Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
perseveringgolfer

Bad weather suspends comp play!

Recommended Posts

I've looked at the R&A rules but what should have happened here?

Played in a Snr Comp- weather good all day then as we teed off it started to rain- we were second last out in a field of 174. By the second hole there was heavy rumbling, by the 3rd fairway it sounded like bombs going off above our head.

Group in front intimated play was suspended, so we waited for 20 mins and after no further instructions called the pro shop who said a hooter was sounded at the top of the hill and lightning has been seen. So as per the starters instructions to come in if there was lightning, we all picked up and walked in. 15 mins later we saw an official going out in a buggy to apparently restart play! As we had abandoned our game and with no further instructions on how to proceed we were told to write abandoned on our card and sign it. It was also noted it was still thundering overhead.

On asking about a refund we were told we abandoned and there would be no refund even though it only affected about 25 'abandoned' games as they had officially started the comp again.

Is this correct? also isn't there a duty of care in a club continuing to play in lightning with the caveat "it's your choice if you continue or not"

We all feel a bit cheated.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you say picked up did you pick up your balls without marking them and walk in?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
45 minutes ago, THEZIPR23 said:

When you say picked up did you pick up your balls without marking them and walk in?

yes, as we were told any lightning you don't stay out

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, perseveringgolfer said:

yes, as we were told any lightning you don't stay out

By the letter of the law I think they are correct in their ruling. Generally when play is suspended you mark the ball and resume playing from there once weather clears. 

That being said they could have offered leeway and just assessed a penalty for moving your ball in play. 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

Announcements

×
×
  • Create New...