Jump to content

The 10 second rule


Recommended Posts

There’s been a bit of discussion recently on potential rule changes, but I think this is one everyone can get behind. Get rid of the 10 second rule on the green. Why on earth does a near perfect shot deserve a penalty? You hit a great putt, it hangs on the edge of the hole. You go to tap it in and it looks like it’s moving so you wait. If you tap it in, it’s a 2 stroke penalty. Then, it drops, and you get a penalty stroke for your efforts. Seems a bit ridiculous, a great shot being rewarded with a lose/lose proposition that results in lost strokes for doing literally nothing. I’ve heard people say it’s a pace of play thing, but that’s complete bull. Considering if the same thing happens away from the hole, it turns into a 10 minute exchange between player, caddie, playing partner, and eventually a rules official. Pace of play goes out the window any other time a potential ruling takes place. I understand it’s a rare situation, but why wait until it costs someone a tournament to change it.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Link to comment
Share on other sites

18 hours ago, LeftyRM7 said:

 

There’s been a bit of discussion recently on potential rule changes, but I think this is one everyone can get behind. Get rid of the 10 second rule on the green. Why on earth does a near perfect shot deserve a penalty? You hit a great putt, it hangs on the edge of the hole. You go to tap it in and it looks like it’s moving so you wait. If you tap it in, it’s a 2 stroke penalty. Then, it drops, and you get a penalty stroke for your efforts. Seems a bit ridiculous, a great shot being rewarded with a lose/lose proposition that results in lost strokes for doing literally nothing. I’ve heard people say it’s a pace of play thing, but that’s complete bull. Considering if the same thing happens away from the hole, it turns into a 10 minute exchange between player, caddie, playing partner, and eventually a rules official. Pace of play goes out the window any other time a potential ruling takes place. I understand it’s a rare situation, but why wait until it costs someone a tournament to change it.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

As far as I'm aware, based on the explanation that followed the situation that happened at the RBC Heritage, Si Woo Kim would not have been penalized for striking a moving ball had he putted the ball after his 10 seconds had elapsed, so the overall result would have been the same either way. Once the 10 seconds has elapsed after taking a reasonable amount of time to reach the ball, even if the ball is oscillating in place, it's deemed to no longer be moving and you carry on.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...