Jump to content
JohnSmalls

Hero World Challenge 2019

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors




Same tournament in 2015. Seems more like habit than accident.


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy


Makes you wonder if he “actually” won Rickie’s Masters...?
  • Like 6

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, GB13 said:

This seems to me like a cop out and refusal to accept any responsibility for his action. Intent or not, he improved the lie, and in a game of honor, the proper thing is to say, while not intentional, I understand I improved my lie, and therefore should be penalized. I mean, you know you’re gonna get penalized anyway, why not save face and act like it wasn’t intentional? 

Good.

He accepted the penalty so how is it a cop out?He explained to the rules official his side of the story, they explained theirs based on the evidence they had. After the discussion he took his 2 strokes and moved on. 
 

 

  • Like 1

Driver: Titleist 917D3 9.5 with Graphite Design MAD Pro 65g S

Wood: Titleist 917F2 with UST Mamiya Helium 5F4

Hybrid: Titleist 816H1 21 with Atmos Blue 85 S

Irons: Titleist 718 AP3 4i, 718 CB 5-6, MB 7-9 with KBS $ Taper 125

Wedges: Vokey SM7 46/50/54/60 with DG s200

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

He accepted the penalty so how is it a cop out?He explained to the rules official his side of the story, they explained theirs based on the evidence they had. After the discussion he took his 2 strokes and moved on. 
 

 

He owned it because he knew he was caught on camera. Pretty slick move to be honest. Someone should tell him he has enough raw talent and doesn’t need to do this silly stuff. 

  • Like 1

  • PING G400 LST 8.5 Evenflow Black 65g 6.5
  • PING G 3W HZRDUS Yellow 75g 6.0
  • Mizuno HMB MP20 3i Nippon Modus 3 120S
  • Maltby TS1 4-G Nippon Modus3 120S
  • Maltby TSW 52 Nippon Modus Wedge
  • Maltby TSW 58 Nippon Modus Wedge
  • Bettinardi BB8 Wide 2020
  • Oncore Elixr

Rochester, NY

4.3 Index

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, bens197 said:

He owned it because he knew he was caught on camera. Pretty slick move to be honest. Someone should tell him he has enough raw talent and doesn’t need to do this silly stuff. 

Again we only have one angle. I get the hate from many on the internets for reed but it’s limited visual evidence from one angle. If he’s takin a practice swing away from his ball he’s not improving his lie. 

  • Like 1

Driver: Titleist 917D3 9.5 with Graphite Design MAD Pro 65g S

Wood: Titleist 917F2 with UST Mamiya Helium 5F4

Hybrid: Titleist 816H1 21 with Atmos Blue 85 S

Irons: Titleist 718 AP3 4i, 718 CB 5-6, MB 7-9 with KBS $ Taper 125

Wedges: Vokey SM7 46/50/54/60 with DG s200

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

He accepted the penalty so how is it a cop out?He explained to the rules official his side of the story, they explained theirs based on the evidence they had. After the discussion he took his 2 strokes and moved on. 
 

 

It’s a cop out, because instead of taking responsibility, he blamed his infraction on something else, and not himself. Therefore, he’s saying it wasn’t his fault and we should blame the cameramen, not him.

  • Like 3

Wilson Staff C300 9.0* Fujikura Pro 58 stiff

Callaway Rogue 3W Mitsubishi Diamana D+ LTD 80 stiff

Mizuno MP-18 MMC FLI-HI 2 iron UST Mamiya Recoil 95 stiff

Ping I200's 4-W Aerotech Steelfiber I110 CW stiff

Ping Glide 52* and 58* stiff

Bettinardi Studio Stock #38 Armlock

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
28 minutes ago, RickyBobby_PR said:

Again we only have one angle. I get the hate from many on the internets for reed but it’s limited visual evidence from one angle. If he’s takin a practice swing away from his ball he’s not improving his lie. 

I like Reed. He’s a little edgy and has sole baggage but who the heck doesn’t?

The one angle is clear enough and he took the penalty without a fight. Next. 

  • Like 2

  • PING G400 LST 8.5 Evenflow Black 65g 6.5
  • PING G 3W HZRDUS Yellow 75g 6.0
  • Mizuno HMB MP20 3i Nippon Modus 3 120S
  • Maltby TS1 4-G Nippon Modus3 120S
  • Maltby TSW 52 Nippon Modus Wedge
  • Maltby TSW 58 Nippon Modus Wedge
  • Bettinardi BB8 Wide 2020
  • Oncore Elixr

Rochester, NY

4.3 Index

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, GB13 said:

It’s a cop out, because instead of taking responsibility, he blamed his infraction on something else, and not himself. Therefore, he’s saying it wasn’t his fault and we should blame the cameramen, not him.

He gave his side of the story, no different than any other pro would do. That’s part of the process/discussion that takes place between rules official and player. Saying that a different camera angle would have shown better angle is lying blame on camera man or lack of coverage. 
 


Driver: Titleist 917D3 9.5 with Graphite Design MAD Pro 65g S

Wood: Titleist 917F2 with UST Mamiya Helium 5F4

Hybrid: Titleist 816H1 21 with Atmos Blue 85 S

Irons: Titleist 718 AP3 4i, 718 CB 5-6, MB 7-9 with KBS $ Taper 125

Wedges: Vokey SM7 46/50/54/60 with DG s200

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In a world where everybody seems to give a non-descript answer to every question, I think it was nice to hear a glimpse of what Reed was actually thinking. Just about everything that people are saying about the incident and him wouldn’t change no matter what his answer was. He never denied doing it on purpose, he only disagreed with the penalty cuz he didn’t see it as improving his lie.

Also to those that think the penalty should have been more, I hope you realize that it cost him the win and $750k.
I don’t condone cheating by any stretch but we only have 1 camera angle and a Mans word to go on.


Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 2

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well, Henrik Stenson wins by 1 over Jon Rahm after a final round 66. Tiger finished in 4th behind Patrick Reed.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using MyGolfSpy mobile app



Thankfully! I would have hated to see Rhambo take it.


Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy
  • Like 1

Left Hand orientation

:ping-small: G410 SFT driver 

:cobra-small: F Max 5 wood

:ping-small:  9 wood
:ping-small:  410  Hybrids 22*, 26*
:wilson-small: C300 4i-GP
:cleveland-small:  Wedges RTX 3.0: 52*, 56*
:ping-small: EYE 2 Wedge 60*

:odyssey-small: O Works putter
:918457628_PrecisionPro:NX9-HD

:CaddyTek: - 4 Wheel 
:footjoy-small: - too many shoes to list and so many to buy

:1590477705_SunMountain:

:SuperSpeed: Official Tester 2020   Beginning Driver Speed  - 78

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I have to say about the Reed incident is that, despite his past transgressions, he should have been given the benefit of the doubt, especially with the lack of evidence available to review.

There was only one camera angle to look at, and it provided no definitive proof that he was actually improving his lie. The video certainly didn't "look good" but there really wasn't enough evidence from just that camera angle to definitively state that he actually improved his lie in any way. His explanation for his actions is certainly a plausible explanation, at least in my opinion.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just finished watching the clip again and here’s what I see... Reed grounds his club directly behind the ball in the sand, and takes the club back just as he would if he were taking the shot. He re-routes his club on the way down to complete the practice swing well inside of where the ball is. The takeaway is part of the stroke and the lip of the sand clearly impeded his ability to take the club back in a normal fashion. Therefore the removal of sand was an improvement of his lie. Pretty straightforward if you ask me.

On a mildly separate note: the clip I found on YouTube showed him stepping a few feet away from the ball and taking a legitimate practice swing - complete with a splash of sand. Do the new rules actually allow this???

 

  • Like 3

Driver: Mizuno ST190 9.5* Fujikura Atmos Blue 5S
Fairway Wood: Mizuno ST190 15* Fujikura Atmos Blue 6S
Hyrbrid: Mizuno CLK 19* Fujikura Speeder EVO HB
Irons: Nike Vapor Pro Combo (4-PW) Dynamic Gold Pro S300
Wedges: Bridgestone Tour B XW-1 50*, 54*, & 58* Nippon Modus 3 105
Putter: Scotty Cameron Futura 6m 33"
Ball: Bridgestone Tour B XS
Bag: 2017 Titleist Players 5 Stand Bag

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
35 minutes ago, TR1PTIK said:

I just finished watching the clip again and here’s what I see... Reed grounds his club directly behind the ball in the sand, and takes the club back just as he would if he were taking the shot. He re-routes his club on the way down to complete the practice swing well inside of where the ball is. The takeaway is part of the stroke and the lip of the sand clearly impeded his ability to take the club back in a normal fashion. Therefore the removal of sand was an improvement of his lie. Pretty straightforward if you ask me.

On a mildly separate note: the clip I found on YouTube showed him stepping a few feet away from the ball and taking a legitimate practice swing - complete with a splash of sand. Do the new rules actually allow this???

 

Very common in Florida are waste areas or waste bunkers  which are not prepared and maintained as bunkers that are considered a hazard.  The area Reed is in is a waste area.  It is treated the same as any other general area of the course and practice swings are allowed, just like on grass.  

Just like anywhere else, you can't improve your lie.

  • Like 3

We don’t stop playing the game because we get old; we get old because we stop playing the game.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Kenny B said:

Very common in Florida are waste areas or waste bunkers  which are not prepared and maintained as bunkers that are considered a hazard.  The area Reed is in is a waste area.  It is treated the same as any other general area of the course and practice swings are allowed, just like on grass.  

Just like anywhere else, you can't improve your lie.

Gotcha. I thought that’s what it was, but wanted to make sure.

  • Like 3

Driver: Mizuno ST190 9.5* Fujikura Atmos Blue 5S
Fairway Wood: Mizuno ST190 15* Fujikura Atmos Blue 6S
Hyrbrid: Mizuno CLK 19* Fujikura Speeder EVO HB
Irons: Nike Vapor Pro Combo (4-PW) Dynamic Gold Pro S300
Wedges: Bridgestone Tour B XW-1 50*, 54*, & 58* Nippon Modus 3 105
Putter: Scotty Cameron Futura 6m 33"
Ball: Bridgestone Tour B XS
Bag: 2017 Titleist Players 5 Stand Bag

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For those still struggling to accept the legitimacy of PR’s penalty assessment - I suggest you take a step back from his “lie” - pun intended.

Slugger White (PGA Tour Rules Official) correctly framed this situation under 8-1a (4), as a matter re: line of play. The backswing is included in a player’s line of play. By grounding his club within the depression and then making a backswing(s), he altered his line of play (sub. conditions affecting stroke).

For the same reason you may not remove a bush growing in front of your ball, you may not knock down a pile of sand behind it. Rule 8 covers a central principle of the game: “play the course as you found it”. Some players uphold the notion as one of the sacred cornerstones of the game. Others view the principle as a technical nuisance. And we’re all free to decide for ourselves within which of those categories we believe a player operates. The only other thing I’ll add - in my experience, old habits die hard.

 

  • Like 8

:ping-small:___________G400 LST 9* - Ping Tour 65 S
:cobra-small:______S9-1 Pro 15* - Matrix Ozik XCON 7 S
:nickent-small:________3DX 17* - Matrix Ozik Altus Hybrid SG
:adams-small:_Super Proto DHY 21* - Matrix Ozik Altus hX3 S
:adams-small: _Idea MB2 4-PW - Matrix Program 130 6.5
:cleveland-small:_________RTX 52.10  56.12 - DG S400
Bettinardi.png.e7ca0ee7ba785611a4a144e16b6b93ab.png___SS38 Armlock
k_sig.jpg.00b599e7e823c61015277de38ca16982.jpg___'18 4-piece
(the preceding have all been gamer approved)

"The most important shot in golf is the next one“ - Ben Hogan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This stuff has been happening for a very long time.  We just have more cameras today so it's rare for anyone to get away with anything.

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, downlowkey said:

For those still struggling to accept the legitimacy of PR’s penalty assessment - I suggest you take a step back from his “lie” - pun intended.

Slugger White (PGA Tour Rules Official) correctly framed this situation under 8-1a (4), as a matter re: line of play. The backswing is included in a player’s line of play. By grounding his club within the depression and then making a backswing(s), he altered his line of play (sub. conditions affecting stroke).

To add clarity, (I hope), one of the areas you are not allowed to alter is "The area of the player’s intended swing,".  Reed claims that the lump of sand that he moved was far enough back that it didn't matter to his swing, but a normal swing wouldn't have missed it by even a full inch.  Its clearly in the area of his intended swing. 

  • Like 4

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Time for the news feeds to get over it - that's all I see from all of them this morning.. I do like Reed but he F'ed Up. It's done, penalty imposed which cost Reed lots of cash in the end, not to mention good will around his name. Wish those news jockeys would start focusing on the President's Cup. 

  • Like 4

Left Hand orientation

:ping-small: G410 SFT driver 

:cobra-small: F Max 5 wood

:ping-small:  9 wood
:ping-small:  410  Hybrids 22*, 26*
:wilson-small: C300 4i-GP
:cleveland-small:  Wedges RTX 3.0: 52*, 56*
:ping-small: EYE 2 Wedge 60*

:odyssey-small: O Works putter
:918457628_PrecisionPro:NX9-HD

:CaddyTek: - 4 Wheel 
:footjoy-small: - too many shoes to list and so many to buy

:1590477705_SunMountain:

:SuperSpeed: Official Tester 2020   Beginning Driver Speed  - 78

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
40 minutes ago, tony@CIC said:

Time for the news feeds to get over it - that's all I see from all of them this morning.. I do like Reed but he F'ed Up. It's done, penalty imposed which cost Reed lots of cash in the end, not to mention good will around his name. Wish those news jockeys would start focusing on the President's Cup. 

Agreed, so much coverage on this, lets get past it and focus on what's next. Reed's reputation is well known, nothing new.

  • Like 2

:taylormade-small: M5 9.0* 
:titelist-small: 915d 18* & 21*
:titelist-small: 716 AP2 4&5
:titelist-small: ZB 6-P
:titelist-small: SM7 52-F, 56-S & SM6 60-K
:cameron-small: Newport TeI3

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am still shocked that Reed was picked for the President's Cup team.  Even well before this incident, his behavior (and poor play) at the Ryder Cup seemed to have sent a public perception of a player no one wants to be around, or would want to play with.  I realize that I only get information from the media and whatever transpires on TV, but the negative vibes Reed generated after Ryder Cup had me thinking he'd never be on another USA team unless he earned his way on.  But to see Tiger pick him really shocked me.

This whole incident at the Hero only reinforces what pretty much everyone has ever said about Reed since forever.  He has no relationship with any of his college teammates.  He's disowned his own family.  He's a loner and does things his own selfish way.  I just don't understand how anyone can give this guy the benefit of the doubt with anything, as his reputation and past behavior speak for themselves; at least I think so anyway.

 

  • Like 1

  • :ping-small: G400 Driver, 3 Fairway
  • :mizuno-small: Fli-Hi Utility Irons - 18° & 21°
  • :Hogan: Ft. Worth Hi Utility Iron - 24°
  • :callaway-small: Forged Razr X 6-A Wedge irons
  • :titelist-small: :vokey-small: SM7 54° & 58°
  • :ping-small: Sigma2 Tyne Putter
  • :918457628_PrecisionPro:NX7 Laser Rangefinder
  • Garmin Approach S20 GPS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...