, 56* bent to 55* w/ rifle spinner shafts

                and Titleist Vokey 60* M grind

Putter- Never Compromise Dinero Mogul
Ball- Bridgestone Tour B XS

Bag- Ogio Aquatech Cart Bag

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The stroke was conceded therefore the result stands. As player 1A stated that he did not know the handicap status for sure then he is not deemed to have violated Rule 9-2b which pertains to giving wrong information. Had he knowingly provided wrong information he would have received a loss of hole penalty

This makes sense to me. I'll be next time the team will check the scorecard.

 

 

Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 1

Left Hand orientation

:ping-small: G410 SFT driver 

Cobra King F-9  5 wood
:ping-small:  410  Hybrids 22*, 26*

Cobra Speed Zone 6-GP/Recoil ESX 460 F3 Shafts 

:titelist-small: SM7 54* Wedge

:ping-small: Glide 3.0  60* Wedge

:odyssey-small: O Works putter
:918457628_PrecisionPro:NX9-HD

:CaddyTek: - 4 Wheel 
:footjoy-small: - too many shoes to list and so many to buy

:1590477705_SunMountain: And  BAG Boy

Golf Balls: Snell MTB-X 

2020 Official Tester :SuperSpeed: Beginning Driver Speed  - 78

2019 Official Tester :ping-small:  410 Driver

2018 Official Tester :wilson-small: C300

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I've won a lot of holes in match play over the years by simply paying attention to what is going on with the scorecard. Can't blame anyone but your self when something like this happens.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 3

Taylormade M1 440 9.5* X flex

Titleist 910F 3 wood 15* stiff flex

Cobra Amp Cell Pro 4-PW S300 standard

Titleist SM6 wedge 50* 56* 60*

Scotty Cameron Circa 62 Model #1 putter

RH

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I play in my dad's member-guest just about every year. If we don't have the official card, he always grabs another one for us and marks it up. There's no excuse for not knowing who strokes where.

 

Insisting you would not have conceded the putt had you known the situation is just poor form. That's one you keep to yourself. Don't be that guy.

  • Like 3

What's in the bag:
Driver - :cobra-small: F8 - Aldila NV Blue 60 ( S )
3 Wood (16*) - :cobra-small: F8 - Aldila NV Blue 60 ( S )
3 Hybrid (19*) - :taylormade-small: RBZ
4i - PW - :wilson_staff_small: D7 Forged - Recoil 760 ( S )
GW - LW - :cobra-small: F8 - N.S. Pro Modus3 Tour105 ( S )
Putter - :ping-small: Craz-e
Bag - :1590477705_SunMountain: 2.5 (Black)
Ball -  :taylormade-small: TP5X Pix
Instagram - @hardcorelooper
Twitter - @meovino
Facebook - mike.eovino

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yep. It's your responsibility to know where the pope are being applied.

 

 

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

is this for religious players only? ;)

  • Like 3

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

Its important to remember that Rule 9 relates to information about Strokes Taken, not to where the handicap strokes fall.  As long as Player 1a did not knowingly mislead team 2, there's no penalty.

  • Like 2

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

No intent to deceive here, so no do overs in golf.

  • Like 1

Driver: Ping G25 10.5 degrees, Tour S-flex

5 Wood - Ping G25 18 degrees, 3 wood shaft, Tour S-flex

7 Wood- Ping G25 21 degrees, Tour S-flex

Hybrid - Ping G25 23 degrees, Tour S-flex

4 iron - Ping G2, Z-Z65 shaft, white dot

PW - 5 iron- Ping I3, Z-Z65 shaft, white dot

56/60 degree - Ping M/B wedge, Z-Z65 shaft, white dot

All with I3 gold gripsPutter - Nike Core Method Drone 44†(aka “The Assassin).

Golf Ball - Pro VI

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Team A loses the hole, 

 

Match play rules state that the player must accurately tell their opponent strokes taken and handicap strokes effect that,  The rules also state it is the players responsibility to know their correct handicaps and what holes strokes are applied.    Just because A partner says he did not know for sure does not absolve them of knowing what is correct.  

 

rule 6.2     and rule 30 and Rule 2

 

 

Three, Albatross'

Three Holes in One

Plus, when I was 5 the first ball I ever hit on a golf course went in the hole, so I have that going for me.

My bag is a mish mash of Srixon drivers, cobra and adams fairways, TA1 irons and Hopkins wedges, plus a Cure putter.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Team A loses the hole, 

 

Match play rules state that the player must accurately tell their opponent strokes taken and handicap strokes effect that,  The rules also state it is the players responsibility to know their correct handicaps and what holes strokes are applied.    Just because A partner says he did not know for sure does not absolve them of knowing what is correct.  

 

rule 6.2     and rule 30 and Rule 2

Rule 6.2 says the player has to report his correct handicap at the beginning of the match, but does not mention anything about where the strokes fall on the card.  Neither Rule 30 nor Rule 2 mentions handicap strokes.  Rule 9-1 indicates that the required information specifically includes penalty strokes, but does not mention handicap strokes.  Can you provide a specific decision that says that the required information DOES include where the handicap strokes fall?

 

Seperately, the player on Team 1 says he's not sure where strokes fall, he didn't provide any specific information.  If the guys from team 2 are too lazy to check for themselves, they deserve what they got.

  • Like 2

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...