Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
cnosil

Another rules violation

Recommended Posts

This blew my mind when I saw it. I thought that was a basic understanding. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I had no idea this was a rule.  So if I'm playing with my buddies and they ask what I hit they get a 2 stroke penalty or both of us if i tell them.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 minutes ago, Wedgie said:

 I had no idea this was a rule.  So if I'm playing with my buddies and they ask what I hit they get a 2 stroke penalty or both of us if i tell them.

a. Advice

During a round, a player must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition who is playing on the course,

  • Ask anyone for advice, other than the player’s caddie, or

  • Touch another player’s equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player (such as touching the other player’s clubs or bag to see what club is being used).

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, THEZIPR23 said:

a. Advice

During a round, a player must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition who is playing on the course,

  • Ask anyone for advice, other than the player’s caddie, or

  • Touch another player’s equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player (such as touching the other player’s clubs or bag to see what club is being used).

So if I laser the pin on a par 3 and someone asks what I get that is a 2 stroke penalty.  If I answer I get 2 strokes as well.  Good to know if I want to be that guy in my Sunday group.  Here's a question:  if I laser the pin and say it is 156 yards to the group who are sitting in their carts 40 feet away can I get a 2 stroke penalty even if they don't ask for it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Wedgie said:

So if I laser the pin on a par 3 and someone asks what I get that is a 2 stroke penalty.  If I answer I get 2 strokes as well.  Good to know if I want to be that guy in my Sunday group.  Here's a question:  if I laser the pin and say it is 156 yards to the group who are sitting in their carts 40 feet away can I get a 2 stroke penalty?

Yardage and penalty areas are considered general knowledge so it is permissible to give and ask for this. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Wedgie said:

 I had no idea this was a rule.  So if I'm playing with my buddies and they ask what I hit they get a 2 stroke penalty or both of us if i tell them.

That's correct, on both questions.  And as someone else answered, yardage isn't advice, its common knowledge.  Now if you were to tell them what the wind was doing, or that it plays longer because its uphill, that becomes advice.

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
18 hours ago, THEZIPR23 said:

a. Advice

During a round, a player must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition who is playing on the course,

  • Ask anyone for advice, other than the player’s caddie, or

  • Touch another player’s equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player (such as touching the other player’s clubs or bag to see what club is being used).

I too had no idea this is a rule - don't even want to start counting the strokes over my lifetime 😁.  This... but it's OK to quick step behind your competitions putt to glean some info.  Another one for the "golfs humorous rules" thread.  

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, fixyurdivot said:

I too had no idea this is a rule - don't even want to start counting the strokes over my lifetime 😁.  This... but it's OK to quick step behind your competitions putt to glean some info.  Another one for the "golfs humorous rules" thread.  

 

I always thought that stepping behind someone putting was more of a golf etiquette thing rather than a rules infringement. Am I wrong on that? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, tony@CIC said:

I always thought that stepping behind someone putting was more of a golf etiquette thing rather than a rules infringement. Am I wrong on that? 

Well, standing or worse moving behind someone putting is in bad form.  What I'm referring to is players quickly walking up after the putt is made and still rolling in order to see roll-out.  Certainly getting "advice" albeit non verbal. 😄

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, fixyurdivot said:

Well, standing or worse moving behind someone putting is in bad form.  What I'm referring to is players quickly walking up after the putt is made and still rolling in order to see roll-out.  Certainly getting "advice" albeit non verbal. 😄

That’s not getting advice. That’s no different than watching a ball in the air. Advice would be asking if they pushed/pulled the putt or if they hit it the right speed/line

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

That’s not getting advice. That’s no different than watching a ball in the air. Advice would be asking if they pushed/pulled the putt or if they hit it the right speed/line

Splitting hairs IMHO, but yea, technically I get where you're coming from.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, tony@CIC said:

I always thought that stepping behind someone putting was more of a golf etiquette thing rather than a rules infringement. Am I wrong on that? 

I agree its a etiquette thing, although walking in after the putt is struck doesn't strike me as a real issue.  But to have your caddie or partner stand there while you set up or play the putt is against the rule, as a form of advice that's not permitted.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

a. Advice

During a round, a player must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition who is playing on the course,

  • Ask anyone for advice, other than the player’s caddie, or

  • Touch another player’s equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player (such as touching the other player’s clubs or bag to see what club is being used).



All kinds of subtle things with these rules. While you can’t touch the players bag or clubs, you are free to look into the bag to see what clubs arent there.
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, cnosil said:

All kinds of subtle things with these rules. While you can’t touch the players bag or clubs, you are free to look into the bag to see what clubs arent there.

 

That was the (semi)excuse that Dey gave in her tweet.  "I could have walked over and looked at her bag....".  Next time, take the three steps and look, don't ask.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
That was the (semi)excuse that Dey gave in her tweet.  "I could have walked over and looked at her bag....".  Next time, take the three steps and look, don't ask.


Exactly

And the saddest thing about all of this IMO is the grief that Kim is taking over it. As if she had a choice once she saw a rules violation.


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, revkev said:

 


Exactly

And the saddest thing about all of this IMO is the grief that Kim is taking over it. As if she had a choice once she saw a rules violation.


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

 

I think she brought that on by how she handled the situation with her tweet. I don’t agree with the grief she is getting but there may have been a better way to handle it all

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
53 minutes ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

I think she brought that on by how she handled the situation with her tweet. I don’t agree with the grief she is getting but there may have been a better way to handle it all

I don't think the tweet was really a poor choice either.  Two young women didn't make the cut, really won't be able to make a living playing professional golf.  I know, they could play the Symetra, but that doesn't pay enough to really make a living. Dye was close, needing an ace on the final hole to make the cut even after the penalty.  Without the two strokes, she needed only a par, so those two strokes may mean the difference between making a living at golf, or working at McDonalds for her.  For Kim to urge players to learn the rules is really good advice.  If Dye had known the rules, she actually might be on the big circuit next year.

Would it have been better to remain completely silent about it?  Its basically a qualifier, its quite possible nobody would ever have heard about it, which means nobody would ever learn anything from it.  I think the response from Dye was the one out of line, calling Kim unprofessional for tweeting what is really very solid advice.

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
59 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't think the tweet was really a poor choice either.  Two young women didn't make the cut, really won't be able to make a living playing professional golf.  I know, they could play the Symetra, but that doesn't pay enough to really make a living. Dye was close, needing an ace on the final hole to make the cut even after the penalty.  Without the two strokes, she needed only a par, so those two strokes may mean the difference between making a living at golf, or working at McDonalds for her.  For Kim to urge players to learn the rules is really good advice.  If Dye had known the rules, she actually might be on the big circuit next year.

Would it have been better to remain completely silent about it?  Its basically a qualifier, its quite possible nobody would ever have heard about it, which means nobody would ever learn anything from it.  I think the response from Dye was the one out of line, calling Kim unprofessional for tweeting what is really very solid advice.

 

She didn’t have to tweet out that she called a penalty on two competitors. She did her job informed everyone and rules committee. Done at that point. She stoked the fire tweeting about it. I like Christina and have no problems with her calling the penalty and it sux for the two ladies who missed out on getting a card but as Kim states in the tweet you gotta know the rules so ignorance isn’t bliss and it’s unfortunate they suffered a monetary setback. 
 

while the Symmetra tour isn’t financially a great place for aspiring golfers the two aren’t being forced to play, that’s a choice they make in chasing the dream. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
14 minutes ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

She didn’t have to tweet out that she called a penalty on two competitors. She did her job informed everyone and rules committee. Done at that point. She stoked the fire tweeting about it. I like Christina and have no problems with her calling the penalty and it sux for the two ladies who missed out on getting a card but as Kim states in the tweet you gotta know the rules so ignorance isn’t bliss and it’s unfortunate they suffered a monetary setback. 

She didn't tweet anything about any individual.  

That's it, please read and know the rules.  I'm just now paging through the follow-up tweets, and she really avoids talking about any individual player or specific issue.  

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

Announcements

×
×
  • Create New...