Jump to content

Double Penalty for Out of Bounds


Recommended Posts

4 minutes ago, LICC said:

The recreational golfer who would be the most likely to hit it wayward, would not play the hole any differently if there was one penalty instead of two. And by requiring the next shot from the original spot, you risk another wayward shot to the same place instead of a lateral drip with a one stroke penalty. 

Nobody has said the recreational golfer has to play by the stroke and distance rules. And before you even say it, No in my mind a recreational golfer is not posting for a handicap

  • Like 2

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, blackngold_blood said:

Nobody has said the recreational golfer has to play by the stroke and distance rules. And before you even say it, No in my mind a recreational golfer is not posting for a handicap

Over 2 million Americans keep a handicap. Most are recreational golfers. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, LICC said:

The recreational golfer who would be the most likely to hit it wayward, would not play the hole any differently if there was one penalty instead of two. And by requiring the next shot from the original spot, you risk another wayward shot to the same place instead of a lateral drip with a one stroke penalty. 

I would suggest that they invoke the local rule and take the lateral drop in the fairway and take their 2 stroke penalty.  The new rules allow for that as an option.   I'd be fine with making that a permanent rule and not a local rule for all levels of play.   I think a two stroke penalty is a good penalty for hitting a ball off the course into an area you cannot play from.  

12 minutes ago, LICC said:

A ball submerged in water is not physically able to be played. 

A ball submerged in water can be played.   Whether the water is 1 inch deep or 30 feet deep,  it is still a penalty area and the player has an option to play the ball.  Water isn't treated any different than grass in a penalty area.   You are correct that in some instances the ball cannot be played and the golfer has multiple options to proceed.

 

  • Like 3

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :callaway-small: 54-10S   :cleveland-small: 588  58-12
Putter:  :seemore-small: mFGP2

Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330, :taylormade-small:TM-180, Bellum Winmore 787

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, LICC said:

Over 2 million Americans keep a handicap. Most are recreational golfers. 

So when I said before you say it IN MY MIND A RECREATIONAL GOLFER IS NOT POSTING FOR A HANDICAP, you still felt like telling me that they do post a handicap. Got ya!  I’ll make sure to ask you what I think next time I go to post something. 

  • Like 2

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Link to comment
Share on other sites

58 minutes ago, cnosil said:

A ball submerged in water can be played

In the physical universe in which we live, a ball submerged in water cannot be played. You still cannot articulate a rational explanation why that should be penalized differently. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, cnosil said:

   I think a two stroke penalty is a good penalty for hitting a ball off the course into an area you cannot play from.  

But not for hitting into the bottom of a pond that you cannot play from. Illogical. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, blackngold_blood said:

So when I said before you say it IN MY MIND A RECREATIONAL GOLFER IS NOT POSTING FOR A HANDICAP, you still felt like telling me that they do post a handicap. Got ya!  I’ll make sure to ask you what I think next time I go to post something. 

The discussion is about what golfers are actually doing. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, LICC said:

The discussion is about what golfers are actually doing. 

No the discussion is about you thinking that the stroke and distance penalty is too harsh for a shot that leaves the design of the course.  The only argument you keep making is that the water ball and ob ball are the same shot when in FACT one leaves the boundary of the course design while the other one remains on the course but unplayable. That is illogical. 

  • Like 3
  • Love 1

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, LICC said:

Over 2 million Americans keep a handicap. Most are recreational golfers. 

and there are 24.3 million golfers in America per 2019 statistics.  

  • Like 3
  • Love 1

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :callaway-small: 54-10S   :cleveland-small: 588  58-12
Putter:  :seemore-small: mFGP2

Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330, :taylormade-small:TM-180, Bellum Winmore 787

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

39 minutes ago, LICC said:

But not for hitting into the bottom of a pond that you cannot play from. Illogical. 

Again,  pond is irrelevant; it is a penalty area whether water is present or not. If there was water it could be 1 inch or 20 feet deep.  You are permitted to play the ball from a penalty area. If the ball is laying on the edge of the pond and you are permitted to hit the ball.   You are not permitted to hit a ball if it is out of bounds. 

  • Like 2
  • Love 2

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :callaway-small: 54-10S   :cleveland-small: 588  58-12
Putter:  :seemore-small: mFGP2

Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330, :taylormade-small:TM-180, Bellum Winmore 787

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, LICC said:

A ball submerged in water is not physically able to be played. 

That's not a hard and fast rule.  I've played a ball fully submerged before.  It can be done.

  • Like 4

:taylormade-small:M5 9° w/ UST Mamiya PFv2 6F4 @ 45"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash SZ 3wd w/ HZRDUS Green 70g, 6.5 @ 42.75"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash SZ 5wd w/ PX HZRDUS Black 85g, 6.5 @ 42.25"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash 7wd & 9wd w/ PX HZRDUS Black 85g, 6.5 @ 41.75" & 41"

:srixon-small:Z585 6-7, Z785 8-GW w/ TT AMT White S300@ 37.75" (6i)

:cleveland-small:RTX4 54/10 & 58/3 w/ DGold S400 @ 36"

:odyssey-small:SL EXO Marxman w/ Superstroke Flatso 3.0 @ 33"

On Deck:

:cleveland-small:RTX4 58/9 w/ Nippon Tour 125 Stiff @ 35.75"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, LICC said:

In the physical universe in which we live, a ball submerged in water cannot be played. You still cannot articulate a rational explanation why that should be penalized differently. 

You can say it as many times as you want, but, for those of us who have actually hit balls completely submerged, we know it's not true.

  • Like 4

:taylormade-small:M5 9° w/ UST Mamiya PFv2 6F4 @ 45"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash SZ 3wd w/ HZRDUS Green 70g, 6.5 @ 42.75"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash SZ 5wd w/ PX HZRDUS Black 85g, 6.5 @ 42.25"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash 7wd & 9wd w/ PX HZRDUS Black 85g, 6.5 @ 41.75" & 41"

:srixon-small:Z585 6-7, Z785 8-GW w/ TT AMT White S300@ 37.75" (6i)

:cleveland-small:RTX4 54/10 & 58/3 w/ DGold S400 @ 36"

:odyssey-small:SL EXO Marxman w/ Superstroke Flatso 3.0 @ 33"

On Deck:

:cleveland-small:RTX4 58/9 w/ Nippon Tour 125 Stiff @ 35.75"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, seeking70's said:

You can say it as many times as you want, but, for those of us who have actually hit balls completely submerged, we know it's not true.

Nope. You cannot physically make a golf strike on a ball submerged in water. 

  • Haha 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, LICC said:

Nope. You cannot physically make a golf strike on a ball submerged in water. 

https://thegolfnewsnet.com/golfnewsnetteam/2015/02/26/video-sergio-garcia-hit-submerged-ball-honda-classic-9926/

  • Like 2
  • Love 1
  • Haha 2

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :callaway-small: 54-10S   :cleveland-small: 588  58-12
Putter:  :seemore-small: mFGP2

Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330, :taylormade-small:TM-180, Bellum Winmore 787

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

14 minutes ago, cnosil said:

My first thought of the reaction to this video proof!9E3EA256-BEC3-494A-BD0B-B9095E18681E.gif.b163dac3121502d47492921b94809a58.gif

  • Like 1
  • Love 1
  • Haha 4

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, LICC said:

The ball went 90 degrees left. Thanks for proving my point. 

he 100% disproved your point. 

  • Like 2

:taylormade-small: SIM2 8º | KuroKage XT 70TX
:taylormade-small: SIM 3W 14º | Fujikura Atmos Black Tour Spec 9TX
:titelist-small: U500 2i | Fujikura Ventus HB Black 10TX
:titelist-small: T100 4-PW | Dynamic Gold X7
::vokey-small: SM6 52* SM8 56* SM8 60* | Dynamic Gold Tour Issue X100
:scotty-small:  Select Laguna

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 minutes ago, Chip Strokes said:

he 100% disproved your point. 

Who woulda guessed?

  • Like 1

 

 

 

What is in my Bag Boy Revolver

Driver:    PXG Gen2 0811x 10.5* set to small + with a VA Composites Nemesys 55s @ 44.75"

Fairway:  :srixon-small: F85 5 wood with a UST Elements Chrome 7F5 @ 41.5"

Irons: Testing the Titleist T200 irons 4-W2 with Project X LZ 5.5 shaft -1/2" and 1* Up

Wedge: Titleist SM7 56* with Project X LZ 5.0 shaft

Putter:  :scotty-cameron-1: Custom Futura X5 flow neck with a UST Frequency Filtered shaft -1" with a SS wristlock grip

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, LICC said:

Nope. You cannot physically make a golf strike on a ball submerged in water. 

 

2 hours ago, LICC said:

The ball went 90 degrees left. Thanks for proving my point. 

You state " you cannot physically make a golf strike"; so I show you proof that you can hit a submerged ball and then you disagree with video evidence because you didn't like the results of the shot.   

How about highlight number 7 in the video below  Jason Dufner 2016 at Doral or are you going to say he didn't hit it close enough to the hole. 

 

  • Like 1
  • Love 3

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15* set  to 16.5* w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 816H1 19* set at 18* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  21*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
               :titelist-small: 915H 24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :callaway-small: 54-10S   :cleveland-small: 588  58-12
Putter:  :seemore-small: mFGP2

Backups:  :bobby-grace-1: 6330, :taylormade-small:TM-180, Bellum Winmore 787

 

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, LICC said:

Nope. You cannot physically make a golf strike on a ball submerged in water. 

Why do you think that?

EDIT: Nevermind, I see it has been proven to you, yet again, and you refuse to acknowledge that something is possible that you claim is impossible.

Edited by seeking70's
  • Like 4

:taylormade-small:M5 9° w/ UST Mamiya PFv2 6F4 @ 45"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash SZ 3wd w/ HZRDUS Green 70g, 6.5 @ 42.75"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash SZ 5wd w/ PX HZRDUS Black 85g, 6.5 @ 42.25"

:callaway-small:Epic Flash 7wd & 9wd w/ PX HZRDUS Black 85g, 6.5 @ 41.75" & 41"

:srixon-small:Z585 6-7, Z785 8-GW w/ TT AMT White S300@ 37.75" (6i)

:cleveland-small:RTX4 54/10 & 58/3 w/ DGold S400 @ 36"

:odyssey-small:SL EXO Marxman w/ Superstroke Flatso 3.0 @ 33"

On Deck:

:cleveland-small:RTX4 58/9 w/ Nippon Tour 125 Stiff @ 35.75"

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...