Jump to content
TBT

Would you count it?

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

I was playing a little 9 hole course that’s a part of my son’s apartment complex last weekend. I came to this short very elevated par 3. The course is set up with lifted cups right now because of Covid-19.

 

Back tees were 134 yards abs because of the elevation I hit a towering pitching wedge that never left the flag....the ball hirs the green and on the first hop it hits the lifted rubber cup and bounces 12 feet away.

 

Since all you need to do to sink a putt is hit the lifted cup do you count the ace because you hit the cup with the tee shot?

 

Would the ball have gone in with a regulation cup? Who knows...it would have definitely got a piece of it but since the cup is lifted I’ll never know.IMG_0967.JPG

 

 

Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

  • Like 2

 

:cobra-small: King F7+ UST Mamiya Chrome Elements 6F4 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 3W UST Mamiya Chrome Elements 7F4 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 5W UST Mamiya Chrome Elements 7F4 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 4 Hybrid Graphite Designs Tour AD-HY 95 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 5 Hybrid Graphite Designs Tour AD-HY 95 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 6-PW UST Mamiya Recoil 95 Shafts

:cobra-small: King PuR Wedges 50*,54*,58* UST Mamiya Recoil 95 Shafts

:odyssey-small: Metal X Milled #7 with SuperStroke 3.0 grip

Arccos Generation 1 Sensors on all clubs

Snell MTB



Twitter: @timldotson
Instagram: timldotson
Facebook: TimDotson

Share this post


Link to post

I probably would not have counted it, but I also hate the elevated cup so don't let me take the wind out of your sails 

  • Like 1

Right Handed 

:taylormade-small: SIM Max, 10.5 deg, Ventus Red 5 reg

:taylormade-small: SIM Max 3 Rescue 19 deg, Ventus Blue 6 reg

:taylormade-small: SIM Max 4-PW, KBS 85 reg 

:taylormade-small: ATV Grind Wedges 52, 56, 60 deg, KBS 85

Lamkin Crossline-Midsize grips on all swinging clubs 

:odyssey-small: Stroke Lab, Black One, 35"

:bridgestone-small: e12 soft; Tour B RX

Share this post


Link to post

With how far away it ended up, no, I would not count it as an ace. I know you just have to hit the elevated cup but I think there's got to be some common sense used in whether a putt or shot would have actually gone in if the elevated cup wasn't there. I'd say if it bounces off the cup and ends up more than 3 feet away, depending on green speed, there's a good chance it wouldn't have stayed in anyway. The other issue with just having it hit the cup is you could skim it off the side of the cup and call it a made putt or shot when, depending on speed, it'd likely be a burnt edge or lipout. Ultimately, I'd say use your best judgement and if there's any doubt that it wouldn't have stayed in the hole if it was a regular hole then it doesn't count as a made shot.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using MyGolfSpy mobile app

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Posted (edited)

Yup! Normally, no. But.... those are the rules right now. 

 

I have to make an amendment to my reply.............. I personally wouldn't count it if it was more than a foot from the cup.

Edited by silver & black
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post

No, and that's why elevated cups is a terrible decision!  People counting the putt as good when they putt it so hard that it bounces off the raised cup, instances such as the one you just described, etc.  You know in your heart that it wouldn't have gone in if it bounced that far away.  But, as you pointed out, those are the rules (at your club -- not all).  Makes for a good story, but hardly an ace.  

  • Like 2

Driver: :ping-small: G400 Max 9 degree Alta CB55 Stiff shaft 

Hybrids: :taylormade-small: M6 --- 3 (19 degrees), 4 (22 degrees), and 5 (25 degrees) Atmos shaft R

Irons: :callaway-small:Apex CF19 6-9, PW, AW KBS Tour Graphite  70g shafts R

Wedges:  :cleveland-small: CBX-2 52*, 56*, 60* wedges.  Stock shafts.

Putter: :odyssey-small: Stroke Lab 7S

Ball: :Snell: MTB-X

My Photography can be seen at Smugmug

Share this post


Link to post
5 hours ago, TBT said:

 

I was playing a little 9 hole course that’s a part of my son’s apartment complex last weekend. I came to this short very elevated par 3. The course is set up with lifted cups right now because of Covid-19.

 

Back tees were 134 yards abs because of the elevation I hit a towering pitching wedge that never left the flag....the ball hirs the green and on the first hop it hits the lifted rubber cup and bounces 12 feet away.

 

Since all you need to do to sink a putt is hit the lifted cup do you count the ace because you hit the cup with the tee shot?

 

Would the ball have gone in with a regulation cup? Who knows...it would have definitely got a piece of it but since the cup is lifted I’ll never know.IMG_0967.JPG

 

 

Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy

 

First congrats on the golf shot. 

So agree with most previous post, I would not count it. 

Curious did the ball  bounce hard off the raised part like a ricochet off a tree or was is slow roll to 12 feet (in case their was severe undulation of the green (like down hill kinda) that exaggerated the roll? 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post

Golf is a game of personal responsibility, integrity, and honesty. If you can honestly tell yourself that it would have went in, then count it.

 

The fact that you started this thread looking for opinions tells me that you don’t believe it would have stayed in the hole and would say so had it happen to a playing partner.

 

My opinion would be it is a great shot though not a hole in one but my opinion along with everyone else’s doesn’t matter. Only your opinion matters and only you have to live with that decision.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using MyGolfSpy

 

  • Like 2

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Share this post


Link to post

To quote @silver & black yup that bad boy counts! Congrats! Rifgt now if it hits the cup it counts. Could have gone in though.

eirher way that SOB is an ace so buy everyone a round!


Check out my reviews

 :ping-small: G710 Irons Lacassem official review

 :taylormade-small: FlexTech is filled with all this shiny metal and tracked by :Arccos::

:titelist-small: TS2 9.5 - Project X HZRDUS Smoke

:taylormade-small: SIM 3W - Project X HZRDUS Green 

:adams-small: 2H VST - Super Idea S Matrix Kujoh S-Flex

:taylormade-small: 2019 P790 4-PW - Project X 6.5 LZ 

:titelist-small: 52, 56, 60 SM7 - Nippon Modus 125

:odyssey-small: O-Works 1W

:titelist-small: PROV1X #19 

Bushnell Tour V3 Jolt

🇺🇸Thank you to all those that have served/are serving and God Bless America 🇺🇸

Share this post


Link to post

I wouldn’t count it. At 12 feet I’m not thinking it would have dropped. More likely would have scattered off the flag or ran right by.
But I also wouldn’t want my first hole in one to be one like that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  • Like 1

#MGSCOBRA2020 #COBRACONNECT CHALLENGE 4 is live!  Follow Along here!

:cobra-small: Speedzone Driver 10.5 - Tensei Pro White 6TX

:cobra-small: Speedzone 5-wood - Ventus Blue 8S

:cobra-small: Speedzone 4-Hybrid - KBS Proto 85S

:cobra-small: KING Forged Tec 5-GW - PX LZ 6.5

:cobra-small: KING MIM Black 52.12 Classic, 56.10 Versatile, 60.04 Widelow - KBS 610 Wedge

 :EVNROLL: ER2B

:titelist-small: Pro V1x

:918457628_PrecisionPro: NX9 HD Slope

:Arccos:

#cuetheduckboats

 

Share this post


Link to post
1 minute ago, B.Boston said:

I wouldn’t count it. At 12 feet I’m not thinking it would have dropped. More likely would have scattered off the flag or ran right by.
But I also wouldn’t want my first hole in one to be one like that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yea tough one. Is the rule of it TOUCHES the raised cup it’s in or is it “if you think it would drop”. Maybe that’s where I’m confused?


Check out my reviews

 :ping-small: G710 Irons Lacassem official review

 :taylormade-small: FlexTech is filled with all this shiny metal and tracked by :Arccos::

:titelist-small: TS2 9.5 - Project X HZRDUS Smoke

:taylormade-small: SIM 3W - Project X HZRDUS Green 

:adams-small: 2H VST - Super Idea S Matrix Kujoh S-Flex

:taylormade-small: 2019 P790 4-PW - Project X 6.5 LZ 

:titelist-small: 52, 56, 60 SM7 - Nippon Modus 125

:odyssey-small: O-Works 1W

:titelist-small: PROV1X #19 

Bushnell Tour V3 Jolt

🇺🇸Thank you to all those that have served/are serving and God Bless America 🇺🇸

Share this post


Link to post

Don’t quote me, but I think it’s a “hits and mostly likey would have gone in” thing. But I haven’t actually read the rule.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  • Like 1

#MGSCOBRA2020 #COBRACONNECT CHALLENGE 4 is live!  Follow Along here!

:cobra-small: Speedzone Driver 10.5 - Tensei Pro White 6TX

:cobra-small: Speedzone 5-wood - Ventus Blue 8S

:cobra-small: Speedzone 4-Hybrid - KBS Proto 85S

:cobra-small: KING Forged Tec 5-GW - PX LZ 6.5

:cobra-small: KING MIM Black 52.12 Classic, 56.10 Versatile, 60.04 Widelow - KBS 610 Wedge

 :EVNROLL: ER2B

:titelist-small: Pro V1x

:918457628_PrecisionPro: NX9 HD Slope

:Arccos:

#cuetheduckboats

 

Share this post


Link to post
3 minutes ago, Lacassem said:

Yea tough one. Is the rule of it TOUCHES the raised cup it’s in or is it “if you think it would drop”. Maybe that’s where I’m confused?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/golf.com/instruction/etiquetteist-should-hole-one-raised-cup-count/amp/
 

good read. Seems like it’s up to the group really....again would you want this to be your first hole in one? Tough to say.....


Check out my reviews

 :ping-small: G710 Irons Lacassem official review

 :taylormade-small: FlexTech is filled with all this shiny metal and tracked by :Arccos::

:titelist-small: TS2 9.5 - Project X HZRDUS Smoke

:taylormade-small: SIM 3W - Project X HZRDUS Green 

:adams-small: 2H VST - Super Idea S Matrix Kujoh S-Flex

:taylormade-small: 2019 P790 4-PW - Project X 6.5 LZ 

:titelist-small: 52, 56, 60 SM7 - Nippon Modus 125

:odyssey-small: O-Works 1W

:titelist-small: PROV1X #19 

Bushnell Tour V3 Jolt

🇺🇸Thank you to all those that have served/are serving and God Bless America 🇺🇸

Share this post


Link to post

I would say it is my first ace but not my first hole in one.  Based on current rules it's a 1 (so an ace) but it wasn't holed.  You'll have a great bar debate for years though!

  • Like 1

Driver: image.jpeg.693c1038c87ba93f656427286d5ff6c6.jpeg M3 Tensei Blue Stiff

3 Wood: image.jpeg.693c1038c87ba93f656427286d5ff6c6.jpeg M6 UST Mamiya Proforce V2

3 Hybrid: image.jpeg.693c1038c87ba93f656427286d5ff6c6.jpeg M6 UST Mamiya Proforce V2

4 Hybrid : image.jpeg.693c1038c87ba93f656427286d5ff6c6.jpeg M4 Stock Stiff Shaft

Irons: image.jpeg.693c1038c87ba93f656427286d5ff6c6.jpeg P790 (5I-AW) - 2 deg strong - Nippon Modus3 105 Gram/Stiff 

Wedges: :titelist-small: Vokey SM7 (54,59) - AMT Black/Stiff

Putter: :ping-small:  Sigma G Tyne Putter

Ball: :titelist-small: ProV1

Tracked by: :Arccos:

Share this post


Link to post

I didnt count it.  That happened to me definitely once and potentially twice when the cups were raised 2 inches.  I've never had a hole in one so for my first, and any other for that matter, I want the satisfaction of pulling thr ball out of the cup.

  • Love 1

Share this post


Link to post
Guest Delete

No. 

12ft means pace that would probably have hopped out.

2ft or less then my hands would go up as a maybe. 

Share this post


Link to post

I was playing a little 9 hole course that’s a part of my son’s apartment complex last weekend. I came to this short very elevated par 3. The course is set up with lifted cups right now because of Covid-19.
 
Back tees were 134 yards abs because of the elevation I hit a towering pitching wedge that never left the flag....the ball hirs the green and on the first hop it hits the lifted rubber cup and bounces 12 feet away.
 
Since all you need to do to sink a putt is hit the lifted cup do you count the ace because you hit the cup with the tee shot?
 
Would the ball have gone in with a regulation cup? Who knows...it would have definitely got a piece of it but since the cup is lifted I’ll never know.IMG_0967.thumb.JPG.5e7fe46e855af01abf18ea1d04689f3c.JPG
 
 
Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy
Like McGwire and Sosa, gotta put an asterisk next to it.
We play with foam below the lip of the cup. Same discussion on lip outs. Thank mainland China.

Sent from my moto g(6) (XT1925DL) using Tapatalk

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post

Congrats on your hole in one.

Count it!

Share this post


Link to post
First congrats on the golf shot. 
So agree with most previous post, I would not count it. 
Curious did the ball  bounce hard off the raised part like a ricochet off a tree or was is slow roll to 12 feet (in case their was severe undulation of the green (like down hill kinda) that exaggerated the roll? 



I pretty much agree with everybody’s opinion here...I didn’t count it...but I hate that the raised cup cost me a potential hole in one (BTW It would not have been my first) because it could have gone in.....we have all seen tour pros one hop them in or even dunk it on the fly, so it COULD HAVE gone in.

The sad part is I will never know.

To answer your question, it hit dead center and bounced about 2-3 feet back then it trickled down a false front stopping just on the fringe. Had there not been a slope there it probably stops 3-4 feet away.

The raised cups are very “rubbery” so it provided a spring effect.


Sent from my iPad using MyGolfSpy
  • Like 1

 

:cobra-small: King F7+ UST Mamiya Chrome Elements 6F4 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 3W UST Mamiya Chrome Elements 7F4 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 5W UST Mamiya Chrome Elements 7F4 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 4 Hybrid Graphite Designs Tour AD-HY 95 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 5 Hybrid Graphite Designs Tour AD-HY 95 Shaft

:cobra-small: King F7 6-PW UST Mamiya Recoil 95 Shafts

:cobra-small: King PuR Wedges 50*,54*,58* UST Mamiya Recoil 95 Shafts

:odyssey-small: Metal X Milled #7 with SuperStroke 3.0 grip

Arccos Generation 1 Sensors on all clubs

Snell MTB



Twitter: @timldotson
Instagram: timldotson
Facebook: TimDotson

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...