Testers Wanted! Toura Golf Irons Build Test! ×

Smartline Putting Ball Marker

cnosil

I received a smartline ball marker for Christmas and have tried it a couple of times and personally believe it does have some benefits.  Of course there are some caveats to that claim.  

What is the smartline ball marker?  It is a ball marker that will help you line up your ball based on what percent the green slopes.  If you look at the picture below,  the red line points straight at the hole, the white lines directly to the right and left of the red line are for 1% slope, the second set of white lines for 3%, and the black line between is for 2% slopes.    

how_it_works_3.jpg

I have self taught myself Aimpoint so I kind of use the slope percentage in my putting approach.  The hardest part for me if figuring out were the line on my ball should point when I pick the aim point in the distance.  The ball mark solves that by bringing that line closer to my ball.  Part of what this marker does is confirm my read and gives me confidence that the line on my ball is lined up correctly.  Obviously, it doesn't help with speed, but I find that I am keeping the ball above the hole which improves the chance of making the putts.  I think the biggest benefit is on those 3% slope putts since it is hard to convince yourself that the ball really needs to start that far out.   If you purchase you receive the marker, printed instructions, carrying bag, and  a code that will allow you to access some instructional and practice videos.    

The biggest negative is that if you don't use a line on your ball or use a spot in front of your ball it would be very difficult to line up your ball properly.  Also, while I generally use a larger ball marker this one is bigger that the one I previously used.