Jump to content

USGA Handicap Rules for a Multi-Format Round


haiderbaig
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi All -

 

This is my first post on the forums and I feel its one of the few places I will find the answer to my question.

 

We have a golf league based out of Pakistan in which we play monthly league-style matches consisting of 7 teams with 8 players in each team. 

 

Due to time constraints and player availability we play our singles match-play and 4-Ball Match-play during the same round of golf.

 

For example:

 

Team A is represented by Mike and Kevin

Team B is represented by John and Alex

 

In the singles match-play Mike will be playing against John and Kevin will be playing against Alex.

During this they will also be playing a 4-Ball match where the best score by each team counts. So essentially there are Two Singles Games and One 4-Ball Game being played at the same time. 

 

We would like to use these scorecard towards our USGA Handicap Calculation and I wanted to know if:

 

A. This is even allowed under the USGA Rules
B. Should we only use the Singles Match-Play scorecards to be used towards a player's handicap. The reason I ask is there scenarios where one or both singles match-play games have finished early in the round but the 4-ball finishes on the later holes. (For example Both Singles could finish 4&3 and the 4-Ball could finish 2&1) So technically the players would have played 17 holes in total instead of just 15. 

 

Apologies in advance if this is overly confusing but if anyone can help that would be awesome!

 

Regards,

 

Haider 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

First, I believe that this would not be allowed under USGA rules of Golf.  That doesn't mean its not acceptable to post for handicap purposes.  Basically, you're going to record the same scores for a single player in each of his matches, i.e. he'll post the same score in his singles match card as on his fourball match card.  Consequently, it doesn't matter which card you use.  The second part of the question relates to a match ending early (i.e not going a full 18 holes), but play continuing.   There's a decision in the Handicap Manual that clarifies this, if you continue play after the match is over, you use the scores you shoot for handicap posting.  So unless you head for the clubhouse as soon as the match is over, and omit playing the last few holes, you post what you shot.  If you DO omit a few holes, you use par + handicap on those holes.

  • Like 3

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to comment
Share on other sites

It is perfectly legal and done all the time here in NCGA team matches. Below link is USGA equitable stroke scoring. 

 

https://www.usga.org/content/dam/usga/pdf/Handicap/2018%20Handigrams-Final.pdf

:taylormade-small:             SIM 9.5* (GD XC 6X) 

:taylormade-small:             SIM 15* (GD DI 7X) 

:taylormade-small:             3 DHY (GD DI HY8X)

:srixon-small:                    ZX7 4-PW (KBS C Taper S)

:titelist-small:                     Vokey SM8 49 08 F ( KBS 610)

:titelist-small:                     Vokey SM8 55 08 M (KBS 610)

:titelist-small:                     Vokey SM8 59 04 L  (KBS 610)

:scotty-cameron-1:                Special Select SquareBack 2 33"

:titelist-small:                     ProV1

Twitter                     @THEZIPR23

 

"One thing Golf has taught me, is that my muscles have no memory."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Dave thank you so much for your reply. Do you know where in the rules it addresses continuation of play even if the match ends early. 

From the Decisions in the USGA Handicap Manual:

 

5-2a/7. Score to Post if Match Ends in Fewer Than 18 Holes and Player Completes Round

Q: In match play, a player wins the match on the 16th hole. The player plays the remaining two holes. What score should the player post for these two holes?

A: The player must post the actual scores on the post-match holes. To post in any other manner would be at odds with the basic premise that contends that each player will try to make the best scores at every hole in every round. If the Committee believes that the player is inflating hole scores on the post-match holes, it may apply provisions of Section 8. (See 8-4c(iv).)

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...