Jump to content
MGoBlue100

So... my Breakfast Ball� is actually legal?!?

Recommended Posts

If it's just guys out having fun, then play whatever rules you like. That's what so great about the game.

 

I'm curious though... do your rules extend past the first shot, or first hole? If I'm playing in your group and everyone hits two shots off the tee, but I hit a decent tee shot, can I take two shots on my next stroke because I chunked the first one?

For me, no. Just the first shot as warmup.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it's just guys out having fun, then play whatever rules you like. That's what so great about the game.

 

I'm curious though... do your rules extend past the first shot, or first hole? If I'm playing in your group and everyone hits two shots off the tee, but I hit a decent tee shot, can I take two shots on my next stroke because I chunked the first one?

Just on the first.

 

Sent from my SM-N950U using MyGolfSpy mobile app

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not so sure, Foz.

Sure, if you're playing against the field in a tournament or in a match, dropping out doesn't get you a restart.

 

But in terms of turning in the card for handicap, I'm really not sure.

 

Say you're a member or a season ticket holder. You're not paying by the round.

Suppose reserved tee times aren't required?

On a typical weekday, i could walk onto our course and start on any hole.

 

If you're playing in a money match and your opponent says, Shall we start over?,

don't you and he or she have the right to decide? The USGA isn't going to pay off the bets.

 

The player picks up after one shot and aborts his game.

Then he starts another one.

I'm not sure that it's really covered.

 

That being said, the first shot of the round is never where I could have used my mulligan. My attention span was sufficient to get me by the first shot. The first putt was another story.

...and this is the conversation I HOPED would start. I knew this group would take the “mulligan” and run with it!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do play to the rules of golf for one reason only if I happen to shoot a great round I want it to be real, not a product of gimme's, roll the ball to get a better lie ( yes I spelled it that way for a reason ) stroke and distance for a lost ball, If all are in agreement on the first tee what is a rule then it's a rule because ( ALL AGREED )  I don't have the time to hit balls before a round and I don't have marshals lining the course to help with errant shot like to pro's if they had to find there own balls with no outside help scores would be higher. Back to the point, why I play by the rules   if I ever hit another birdy eagle or hole in one I want it to be real..but THAT;S JUST ME. You paid the money to play so I don't care what you do or don't, unless your playing me for money 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use a breakfast ball in our game, some people hit another, others don't. Some hit a bad shot, and just play it, others don't. We are having fun playing for a couple bucks. We do use the no rocks, no roots rule. Clubs are expensive and so is a broken wrist, so we just move it off the rock or root and play on. Not looking to move 10 feet for a better look, just enough so you don't hit the rock or root. In any of our tournaments we play it done and putt everything out, but Saturdays are for fun with the guys, so we loosen up a bit. Also, at some point as fall and winter golf approach we will go to winter rules where we roll it everywhere. It's ussually wet and muddy so cleaning the ball off and moving it out of the wet area is needed.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That may be one of the best methods I have heard for executing the breakfast ball.

 

Depending on who I am playing with, we decide before the round if we are playing mulligans or not.  In my league, we play it down with no mulligans.  When playing with my wife or the in-laws, we generally play one mulligan per 9 holes, but off the tee only.

 

When playing with my brothers, it is the full rules of golf with the exception the heckling is required at all times.  Only when someone begins their backswing does the heckling stop.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I keep seeing this topic surface and keep saying to myself.... Breakfast ball? WTH?

As most of you know I've been playing golf for a couple years and have never in my life heard that term used.

In fact I don't even like the sound of it. "hey Joe... you hitting a breakfast ball?" LOL  Is there also a Lunch ball? How bout a Brunch ball?

How about we just stick with mulligan.

:)

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I keep seeing this topic surface and keep saying to myself.... Breakfast ball? WTH?

As most of you know I've been playing golf for a couple years and have never in my life heard that term used.

In fact I don't even like the sound of it. "hey Joe... you hitting a breakfast ball?" LOL Is there also a Lunch ball? How bout a Brunch ball?

How about we just stick with mulligan.

:)

For us we use the term Breakfast ball because it's early in the morning around breakfast time.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a breakfast ball agrees with the rules your group decided on, its legal.

I started hearing the term about a dozen years ago, now it's part of the discussion on the first tee for every round.

First tee, that's it. Potentionally 1 extra shot per golfer. Our breakfast ball rule also stipulates that you get your choice of those two drives.

We play skins, roll in the fairway if you're in a divot and pick up when your out of the hole.

Our biggest time saver imo is that once you clean and line up your ball on the green, that's it. Putt until you're in the hole unless you putt off the green.

No scores marked until the next tee.

Sometimes we'll offer a 2nd drive on the 10th hole if someone is struggling. The game is supposed to be fun, right?

I enjoy spending time on the course, however still like a no wait game. Our foursome with everyone capable of a round in the 80s are all bogeyish golfers who are all retired, including an Elizabeth NJ cop, a beer delivery guy from Bayonne, a FEMA security officer and me.

Just pointing out that the breakfast ball doesn't slow up the game, we actually get thru in about 3 hours, maybe a little less.

The ages are 66, 65, 68 and I'm 71. The scores are generally 20 or more strokes higher

 

 

Sent from my SM-N950U using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the person decided to stop the round then he/she must be deemed to go back to the pro shop, pay again then get a new tee time in order for the first shot not to count.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

Best answer I've seen. We all know it's not legal and outside the spirit of the rules, end of meaningful discussion. When I see a touring pro do it, we can all do it...
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Best answer I've seen. We all know it's not legal and outside the spirit of the rules, end of meaningful discussion. When I see a touring pro do it, we can all do it...

I don't really follow pro golf.

Not much opportunity, then, to emulate a touring pro.

 

I didn't pay for my golf by the round.

So much for that, then, too.

 

I didn't get arrested if I took a mulligan.

So much for it being "illegal."

 

And the USGA didn't pay my golf bets or my golf expenses.

The guy I was playing and I decided the rules.

 

I guess the point, Middler, is that you, I or anybody can "do it"

if we and whom we're playing with both feel like it.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would have to say that is brilliant. Pure genius.

In reality this could go on and on but I would be careful ( as Foz states) the golf course might now have one repay the green fee to play again. I wonder if they could do that?

 

 

Sent from my iPod touch using MyGolfSpy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/6/2018 at 3:26 PM, MGoBlue100 said:

Reading my email this morning from one of those “other” sites, and this caught my attention and imagination. Curious of the thoughts of some of the rules aficionados here:

 

“A mulligan is allowed at the first hole. That is a fact…at least according to a participant at a recent rules evening I conducted. Let me tell you what happened, because, shockingly, he might be right.

As always, I explained to the participants what a mulligan is. I have done this for many years, and it is probably the one “rule” most people tend to know. This is surprising, since it is the only rule we talk about that is not found in the rule book!

When I told the participants that evening that a mulligan is never allowed, a person raised his hand. I think there were around 100 of us. He told me very calmly about a recent episode he was involved in.

 

Person: “Brian, that was not what I did.”

 

Me: “What do you mean?”

 

Person: “I did not take a free ‘reload.”‘

 

Me (with a smile): “OK. So then what did you do?”

 

Person: “Brian this is what happened. Listen carefully. I played a very poor shot from the teeing ground on the first tee. It made me really sad. I therefore decided to stop the round. I didn't want to play anymore. But you know what? 10 seconds later I realized I wanted to play again! I love golf! So therefore I placed a ball on a tee, and I started a new round of golf . I then played my first stroke in that new round of golf. Therefore, it was not a mulligan, rather it was a completely new round of golf!”

 

How would you answer this person? Any idea? Well let me tell you what my answer was:

“Well…ehh…you cannot…I mean…it is not fair…eeeeh…if you really want to play…eeh…“

 

Not really a great answer! Of course, I desperately began to read the rules book to find out what it says about when you are allowed to stop a round. But it does not say. So, as far as I've seen in the rules book, there is no answer.

 

The only help seems to be in Rule 1-4, that states

 

“If any point a dispute is not covered by the Rules, the decision should be made in accordance with equity”.

 

Well that does not give you much help. Maybe you could argue, that under Rule 1-4 it would be most fair, that — in the situation mentioned above — the player was playing under stroke and distance, and therefore was playing his third stroke from the teeing ground.

 

But I don't know for sure.

 

What do you think?”

 

 

 

Entire article lifted from that site which shall remain nameless, but I think the discussion is thought provoking, at least... emoji6.png

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

I know what site and article because I read it and commented on it too. There are several of us that are over there and on here too. I have the same name and avatar over there too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/6/2018 at 3:57 PM, dcole said:

It is a mulligan. In my Sunday morning money game each player has the opportunity to hit a second tee ball if he would like to at no penalty to the player. That is just a local club rule for our game only.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

There are a couple of groups that I play with that do the exact same thing exactly as you stated---- No one in those groups keeps an  official handicap or plays stipulated events

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×