Regional Combined Introduction Threads Read more... ×
Spy Chat: The Hall of Fame for MGS Read more... ×
Jason1981

Big guy saying hello and needs some updated equipment

I am new to mygolfspy.com and I love all of it.  I have recently started golfing again regularly and am interested in some new clubs and overall improving my game with and without technology. My handicap is somewhere around 18-22 if I had to guess.

Driver: Orlimar tri-metal 440cc

fairway woods: also olimar tri-metal

Irons: ACER XK pro 4-GW

slotline putter (probably 28 years old)

titelist 14 way bag

brooks running shoes.

I don't have favorite grips, but my hands sweat even when they shouldn't and am in the market.

I am also a big guy...5'10 300+ and am trying to lose weight while improving my golf game.

I am intrigued by blades.  If I can hit them well, I know I am doing it right.  (I don't own blades).

Say hello, and any advice would be appreciated.

Jason

• Like 2

Play it Again Sports would be the first place I would visit if I was in the market for clubs and was just breaking back into the game.  And since you have a Titleist bag you know you have to stock that bag with Titleist clubs and balls, right?  You read that in the rulebook, right?   :blink:  ;)  :D

Seriously, if I had any advice (that was worth a fart) I'd be at Bellerive right now in some capacity.  Other than that nonsense, one club at a time baby!

• Like 1

If your handicap is around 18-22, I wouldn't worry about blades right now.  What I would keep an eye out for is game improvement irons.  Mygolfspy does great reviews about which game improvement irons are best.  

Look for cavity back irons.  Cavity Backs will give you much more confidence when you're standing over the ball at address.  I would go to golf galaxy and test out any iron you feel could help you.  then go to ebay to purchase them.  You can get a good set of used irons for a good price.