Jump to content
LeftyHawk

Putting Ball

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

One of the guys on the league I play on used what he referred to as a "putting Ball". What it was is the same ball he uses getting to the hole, but once on the green he switches it out for the putting Ball.

My question for y'all in the know for the rules, is this acceptable?

Personally I really don't care if he switches balls on the green. But some of us got to talking about it, so I thought I'd ask here.

Chris

Edited by LeftyHawk
  • Like 1

Far and Sure......

:ping-small:G410 SFT (9 degree)

 :ping-small:: G410 3W,5W,4H

:ping-small:: G410 4 thur UW

 :callaway-logo-1:   MD3 52                                                            

:cleveland-small:; TFi 2135 1.0 Putter

:bridgestone-small: TourB-RX

:918457628_PrecisionPro: Precision Pro NX9 HD

:Clicgear: Bag Cart

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wanna say if you're following the tour rules, this isn't legal. However, I am on a team with a guy in my league who does the same thing. Since it's pretty casual, nobody seems to care. I guess marking your regular can be distracting?

  • Like 2

:ping-small: G400 Max

:ping-small: G410 3W

:ping-small: G410 3 & 4 Crossover

:ping-small: i200 5-PW

:vokey-small: Vokey SM7 | 52-56-60

:taylormade-small: Taylormade Spider X

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, gbtrsc said:

If you’re paying attention to USGA rules (not “Tour” rules) then once you start playing a hole you must finish the hole with the same ball, unless it is lost or damaged.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

100% right, you're required to play the same ball all the way to the hole, unless it's damaged or lost.  There are a few other times when you can substitute another ball, see rule 6.3b(1).  When you m just replace a ball on a spot, as in a putting green, you must play the original ball.

  • Like 5

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Technically you are supposed to finish the hole with the same ball unless the ball becomes damaged

Sent from my SM-G960U using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 2

"Obviously my iron play is incredible, and when I get going I can get hot, but this course just fits my eye. The shaping of the holes, and just a couple of the doglegs, I'm able to shape shots."

 Bryson DeChambeau

 

In my  :ping-small: Hoofer Lite

 

:srixon-small: Z765 9.5 with Miyazaka Kaula Mizu 6 Stiff Shaft (TrueGolfFit Recommended!!!)

:cobra-small: F8 3-4 wood 16* Aldilla Blue 70 Stiff shaft

:taylormade-small: Rescue mid 2 iron 16*

:cobra-small: One Length Forged Tec 4-GW with AMT Black shafts

:cameron-small: Futura Phantom 2

:bridgestone-small:Tour B330 RX

 

Like Bass Fishing? Check out my one and only article!!!

https://www.bassresource.com/beginner/get-started-bass-fishing.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, GeekingGolf said:

Technically you are supposed to finish the hole with the same ball unless the ball becomes damaged

Sent from my SM-G960U using MyGolfSpy mobile app
 

There are some other situations where you may substitute a different ball, per rule 6.3

  • Like 2

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What is the logic behind this?  Back in the bad-old-days of balata, we used to do this in friendly rounds because the balls would get lopsided after a few holes and not putt straight (and that's if you didn't cut it).  You'll lose a modern ball before you can really do damage to it.

  • Like 5

What's in the bag:
Driver - :cobra-small: F8 - Aldila NV Blue 60 ( S )
3 Wood (16*) - :cobra-small: F8 - Aldila NV Blue 60 ( S )
2 Hybrid - Titleist 585 (17*) - Titleist 4175 ( R )
4i - LW - :cobra-small: F8 - N.S. Pro Modus3 Tour105 ( S )
Putter - :ping-small: Craz-e
Bag - :1590477705_SunMountain: 2.5 (Forest Green)
Ball -  :Snell: MTB-X
Instagram - @hardcorelooper
Twitter - @meovino
Facebook - mike.eovino
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe it's advise he'd gotten from his father, which would have been during those balata days. Just something he holds onto I guess. I can see cleaning the ball off once on the green, never really thought about a "putting ball" until I played a round with him 

Given the tech in today's balls it didn't make sense to me, but I was also curious as to what the rules were.

I don't plan to say anything to him, it works for him and makes the game enjoyable for him. After all, isn't that what it's about ?

Chris

  • Like 4

Far and Sure......

:ping-small:G410 SFT (9 degree)

 :ping-small:: G410 3W,5W,4H

:ping-small:: G410 4 thur UW

 :callaway-logo-1:   MD3 52                                                            

:cleveland-small:; TFi 2135 1.0 Putter

:bridgestone-small: TourB-RX

:918457628_PrecisionPro: Precision Pro NX9 HD

:Clicgear: Bag Cart

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd call him on it, particularly if it were a tournament and probably in league play, as well.  It's outside the rules of golf.

  • Like 1

Driver: :ping-small: G400 Max 9 degree Alta CB55 Stiff shaft 

Hybrids: :taylormade-small: M6 --- 3 (19 degrees), 4 (22 degrees), and 5 (25 degrees) Atmos shaft R

Irons: :callaway-small:Apex CF19 6-9, PW, AW KBS Tour Graphite  70g shafts R

Wedges:  :cleveland-small: CBX-2 52*, 56*, 60* wedges.  Stock shafts.

Putter: :odyssey-small: Stroke Lab 7S

Ball: :Snell: MTB-X

My Photography can be seen at Smugmug

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
56 minutes ago, CarlH said:

I'd call him on it, particularly if it were a tournament and probably in league play, as well.  It's outside the rules of golf.

Well, I really don't see any sort of avantage and it's a piece of his Dad he carries with him on the course. So I'm not saying anything, just not that big of a deal to me.

Chris

  • Like 1

Far and Sure......

:ping-small:G410 SFT (9 degree)

 :ping-small:: G410 3W,5W,4H

:ping-small:: G410 4 thur UW

 :callaway-logo-1:   MD3 52                                                            

:cleveland-small:; TFi 2135 1.0 Putter

:bridgestone-small: TourB-RX

:918457628_PrecisionPro: Precision Pro NX9 HD

:Clicgear: Bag Cart

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, LeftyHawk said:

Well, I really don't see any sort of avantage and it's a piece of his Dad he carries with him on the course. So I'm not saying anything, just not that big of a deal to me.

Chris

To each their own....I'm a purist....I believe the rules of golf should be followed in tournament play.  If someone is not playing by the rules, regardless of any perceived advantage, it is up to his fellow competitors to protect the field.  In a casual game, yeah, who cares....but I won't have a side wager with him.


Driver: :ping-small: G400 Max 9 degree Alta CB55 Stiff shaft 

Hybrids: :taylormade-small: M6 --- 3 (19 degrees), 4 (22 degrees), and 5 (25 degrees) Atmos shaft R

Irons: :callaway-small:Apex CF19 6-9, PW, AW KBS Tour Graphite  70g shafts R

Wedges:  :cleveland-small: CBX-2 52*, 56*, 60* wedges.  Stock shafts.

Putter: :odyssey-small: Stroke Lab 7S

Ball: :Snell: MTB-X

My Photography can be seen at Smugmug

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, hate playing with people who play fast and loose with the rules, Quiet word at the start of the round just to say it is a penalty each time he does it.

I play with 3 other guys thru the winter and we have a wee competition, the winner is the best 5 Stableford score. The last round he is having a stormer which means he is going to pip me. He duck hooks his drive on the 16th into a bush, takes a provisional up the centre, declares the 1st ball lost without looking, someone shouts that it has rolled out into the rough, so he decides to play the original ball.

Its friendly but this is taking the p!ss!

 

  • Like 2

WIMB

Driver Callaway Epic 10.5' Fujikura Stiff

3W Callaway Epic 15' Fujikura Stiff

3-AW Srixon Z565 Nippon Stiff

52', 56' Cleveland RTX 585 Wedges

Putter Taylormade Rosa Daytona

Bags 2017 Callaway Org14 Cart bag or 2018 Srixon Z start Carry bag 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, Alf. S said:

Sorry, hate playing with people who play fast and loose with the rules, Quiet word at the start of the round just to say it is a penalty each time he does it.

I play with 3 other guys thru the winter and we have a wee competition, the winner is the best 5 Stableford score. The last round he is having a stormer which means he is going to pip me. He duck hooks his drive on the 16th into a bush, takes a provisional up the centre, declares the 1st ball lost without looking, someone shouts that it has rolled out into the rough, so he decides to play the original ball.

Its friendly but this is taking the p!ss!

 

You can't declare a ball lost. It's lost if it can't be found within 3 minutes, or if he didnt declare a provisional on the tee (you said he did though) or he plays the provisional before the original ball is found.

  • Like 2

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Exactly!

He doesn't get to choose is the point. 

He did blob the hole and ended up beating me by 1 point for the season anyway.

  • Like 1

WIMB

Driver Callaway Epic 10.5' Fujikura Stiff

3W Callaway Epic 15' Fujikura Stiff

3-AW Srixon Z565 Nippon Stiff

52', 56' Cleveland RTX 585 Wedges

Putter Taylormade Rosa Daytona

Bags 2017 Callaway Org14 Cart bag or 2018 Srixon Z start Carry bag 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My dad does this. He doesn't like to spend money on balls as he believes he is not good enough to play a high end balll (even though he rarely loses a ball)  His theory is if he putts the same ProV1 I gave him to try out every time that his putting will feel consistent. He even has a special mark on it so he knows not to play it!

I'll have to let him know he's cheating... will get in his head and give me a few strokes!

  • Like 1

Driver  :titelist-small: TS 2, Hzrdus Smoke Black Stiff 9.5* Setting, A2

Fairway Wood:   :ping-small: G30 Stiff Shaft

Hybrid:   :titelist-small: TS2 19* Hzrdus Smoke Black Stiff shaft

Irons:     :titelist-small: 718 AP1 (4-PW) AMT Red Stiff Shafts 

Wedges:  :cleveland-small: RTX4 52* 56*

Putter:   :cameron-small: Scotty Cameron Golo 5

Right Handed 

Pittsburgh, PA

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
You can't declare a ball lost. It's lost if it can't be found within 3 minutes, or if he didnt declare a provisional on the tee (you said he did though) or he plays the provisional before the original ball is found.

A player can say the ball is lost and doesn’t have to look. There is no requirement to spend three minutes, it is just the maximum time. If however, a playing competitor or spectator finds the ball prior to the time expiration you must move forward with that ball.

This exact scenario played out on a season of the golf channels the big break. It also occurred during a LPGA event when the player I was scoring for told the marshalls to stop looking for her ball.
  • Like 1

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* with UST Proforce V2
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :srixon-small: 765 6-AW with KBS Tour shafts
Wedge:  :cleveland-small: 588 54-14, 58-12
Putter:  :odyssey-small: Ten S      Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330,   :EVNROLL: ER2.2,  

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A player can say the ball is lost and doesn’t have to look. There is no requirement to spend three minutes, it is just the maximum time. If however, a playing competitor or spectator finds the ball prior to the time expiration you must move forward with that ball.

This exact scenario played out on a season of the golf channels the big break. It also occurred during a LPGA event when the player I was scoring for told the marshalls to stop looking for her ball.


This actually happened with Phil once. He had 1,000 people looking for a ball that he wanted to abandon and someone found it, oops!

You can’t use a putting ball, while there may be occasions where you can change balls during play on a hole it’s not always going to happen.

The PGA tour has a local rule that prohibits playing a different type ball even when is taken out of play - so if you start with aPro VIx you must continue with it. That goes back to a time when guys would switch ball type hole to hole depending upon the wind or type of hole they were play. That rule does not apply to us so I could play one hole with my Yellow RevKev Pro VIx and the next with a Taylor Made TP 5x as I did yesterday - there was a 45 minute deluge between 7 and 8 yesterday - it was so wet afterwards that I didn’t want to risk one of my gamers. :)


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy
  • Like 2

Ping G410 - set at 12 degrees, fade setting - Alpha Distanza 40 weak R flex shaft

Tour Exotics EX 10 3 wood

Ping G410 5-9 wood

G30 6-PW -  Aerotech FT 500 shafts

SCOR 48,52,58

EVNRoll ER 5

Titleist Pro VIx optic yellow with revkev stamped on them

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We golfers are so funny when it comes to rules. I’m not sure any other amateur athlete quotes the rules more than the amateur golfer.

 

Many years ago I was an avid basketball player. I’d play any and every where I could find a game. This street ball basketball had its own set of socialized rules based on the neighborhood you were playing. One thing for sure was regardless of the location of the game a lane violation (3 seconds) was never called and unless there was bodily harm nor were fouls called.

 

I guess my point here is as long as the group all agrees what rules the group will play by then “Rules of Golf” be damned. Enjoy yourself!

 

Tournament play, sanctioned events and for official handicap rounds then of course the rules of golf should be closely followed. No “putting ball” allowed.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

 

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, cnosil said:

A player can say the ball is lost and doesn’t have to look. There is no requirement to spend three minutes, it is just the maximum time. If however, a playing competitor or spectator finds the ball prior to the time expiration you must move forward with that ball.
 

Correct.

Heres a scenario I witnessed during a regional strokeplay event.

Par 3, one player pushes his shot into thick rough/bushes, delares a provisional, which he stiffed to 6 inches. He didnt want to look for his first ball and to ensure his playing partners didnt find it - meaning he would have to play it - he almost sprinted to the hole and tapped in for a 4.

Point to note, he couldn't have done that in a matchplay event

  • Like 2

Driver     Awaiting NEW Driver (after 10 yrs)  
4 Wood   Callaway Big Bertha Steelhead plus 4+  :callaway-small: Callaway shaft in 'Firm' flex

Hybrid     Titleist 910H 19*    :titelist-small:   Diamana ahina 'flower' shaft in 'S'

Irons         Mizuno MP18SC 4-PW   :mizuno-small:  N.S Pro Modus3 Tour 105 in 'S'

Wedges    Callaway Mack Daddy forged in black 50* and 54*  :callaway-small:   KBS Tour in 'R'

Putter        'YES' Tracy 11 C groove 34.5"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
37 minutes ago, perseveringgolfer said:

Correct.

Heres a scenario I witnessed during a regional strokeplay event.

Par 3, one player pushes his shot into thick rough/bushes, delares a provisional, which he stiffed to 6 inches. He didnt want to look for his first ball and to ensure his playing partners didnt find it - meaning he would have to play it - he almost sprinted to the hole and tapped in for a 4.

Point to note, he couldn't have done that in a matchplay event

To get even deeper into the weeds. he actually COULD have done that in a match.  However, his opponent would then have the option of making him replay the shot that was played out of turn.

  • Like 2

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...