TESTERS WANTED! ×

New Ball Needed

MrShowbiz999

Greetings, my fellow brothers and sisters in Golf . . .

I have often turned to these forums and you amazing members for help in choosing my golf equipment, and you never disappoint! Well, I am back again, but revisiting an older posting of mine:

A few months back I was looking for recommendations for golf balls for beginners (me!) I was interested in very low compression balls and ultimately chose the Wilson Staff Optix Duo, a yellow matte ball at 29 compression that I've really enjoyed playing. However, I have recently upgraded to a new driver, and the manufacturer has recommended that I try a higher compression ball, something about 80, based on the technology behind this new club. Of course, having never played a ball like that, I don't know where to start. I was told to buy the Titleist Pro V1, but as I lose about a dozen balls every round (be kind, I am a 58-year-old beginner!), Pro V1's at $50/dz are not doable.

My swing speed is under 90 mph; I am getting about 150 - 175 yards (hit a 200-yarder last week and was ready to pop a bottle of champagne!) with my old driver and Duo's, hoping for more on the new one. Was hoping all of you with your vast knowledge and experience could point me towards a much more cost-effective (cheaper) alternative to try? There are always deals to be had, especially this time of year, and since this is new territory I'd love not to have to spend a fortune on something that I am bound to lose shortly after I buy it.

Any thoughts? As always, thanks for your assistance . . . 

Marty!

Marty

Krank Golf f11xx driver

Cobra Golf Fairway Woods (3, 5)

Tommy Armour Atomic Max Irons (4 - 9)

Tommy Armour Wedges (A, S, G, P)

Odyssey Works Versa Marxman Fang Putter

Mizuno JPX Fli-Hi Hybrid (4 & 7)

I can end this thread quickly.  Top Flite Gamer is the ball for you.  2 dozen for $35 at Dick's Sporting Goods.  Here is a thread with numerous comments.

Wedgie

Driver - XXIO X Driver 9.5