Testers Wanted: RUNNER Golf and Byrdie Golf Design ×

Taylormade Ardmore 3

jddaigneault

I’m new to reviewing, but here goes. 

I haven’t seen much about the Ardmore line, never mind the Ardmore 3. It is part of taylormades TP series, and absolutely is worth a look. I recently bought one of the black copper series, and it is awesome. 

The look:

It is a smaller, more compact version of a mallet. It reminds me a bit of the odyssey 7 series, but more its stubby awkward cousin. The flanges on the back look like they’d be for scooping a ball up, but this feature does not work very well. Most of the details come in the form of red accents, giving the putter a hot rod feel. The grip is a new superstroke pistol grip, with increased volume in the palm. It makes for a very relaxed hold on the club. 

The biggest negative is the headcover. When will taylormade stop using Velcro? It’s a pain in the butt! Magnetic closure please!

Performance:

This club has 42 degrees of toe hang, so it is great for someone with an arcing putter stroke. It has some decent heft to it, so it feels controlled throughout the swing. The face is very responsive. My prior putter had a softer face, so it felt like I had to hit it harder than I thought based on the length of the putt and speed of the greens. This made lags very difficult to judge. The ball comes off the face of the Ardmore a lot hotter, which makes lag putts far more manageable. The only adjustment comes with downhill putts that are fairly short. It can be difficult to touch them light enough not to see them run way past the hole if your line is off. Speaking of line, the alignment aid is quite nice, making putts very easy to line up. It rolls them true, and I’ve seen my average putts per round go from about 37 with my old putter to 33 with the Ardmore. 

No more blaming the flat stick for a bad round!