Jump to content
fixyurdivot

Golf Humorous Rules

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

These aren't really local rules, they're two examples of "no play zones".  The Committee can designate no play zones for any reason, including specifically 

  • Protecting wildlife, animal habitats, and environmentally sensitive areas,

  • Preventing damage to young trees, flower beds, turf nurseries, re-turfed areas or other planted areas,

  • Protecting players from danger, and

  • Preserving sites of historical or cultural interest.

The Committee can designate the no play zones as abnormal course conditions (free drop) or penalty areas.  I didn't check back, but I believe this type of designation was available under the previous rules as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, BIG STU said:

It may have been covered under a "local rule" some environmental sensitive areas here are covered by a free drop some are not.

Good point.  I didn't think to check with the pro shop about it as I was in a heated race to outrun the rain bands heading towards me. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, fixyurdivot said:

Good point.  I didn't think to check with the pro shop about it as I was in a heated race to outrun the rain bands heading towards me. 

In my area, we sometimes see red stakes with a green top to denote an "environmentally sensitive" no play zone within a penalty area.  Its worth checking with the pro shop next time you go back, or maybe even send an email asking the status of that specific area.  The way you describe it, with the entire area having red stakes, the sign is just there to make it extremely clear that this is a no play zone to be played as a penalty area.

Edited by DaveP043
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I played a course where those red stakes with green top were protected areas...BUT we were instructed to play them as a free drop. No penalty, but same rule as a normal red drop.

Take Dead Aim

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/28/2019 at 1:35 PM, fixyurdivot said:

Hopefully our upcoming meetup group is cool with my modified rule set 🙂.  In Yuma, some of the bunkers, particularly at Las Barancas are hard packed sand.  They are not lateral hazards or OB and you can play from them (well, supposed to technically).  We allow use of a tee or a free drop behind point of entry.  When the USGA starts paying for my clubs or their refinishing, I'll abide by their rules verbatim.

 We have this same rule at a local course after last summer heard someone scream in a bunker looked over to see him doubled over holding his now (more than likely) broken something (arm, wrist etc) and pick up two pieces of his club. Its like hitting off concrete

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Speaking of hitting out of concrete bunkers, a stump/root forrest, rock garden, etc., what is your personal limit when it comes to what type lousy lie you're willing to play from?  As stated earlier, I will not opt to scar my new irons for nuttin.

One of my PE2's wore a bad scar when, during league play, I hit from a bare dirt, rock laden lie (a rock just under the dirt). That decision/scar pissed me off for years. I know some carry a spare "don't care" iron for these situations and I've thought about doing that - thinking a 6i would be a good choice?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Speaking of hitting out of concrete bunkers, a stump/root forrest, rock garden, etc., what is your personal limit when it comes to what type lousy lie you're willing to play from?  As stated earlier, I will not opt to scar my new irons for nuttin.
One of my PE2's wore a bad scar when, during league play, I hit from a bare dirt, rock laden lie (a rock just under the dirt). That decision/scar pissed me off for years. I know some carry a spare "don't care" iron for these situations and I've thought about doing that - thinking a 6i would be a good choice?

The way the guys play at our club, if there's a chance you're going to damage a club or yourself you employ a foot wedge.


Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy
  • Like 2
  • Love 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, fixyurdivot said:

Speaking of hitting out of concrete bunkers, a stump/root forrest, rock garden, etc., what is your personal limit when it comes to what type lousy lie you're willing to play from?  As stated earlier, I will not opt to scar my new irons for nuttin.

One of my PE2's wore a bad scar when, during league play, I hit from a bare dirt, rock laden lie (a rock just under the dirt). That decision/scar pissed me off for years. I know some carry a spare "don't care" iron for these situations and I've thought about doing that - thinking a 6i would be a good choice?

At my old course... a dog track exec, I carried a "rock club" for those shots that miss the fairways.  I used an 8i, but that's because the one par 5 and 6 par 4's were short.  I have a nice gouge in a forged SW that really pissed me off.  It's like having "rock skis" for those spring ski trips.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 hours ago, Kenny B said:

At my old course... a dog track exec, I carried a "rock club" for those shots that miss the fairways.

That must have been the loneliest club in your bag 😉.

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 hours ago, tony@CIC said:


The way the guys play at our club, if there's a chance you're going to damage a club or yourself you employ a foot wedge.


Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

FW's are the most often used club in Yuma.  I'm currently shopping for one with a more friendly sole grind and better bounce 🙂.

  • Like 1
  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
59 minutes ago, fixyurdivot said:

FW's are the most often used club in Yuma.  I'm currently shopping for one with a more friendly sole grind and better bounce 🙂.

Does the foot wedge count against the 14-club limit?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

Does the foot wedge count against the 14-club limit?

That would depend on your local rules 😉.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/11/2019 at 12:43 PM, fixyurdivot said:

Speaking of hitting out of concrete bunkers, a stump/root forrest, rock garden, etc., what is your personal limit when it comes to what type lousy lie you're willing to play from?  As stated earlier, I will not opt to scar my new irons for nuttin.

One of my PE2's wore a bad scar when, during league play, I hit from a bare dirt, rock laden lie (a rock just under the dirt). That decision/scar pissed me off for years. I know some carry a spare "don't care" iron for these situations and I've thought about doing that - thinking a 6i would be a good choice?

If there is a chance of hurting myself or breaking a club, we let you move it. No sense in ending a round or a season if you get hurt 

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think most people would allow a safe drop from harm, to the player or equipment. Unless you are turning in your score for a legit handicap, there is no reason to risk damage to you or your equipment.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We have stakes marked red with green tops to identify the environmentally sensitive areas. In our case, it is an automatic 1 stroke penalty using the drop rule for a red stake. You cannot enter those areas. At least that’s how our course is marked

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Kor.A.Door said:

We have stakes marked red with green tops to identify the environmentally sensitive areas. In our case, it is an automatic 1 stroke penalty using the drop rule for a red stake. You cannot enter those areas. At least that’s how our course is marked

So basically play it like a water hazard? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, fixyurdivot said:

So basically play it like a water hazard? 

It is a no play zone that is also a penalty area, so you are required to take penalty area relief.  Normally in a penalty area you are allowed to play the ball as it lies, OR take relief, here you cannot play it as it lies, you must take relief.

Edited by DaveP043
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 9/11/2019 at 12:43 PM, fixyurdivot said:

Speaking of hitting out of concrete bunkers, a stump/root forrest, rock garden, etc., what is your personal limit when it comes to what type lousy lie you're willing to play from?  As stated earlier, I will not opt to scar my new irons for nuttin.

One of my PE2's wore a bad scar when, during league play, I hit from a bare dirt, rock laden lie (a rock just under the dirt). That decision/scar pissed me off for years. I know some carry a spare "don't care" iron for these situations and I've thought about doing that - thinking a 6i would be a good choice?

If I’m playing with the group I’ve played with for the last 20+ years there’s two choices. Play it as it lies or take unplayable. 

If I’m out at a different course it depends on how I’m feeling. If it’s just a round to play some golf and I’m not playing be the rules I’ll move it otherwise it’s the same two choices as with the long-standing group

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So not sure this will count but this has come up at our club in the past. When someone is getting strokes on a hole you cannot make a zero. The story goes that some one was getting 2 strokes on a par 3 and made birdie so they would be net 0. Not sure the official rule on this but for us you can only make a minimum of net 1 on a hole. Always found this funny. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, the_hammer said:

So not sure this will count but this has come up at our club in the past. When someone is getting strokes on a hole you cannot make a zero. The story goes that some one was getting 2 strokes on a par 3 and made birdie so they would be net 0. Not sure the official rule on this but for us you can only make a minimum of net 1 on a hole. Always found this funny. 

I'm not sure that this one is actually in the Rules of Golf.  If that guy makes a 2 with even one stroke, it takes an ace to tie him, and that's pretty dang rare.  If you're in a stroke play situation, handicaps aren't applied on each hole, the handicap is applied only to the total score for the round.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...