TESTERS WANTED! ×

Driver Fitting

JonMUSC08

Finally was able to get out to my local fitter and get fitted for a new BOOM stick! Little did I know that i would be hitting about 100 drives; mix of different heads and shafts to narrow down the perfect combo.

Traditionally I am a pretty consistent driver of the ball but put me in-front of a launch monitor and i dont know what to do essentially! Very disappointed how bad i was hitting the ball. Regardless, my fitter was able to decipher the right combos to suit my game. Unfortunatley we did not make a mechanical change to my swing until late in the fitting which would have made the fitting better. We narrowed down to 2 main clubs; Taylormade M6 with Mitsubishi Tensei Red Stiff 60 (maybe 65?) and the Callaway Rogue Subzero with the Mitsubishi Tensei blue 60 stiff. Apparently the Rogue zubzero is a backspin KILLER. 

Was able to take both out the the range as  well as onto the course. On the course i could not consistently hit the Rogue yet it went FAR. I consistently hit the TM M6 but not quite as far. The ultimate tradeoff of course. I went to the range and the wind was blasting me in the face. Any slight fade turned into a big slice. Though I consistently hit the M6 well consistently. I brought the clubs back into the shop this afternoon and hit a few more for comparison sake with my improved swing. (numbers can be seen in the attached picture). Ignore the top 2 drives whether they were with my old driver or bad mishits. The top half was with the M6 and bottom half with Rogue SZ. I had one of the best club fitters in the country tell me that the M6 would be more appealing day in and day out playing. BUT i could crush the Rogue on flush hits. Though it was a bit more difficult to consistently square up the rogue repeatedly; toe and heel shots were not nearly as forgiving. Obviously I'm a 14 hdcp and my numbers show it. I can't hit low 2000's in backspin, 12deg launch and minimal side spin consistently.