Jump to content
Gareth

When does 3 minutes start?

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

The player  has driven his ball 60 yards off line into a wooded area.  Two of his partners are on the fairway but not closer to the hole.

As the player  walks into the wooded area he sees a ball.  As he walks towards it, he tells his playing partners that he can see his ball.  They leave and return to the fairway. As the player  gets closer to the ball, he discovers that the ball is lying in as area of casual water and is quite muddy.  He waits for his turn to play as he wants to take relief from the casual water but is unwilling to do so until his playing partners agree the casual water position.  

After the other players have hit their second shots he calls them to witness the casual water etc.  They agree that he is entitled to relief. The player  then tramps through the mud and water only to discover that it is not his ball. 

The player  then claims that he is entitled to search for his original ball within a 3-minute period and starts to search under rule 18.2, stating that he did not believe his ball was missing until he identified the wrong ball in the casual water.

Was he entitled to take this course of action?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
25 minutes ago, Gareth said:

The player  has driven his ball 60 yards off line into a wooded area.  Two of his partners are on the fairway but not closer to the hole.

As the player  walks into the wooded area he sees a ball.  As he walks towards it, he tells his playing partners that he can see his ball.  They leave and return to the fairway. As the player  gets closer to the ball, he discovers that the ball is lying in as area of casual water and is quite muddy.  He waits for his turn to play as he wants to take relief from the casual water but is unwilling to do so until his playing partners agree the casual water position.  

After the other players have hit their second shots he calls them to witness the casual water etc.  They agree that he is entitled to relief. The player  then tramps through the mud and water only to discover that it is not his ball. 

The player  then claims that he is entitled to search for his original ball within a 3-minute period and starts to search under rule 18.2, stating that he did not believe his ball was missing until he identified the wrong ball in the casual water.

Was he entitled to take this course of action?

Did you check the Interpretations relative to 18.2?  Here's one  of several specific situations in 18.2(a)1/1 where the search is "interrupted", and the search time clock is stopped for a while:

Quote

In stroke play, a player searches for his or her ball for one minute and finds a ball. The player assumes that ball is his or her ball, takes 30 seconds to decide how to make the stroke, choose a club, and plays that ball. The player then discovers that it is a wrong ball.

When the player returns to the area where the original ball was likely to be and resumes search, he or she has two more minutes to search. The time of search stopped when the player found the wrong ball and stopped searching.

On the other hand, the player is required to promptly identify his ball.  In your situation, the player certainly could have taken a look at the ball without having his playing partners with him.  He can actually take the casual water relief without them being present, although I understand his reluctance.  In the example, the player isn't waiting around, he actively played the (wrong) ball before realizing it wasn't his.  In your case, the player is simply waiting to identify the ball.  I'm not rules official, but I'd be reluctant to allow him to resume his search when he's already been standing around for a while without making the effort to identify the ball.

  • Like 2

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's not Private Ryan it's just a golf ball!  Your 60 yard in the woods take the lost ball and go drop in the fairway and play on...


Driver: Callaway Epic Flash 10.5 * Accra Tour Z TZ6 55 M3 pure 

Fairways: Callaway Mavrick 15*  19*  Accra FX 2.0-100F M3 pure  

Hybrid: Callaway Mavrick 4 Hybrid Accra FX 2.0-100H60 M3 pure  

PXG Gen 3 0311 P 5-Gap  Fujikura Pro 75 REG pure

RTX 4  54/12 Black  Fujikura Pro 75 REG pure

Callaway Jaws 58/10 X grind raw  Fujikura Pro 75 REG pure

Putter: Scotty Camron Special Select Fastback 1.5  Stock pistol grip 34"

Ball:  Bridgestone B rxs Yellow (below 70 degrees)  Titleist Pro V1 (over 70 degrees)

All clubs have Winn Dri Tac Wraps oversized

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On e you enter the area where your ball is presumed to be the clock starts. DaveP covered the situation pretty good


Driver: Titleist 917D3 9.5 with Graphite Design MAD Pro 65g S

Wood: Titleist 917F2 with UST Mamiya Helium 5F4

Hybrid: Titleist 816H1 21 with Atmos Blue 85 S

Irons: Titleist 718 AP3 4i, 718 CB 5-6, MB 7-9 with KBS $ Taper 125

Wedges: Vokey SM7 46/50/54/60 with DG s200

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...