Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

If I have to wait for the group in front of me to clear before I hit my next shot is it illegal for me to juggle a golf ball (not the one in play) on my sand wedge to pass the time?

Driver: :ping-small: Ping G410 Plus 9° HZRDUS Smoke Yellow (S  Flex)

3 Wood: :taylormade-small: SIM 3 Wood 15° Ventus Black 7S

3 Utility Iron: :cobra-small: King Utility Iron 18° Project X HZRDUS (S Flex)

4i-AW: :taylormade-small: 2019 P790 Nippon Zelos 7 (S Flex, Std Lie, +1/2" Length)

56°:  :vokey-small: SM4 56° Loft,  8° Bounce

60°: :macgregor-small: VIP 60°

Putter: :ping-small: Scottsdale TR Sanita B 

Shot Tracking: :Arccos:

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour BX

Bag: :ping-small: Hoofer Lite 

Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, ZMendle10 said:

If I have to wait for the group in front of me to clear before I hit my next shot is it illegal for me to juggle a golf ball (not the one in play) on my sand wedge to pass the time?

Have you taken a look at the rules on your own?  Which Rule do you think you might be violating?

  • Like 1

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, DaveP043 said:

Have you taken a look at the rules on your own?  Which Rule do you think you might be violating?

I haven't taken a look at the rules and I don't think I would be violating one. I thought this would be an interesting topic to discuss.

 

Driver: :ping-small: Ping G410 Plus 9° HZRDUS Smoke Yellow (S  Flex)

3 Wood: :taylormade-small: SIM 3 Wood 15° Ventus Black 7S

3 Utility Iron: :cobra-small: King Utility Iron 18° Project X HZRDUS (S Flex)

4i-AW: :taylormade-small: 2019 P790 Nippon Zelos 7 (S Flex, Std Lie, +1/2" Length)

56°:  :vokey-small: SM4 56° Loft,  8° Bounce

60°: :macgregor-small: VIP 60°

Putter: :ping-small: Scottsdale TR Sanita B 

Shot Tracking: :Arccos:

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour BX

Bag: :ping-small: Hoofer Lite 

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/11/2021 at 1:49 PM, ZMendle10 said:

I haven't taken a look at the rules and I don't think I would be violating one. I thought this would be an interesting topic to discuss.

 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=5&subrulenum=5

I believe this could fall under practicising while play is stopped, here is link to USGA rules.

 

image.png

Edited by SlowNLow
Link to post
Share on other sites
18 minutes ago, SlowNLow said:

but it's not a golf swing though. So how would this constitute as practice?

 

  • Like 1

Driver: :ping-small: Ping G410 Plus 9° HZRDUS Smoke Yellow (S  Flex)

3 Wood: :taylormade-small: SIM 3 Wood 15° Ventus Black 7S

3 Utility Iron: :cobra-small: King Utility Iron 18° Project X HZRDUS (S Flex)

4i-AW: :taylormade-small: 2019 P790 Nippon Zelos 7 (S Flex, Std Lie, +1/2" Length)

56°:  :vokey-small: SM4 56° Loft,  8° Bounce

60°: :macgregor-small: VIP 60°

Putter: :ping-small: Scottsdale TR Sanita B 

Shot Tracking: :Arccos:

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour BX

Bag: :ping-small: Hoofer Lite 

Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/11/2021 at 1:46 PM, DaveP043 said:

Have you taken a look at the rules on your own?  Which Rule do you think you might be violating?

I've been meaning to order a rule book for some time so I finally pulled the trigger yesterday and it will be here tomorrow.

Driver: :ping-small: Ping G410 Plus 9° HZRDUS Smoke Yellow (S  Flex)

3 Wood: :taylormade-small: SIM 3 Wood 15° Ventus Black 7S

3 Utility Iron: :cobra-small: King Utility Iron 18° Project X HZRDUS (S Flex)

4i-AW: :taylormade-small: 2019 P790 Nippon Zelos 7 (S Flex, Std Lie, +1/2" Length)

56°:  :vokey-small: SM4 56° Loft,  8° Bounce

60°: :macgregor-small: VIP 60°

Putter: :ping-small: Scottsdale TR Sanita B 

Shot Tracking: :Arccos:

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour BX

Bag: :ping-small: Hoofer Lite 

Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, ZMendle10 said:

I've been meaning to order a rule book for some time so I finally pulled the trigger yesterday and it will be here tomorrow.

You may also want to download the RoG app for your smartphone.  Its also pretty easy to use the online version of the Rules.

1 hour ago, SlowNLow said:

I believe this could fall under practicising while play is stopped

I'd disagree, I don't think the motion of the club used in "juggling" a spare golf ball would qualify as a practice "stroke".  In this case, using the online version of the rules, if you click on any italicized word (like stroke), you'll automatically be directed to the definition of that term.  I wouldn't say that juggling a ball is the same as " the forward movement of the club made to strike the ball".

  • Like 1

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites

 

34 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

You may also want to download the RoG app for your smartphone.  Its also pretty easy to use the online version of the Rules.

I'd disagree, I don't think the motion of the club used in "juggling" a spare golf ball would qualify as a practice "stroke".  In this case, using the online version of the rules, if you click on any italicized word (like stroke), you'll automatically be directed to the definition of that term.  I wouldn't say that juggling a ball is the same as " the forward movement of the club made to strike the ball".

From the original post "juggle a golf ball (not the one in play) on my sand wedge",  isn't this striking a ball with a forward motion?

Edited by SlowNLow
Link to post
Share on other sites
34 minutes ago, SlowNLow said:

 

From the original post "juggle a golf ball (not the one in play) on my sand wedge",  isn't this striking a ball with a forward motion?

When I do this, my club head moves mostly vertically, to get the ball going up and down.  Separately, since we're not allowed to hit a moving ball, juggling a moving ball doesn't seem like practice to me.

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

When I do this, my club head moves mostly vertically, to get the ball going up and down.  Separately, since we're not allowed to hit a moving ball, juggling a moving ball doesn't seem like practice to me.

When you play in your events and touranments, are you allowed do this?   It seems that even introducing another ball from you bag while your ball in play is in the fairway and you are waiting for the green to clear to play a shot would be, odd?    What happens if the ball in play with the ball gets hit by the ball being juggled?   What would happen if the juggled ball lands on the ground right next to actual ball in play and a player gets confused of which one is the ball in play?

I have no experience in tournament golf and have never encountered anything like this.

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, SlowNLow said:

What happens if the ball in play with the ball gets hit by the ball being juggled?   What would happen if the juggled ball lands on the ground right next to actual ball in play and a player gets confused of which one is the ball in play?

If you accidentally cause the ball in play to move, you are assessed a one-stroke penalty, and you must replace the ball on is original spot before playing it. (Rule 9.4)  If there are two balls, marked identically in the same area, you cannot identify either ball as your own.  (7.2, third bullet point), so your original ball must be considered lost.  Personally, I mark my golf balls before I play.  If I pull another ball from my bag or my pocket, it will be marked differently from the ball in play, usually its a different number.  But you're right, it would be foolish to do the juggling bit anywhere near the ball in play.  10 yards away, maybe not an issue.

I'm not suggesting that a player should do the juggling bit, but I don't see it as being against the rules.  I've never seen it happen in a competition.  Each of your "what ifs" are handled by the rules.

  • Like 2

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites

Stroke: The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.

Juggling is not a forward motion of the club. If you want to get pedantic, you're doing a series of what resembles chipping, which, per 5.5.b (Exception), is expressly allowed between holes.

 

Edited by Imp

Mixed bag... Mizzy irons, Callaway Woods, Vokey Wedges, Odyssey putter, spherical projectiles by Snell. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
23 minutes ago, Imp said:

Juggling is not a forward motion of the club. If you want to get pedantic, you're doing a series of what resembles chipping, which, per 5.5.b (Exception), is expressly allowed between holes.

I agree, but the OP was talking about doing this while waiting during the play of a hole.  I just don't believe that "juggling" a ball fits the definition of a stroke.

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites

Missed the 'during'. More coffee needed.

Still, common sense says no issue. It still does not meet the definition of a stroke, and therefore, not a practice stroke using any kind of ball (including similar size to conforming - interpretations 5.5.a.) If you make a stroke at a ball, that's practice. If you are just tapping it off the face of your club in an up/down motion, which fails to resemble any type of stroke made on the course, then should be no problem. 

I've called this on someone before. 2nd hole. After teeing off, walks to ball, waiting for group in front to move, drops shag ball and hits it into the water on purpose to get rid of it. "You know what you just did, right?" "Oh, come on, seriously?" "Yeah, seriously. Don't do that."  It doesn't make friends, I'll tell you that much. 😞

Juggling? Meets no definition of a stroke. 

Edited by Imp

Mixed bag... Mizzy irons, Callaway Woods, Vokey Wedges, Odyssey putter, spherical projectiles by Snell. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

For what it's worth I emailed the USGA and they have said it was legal.

I was not given an explanation as to why and what rules allow juggling to be legal though.

Edited by ZMendle10
  • Like 1

Driver: :ping-small: Ping G410 Plus 9° HZRDUS Smoke Yellow (S  Flex)

3 Wood: :taylormade-small: SIM 3 Wood 15° Ventus Black 7S

3 Utility Iron: :cobra-small: King Utility Iron 18° Project X HZRDUS (S Flex)

4i-AW: :taylormade-small: 2019 P790 Nippon Zelos 7 (S Flex, Std Lie, +1/2" Length)

56°:  :vokey-small: SM4 56° Loft,  8° Bounce

60°: :macgregor-small: VIP 60°

Putter: :ping-small: Scottsdale TR Sanita B 

Shot Tracking: :Arccos:

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour BX

Bag: :ping-small: Hoofer Lite 

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, ZMendle10 said:

I was not given an explanation as to why and what rules allow juggling to be legal though.

The general principle is that if it is not specifically prohibited, it is allowed.  Making a practice stroke is prohibited during the play of a hole, but bouncing the ball up and down does not meet the definition of a "stroke".

And really, you're not supposed to post the USGA response verbatim here, as the last sentence in their response clearly says.  But thank you for making the effort and confirming the legality.

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites
5 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

The general principle is that if it is not specifically prohibited, it is allowed.  Making a practice stroke is prohibited during the play of a hole, but bouncing the ball up and down does not meet the definition of a "stroke".

And really, you're not supposed to post the USGA response verbatim here, as the last sentence in their response clearly says.  But thank you for making the effort and confirming the legality.

So its kind of where does it say explicitly i cant do this and since it doesn't I can.

I have edited my previous post to remove the image as well. Thank you for the heads up on that.

  • Like 1

Driver: :ping-small: Ping G410 Plus 9° HZRDUS Smoke Yellow (S  Flex)

3 Wood: :taylormade-small: SIM 3 Wood 15° Ventus Black 7S

3 Utility Iron: :cobra-small: King Utility Iron 18° Project X HZRDUS (S Flex)

4i-AW: :taylormade-small: 2019 P790 Nippon Zelos 7 (S Flex, Std Lie, +1/2" Length)

56°:  :vokey-small: SM4 56° Loft,  8° Bounce

60°: :macgregor-small: VIP 60°

Putter: :ping-small: Scottsdale TR Sanita B 

Shot Tracking: :Arccos:

Ball: :bridgestone-small: Tour BX

Bag: :ping-small: Hoofer Lite 

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, ZMendle10 said:

So its kind of where does it say explicitly i cant do this and since it doesn't I can.

If you think about it, most rules work this way, not just the Rules of Golf.  Its much simpler to tell you the relatively small number of things you're not allowed to do, rather than list all of the things you ARE allowed to do.  For instance, you can play with one club.  You can play with two clubs.  You can play with 5 clubs.  You can play with 9 clubs.  You MUST NOT play with more than 14 clubs.

  • Like 1

:titelist-small: Irons Titleist AP2 714, KBS Tour S, 3 flat

:callaway-small: Rogue SubZero, GD YS-Six X

:vokey-small: 52, 56, and 60 wedges

:ping-small: B60 G5i putter

Right handed

Reston, Virginia

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...