Sign in to follow this  
GolfSpy MPR

No Putts Given 18: Interview with Dean Snell

With all the golf ball news of the last year, MyGolfSpy sat down with one of the great ball designers in golf history, Dean Snell. Check out the interview here:

• Like 2

Posted (edited)

I've enjoyed every interview I've seen with Dean Snell, but this episode of No Putts Given with Dean Snell was fascinating. I've been playing Snell MTB/Blacks for almost 3 years and it's very unlikely I'd buy anything else. Great ball, great company IMO.

Well done MGS!

I refuse to buy or play a rebranded ball where the technology has been stolen (like a K-Sig, and I'm a Costco member) from a legit ball seller with actual R&D and engineering. Stealing intellectual property is wrong.

Edited by Middler

Dean seems like a really genuine guy.  Interesting background and his jump from BF Goodrich aerospace to a QE position at Titleist.  If that isn't an indication of just how bad commute traffic is around the greater Boston area is, I don't know what is 🙂.  I really like Adam's closing question about which ball Dean would play if there wasn't a Snell ball option...

Spoiler

Taylormade TP5

• Like 1

I always enjoy listening to Dean Snell.  The man is a bottomless well of golf ball knowledge and he tells it as he sees it.  I did find it kind of interesting how he praised Bridgestone and Srixon but also said how much he hated the notion of fitting a golf ball to your swing speed (which is something the Bridgestone and Srixon do).

I do agree with him though about soft and lower spin balls in that if you want to improve, you pretty much have to go to something that spins and gives you more control.

All in all, great pod and hopefully you guys can get Mr Snell on more often.

• Like 2

I've always loved Dean's no nonsense, no BS, straight to the point, type of interviewing.  He's a great guy!