Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
cnosil

Whiff

Recommended Posts

So...is that a penalty?

 

intent to hit the ball but missing it counts as a stroke.  

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So...is that a penalty?

Yes, the intent was to hit the ball therefore it is a one stroke penalty. If the intent was to stop the swing then there would be no penalty however the was no effort to stop the swing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never seen that with a driver. Any “attempt” to make contact with the ball with any club is considered a stroke.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I kind of like seeing these clips. Not for any sort of masochistic reasons, but rather to show that this game is HARD and pros occasionally whiff, skull chips, hit worm burners off the tee, s&%$k shots a fairway and a half over, etc. 

 

Helps put the pressures we weekend duffers put on our games into perspective. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heck I've done that - what's so difficult about doing it.  :D

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

intent to hit the ball but missing it counts as a stroke.

There was a big controversy a while back about Kevin Na doing this. Apparently, he swings and misses often. It's his way of stopping his shot if something feels off.

 

On this particular occasion, it REALLY looked like he was trying to hit it and the on-course officials tried to assess him a penalty. He busted out the rulebook, stuck to his story, and played on without penalty.

 

 

 

 

http://amp.golf.com/scorecard/2011/10/02/kevin-na-says-miss-was-not-whiff-because-he-meant-do-it-and-officials-agree

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To be honest, it did look as though when her foot slid, that she then missed the ball on purpose. Almost like she knew he was going to hit a bad hook or slice, and also knew that she couldn't stop the swing, so she just to the swing to the outside of the ball. She then striped the second shot down the middle which is no easy task after what happened. By missing the ball she probably saved a stroke or 2. Some would say she cheated. Oh wait, that's only if Phil does this stuff.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...