MrShowbiz999

Help Choosing Irons . . .

Our Sponsors

I am a 58-year-old beginner golfer. For the holidays, my wife is buying me a new set of irons (!!!) and I am trying to chose between the Cobra Oversize 4-PW/GW set and Bombtech 3.0 iron set (4-PW). Does anyone have any experience with these sets? Are they good for adult beginners? Their price points right now on sale are low and comparable, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, and happy holidays!

• Like 1

Stay clear of EVERYTHING Bombtech. 

The owner of the company is a snake oil salesman 

• Like 7

In my :mizuno-small: BR-D4 Stand Bag

:ping-small: G410 Plus Ping 9* VA Nemesys 65FIVE
:ping-small: G410 LST 14.5* VA Vylyn 75FIVE
:titelist-small: 818 H2 20* Tour AD DI 85X
:mizuno-small: MP20 HMB 4 Tour AD 95X
:mizuno-small: JPX 919 Tour 5-PW Oban CT 115 X(-)
:titelist-small: Vokey SM7 49 F - 54 S - 59 D
:mizuno-small: M Craft II
:bridgestone-small: Tour B X

SuperSpeed Forum Tester
Initial Driver Speed on Provided Monitor: 109 MPH

40 minutes ago, MrShowbiz999 said:

I am a 58-year-old beginner golfer. For the holidays, my wife is buying me a new set of irons (!!!) and I am trying to chose between the Cobra Oversize 4-PW/GW set and Bombtech 3.0 iron set (4-PW). Does anyone have any experience with these sets? Are they good for adult beginners? Their price points right now on sale are low and comparable, so any help would be appreciated.

Not sure your level of golf skill but go to a golf fitter; not Dicks Sports or a big box store. Edwin Watts or PGA superstore, Golf Galaxy, or a local fitter will provide you with the best info for your skill set. Some golf fitters charge for a fitting, others dont. Usually they dont if you end up buying from them. Custom fitting is NOT ONLY for great players, it just matches your swing to the appropriate clubs and angles.

• Like 3

Charleston, SC

HDCP 13.0

• Driver: :taylormade-small:  M6 9* with 65g Stiff Mitsubishi Tensei Red shaft