Grit Golf

Has this been done (wedge use survey)?

Our Sponsors

I’ve been working with a coach who caddied on tour for 9 years and won the PGA tournament in our area last year. Hes an amazing player and his short game is the strength of his game. He does everything greenside with a 58*. The guy he caddied for had an amazing up and down percentage (Chad Collins) he used only 1 club (a 60*) for everything. I anecdotally heard most of the LPGA is the same, using a 60* for everything.

Have the spies ever surveyed not what wedges are in the bag, but the way the work gets divvied up amongst them? Possibly through Arccos?

My hunch is most mid handicaps find one versatile wedge they use for nearly everything, and as the cap goes down, the loft stamped on that club of choice goes up to give them more options?

• Like 4

“He’s a Cinderella story. A former assistant groundskeeper about to become the Masters champion. It looks like a mirac… It’s in the hole! It’s in the hole! It’s in the hole!” — Carl Spackler

I started using a 56 for all around the green work. 52 gets the brunt of the work from the 75 yard range. Still get the stopping power but on a better trajectory.

According to Arccos it’s almost 50/50 split for me between the 2.

• Like 6

I used to exclusively use a 60 for all chipping duties, but recently have been using 56 instead. I'm half tempted to ditch the 60 some other gap in my bag.

• Like 5

Driver: :bridgestone-small: Tour B JGR 9.5* Recoil 460ES cut to 45"
3W: :bridgestone-small: Tour B JGR 15* Recoil 460ES
3H, 4H: :bridgestone-small: Tour B JGR 19*, 23* Recoil 780ES
4-PW:  :bridgestone-small: Tour B JGR HF2 Modus3 Tour 105
AW: :mizuno-small:S5 52*
SW: :cleveland-small: 588
LW: :callaway-small: MD3
Putter: :odyssey-small: Stroke Lab Marxman
Bag: :bridgestone-small: Tour B Stand Bag
Ball: :srixon-small: Z-Star
Pushcart: BigMax iQ+

:SuperSpeed: Tester
Starting Driver Speed on PRGR Monitor: 102 mph

Final Driver Speed (end of Level 2): 120 mph