Jump to content
MGoBlue100

So... my Breakfast Ball� is actually legal?!?

Recommended Posts

Reading my email this morning from one of those “other” sites, and this caught my attention and imagination. Curious of the thoughts of some of the rules aficionados here:

 

“A mulligan is allowed at the first hole. That is a fact…at least according to a participant at a recent rules evening I conducted. Let me tell you what happened, because, shockingly, he might be right.

As always, I explained to the participants what a mulligan is. I have done this for many years, and it is probably the one “rule” most people tend to know. This is surprising, since it is the only rule we talk about that is not found in the rule book!

When I told the participants that evening that a mulligan is never allowed, a person raised his hand. I think there were around 100 of us. He told me very calmly about a recent episode he was involved in.

 

Person: “Brian, that was not what I did.”

 

Me: “What do you mean?”

 

Person: “I did not take a free ‘reload.”‘

 

Me (with a smile): “OK. So then what did you do?”

 

Person: “Brian this is what happened. Listen carefully. I played a very poor shot from the teeing ground on the first tee. It made me really sad. I therefore decided to stop the round. I didn't want to play anymore. But you know what? 10 seconds later I realized I wanted to play again! I love golf! So therefore I placed a ball on a tee, and I started a new round of golf . I then played my first stroke in that new round of golf. Therefore, it was not a mulligan, rather it was a completely new round of golf!”

 

How would you answer this person? Any idea? Well let me tell you what my answer was:

“Well…ehh…you cannot…I mean…it is not fair…eeeeh…if you really want to play…eeh…“

 

Not really a great answer! Of course, I desperately began to read the rules book to find out what it says about when you are allowed to stop a round. But it does not say. So, as far as I've seen in the rules book, there is no answer.

 

The only help seems to be in Rule 1-4, that states

 

“If any point a dispute is not covered by the Rules, the decision should be made in accordance with equity”.

 

Well that does not give you much help. Maybe you could argue, that under Rule 1-4 it would be most fair, that — in the situation mentioned above — the player was playing under stroke and distance, and therefore was playing his third stroke from the teeing ground.

 

But I don't know for sure.

 

What do you think?”

 

 

 

Entire article lifted from that site which shall remain nameless, but I think the discussion is thought provoking, at least...

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Reading my email this morning from one of those “other” sites, and this caught my attention and imagination. Curious of the thoughts of some of the rules aficionados here:

 

“A mulligan is allowed at the first hole. That is a fact…at least according to a participant at a recent rules evening I conducted. Let me tell you what happened, because, shockingly, he might be right.

As always, I explained to the participants what a mulligan is. I have done this for many years, and it is probably the one “rule” most people tend to know. This is surprising, since it is the only rule we talk about that is not found in the rule book!

When I told the participants that evening that a mulligan is never allowed, a person raised his hand. I think there were around 100 of us. He told me very calmly about a recent episode he was involved in.

 

Person: “Brian, that was not what I did.”

 

Me: “What do you mean?”

 

Person: “I did not take a free ‘reload.”‘

 

Me (with a smile): “OK. So then what did you do?”

 

Person: “Brian this is what happened. Listen carefully. I played a very poor shot from the teeing ground on the first tee. It made me really sad. I therefore decided to stop the round. I didn't want to play anymore. But you know what? 10 seconds later I realized I wanted to play again! I love golf! So therefore I placed a ball on a tee, and I started a new round of golf . I then played my first stroke in that new round of golf. Therefore, it was not a mulligan, rather it was a completely new round of golf!”

 

How would you answer this person? Any idea? Well let me tell you what my answer was:

“Well…ehh…you cannot…I mean…it is not fair…eeeeh…if you really want to play…eeh…“

 

Not really a great answer! Of course, I desperately began to read the rules book to find out what it says about when you are allowed to stop a round. But it does not say. So, as far as I've seen in the rules book, there is no answer.

 

The only help seems to be in Rule 1-4, that states

 

“If any point a dispute is not covered by the Rules, the decision should be made in accordance with equity”.

 

Well that does not give you much help. Maybe you could argue, that under Rule 1-4 it would be most fair, that — in the situation mentioned above — the player was playing under stroke and distance, and therefore was playing his third stroke from the teeing ground.

 

But I don't know for sure.

 

What do you think?”

 

 

 

Entire article lifted from that site which shall remain nameless, but I think the discussion is thought provoking, at least...

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Sounds like someone has been thinking up that excuse for awhile  ;)

 

The "Player" is still definitely wrong but I applaud their creativity!

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On a handful of occasions over the past decade (non-competitive) I have exercised the option to quit and start again. The procedure was introduced to me by a college golf teammate (3-time All American).

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would suggest that, as he has abandoned his round, he would be obligated to pay off all potential lost bets for the entire round. After the bets have been paid, he could then proceed with his new round.

I'm in agreement with that, LOLZ

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a mulligan. In my Sunday morning money game each player has the opportunity to hit a second tee ball if he would like to at no penalty to the player. That is just a local club rule for our game only.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are some facilities with “local rules” that may also offer convoluted precedent on the subject. For example, there is/was a local rule in place at Austin Country Club that gave players the 1st tee option to “keep swinging until you are happy” with no penalty. Didn't matter if it took a small bucket to put one in play, they wanted every member to begin every round on a positive note.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He has one tee time that signifies the round. If he quits he must abandon the tee box and return to the pro shop/starter to get a new tee time/name on waiting list and pay for the new round

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is ingenious. I would have told him that he needs to pay his green fees again if this was his second round.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the person decided to stop the round then he/she must be deemed to go back to the pro shop, pay again then get a new tee time in order for the first shot not to count.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

I'm not so sure, Foz.

Sure, if you're playing against the field in a tournament or in a match, dropping out doesn't get you a restart.

 

But in terms of turning in the card for handicap, I'm really not sure.

 

Say you're a member or a season ticket holder. You're not paying by the round.

Suppose reserved tee times aren't required?

On a typical weekday, i could walk onto our course and start on any hole.

 

If you're playing in a money match and your opponent says, Shall we start over?,

don't you and he or she have the right to decide?  The USGA isn't going to pay off the bets.

 

The player picks up after one shot and aborts his game.

Then he starts another one.

I'm not sure that it's really covered.

 

That being said, the first shot of the round is never where I could have used my mulligan. My attention span was sufficient to get me by the first shot. The first putt was another story.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Clearly not, and such an action is obviously taken in bad faith. That said, please do this and post scores accordingly. I don't mind getting a couple strokes from vanity handicaps that I otherwise shouldn't. And if we already have a bet, your abandoning the round means conceding all wagers.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Except for tournament play - we always invoke the 'breakfast' ball rule if we don't like our first drive.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Except for tournament play - we always invoke the 'breakfast' ball rule if we don't like our first drive.

Same here, I normally don't warm up so I will hit 2 off the first as a "warmup" and take the better one.😇
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Same here, I normally don't warm up so I will hit 2 off the first as a "warmup" and take the better one.

Wait a minute!  In friendly games when agreed, I can understand taking a mulligan on the first tee.  I don't always warm up either, but if the first one was a "warmup", then the second one is in play. I've never heard of being able to choose between the two.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wait a minute! In friendly games when agreed, I can understand taking a mulligan on the first tee. I don't always warm up either, but if the first one was a "warmup", then the second one is in play. I've never heard of being able to choose between the two.

Legal, errr, no. But we all agree to that, and we all do it. After that, it is by the book, and those are the rules we agree to for the round. Our reasoning is that you probably aren't warmed up after one so both are warmup, and then we just play from there.

It doesn't usually matter for me because when I am not warmed up, they are both in the right trees anyway...

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wait a minute! In friendly games when agreed, I can understand taking a mulligan on the first tee. I don't always warm up either, but if the first one was a "warmup", then the second one is in play. I've never heard of being able to choose between the two.

When I played with my regular guys, choosing the better ball off the first tee was pretty normal. Then again we always played modified "rules" that we all agreed to.

Can't find it? Drop one where you think it went, no penalty. Darn squirrels probably stole the ball.

We had fun, and no one kept a handicap.

 

Sent from my SM-N950U using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I played with my regular guys, choosing the better ball off the first tee was pretty normal. Then again we always played modified "rules" that we all agreed to.

Can't find it? Drop one where you think it went, no penalty. Darn squirrels probably stole the ball.

We had fun, and no one kept a handicap.

 

Sent from my SM-N950U using MyGolfSpy mobile app

If it's just guys out having fun, then play whatever rules you like.  That's what so great about the game.

 

I'm curious though... do your rules extend past the first shot, or first hole?  If I'm playing in your group and everyone hits two shots off the tee, but I hit a decent tee shot, can I take two shots on my next stroke because I chunked the first one?  

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×