TESTERS WANTED! ×

Why is my 5 wood going as far as my 3 wood?

Lgebbers

Hi all, 

I'm looking for some advice here. 

I have been playing with my Callaway Epic Flash 5 Wood and am really happy with it. It has an Project X Even Flow Green 5.5 or 5.0 Regular Flex shaft and the club has 18 degrees of loft and is set to standard.
I'm still a beginner so I only hit it around 180-185 yards but I hit it fairly save and am happy with the distance for now while I work on my swing and overall speed.

As I like the club I bought  the same just as a 3 wood, thinking it would go bit further. 
I bought it used so it came with a different shaft. This one has a Tensei AV BLUE 75 also with Regular Flex. This club has 15 degrees of loft and is also set to standard. 

After playing a few rounds I'm struggeling a bit with the new 3 wood. 
My misses are much bigger and it tends to fly only as far as my 5 wood even if I hit it rather well.
So now I have a tendency to just stick with my 5 wood and leave the 3 wood in the bag. 

Any tips or ideas from the pros here why that is and what to do moving forward?
Could it be just the different shaft or do the 3 degrees just don't make that much of a difference?
If it is the different shaft (I understand that the Tensei is heavier the Project X) would it make sense to change the shaft?
I also could set it to 14 degrees if that would help. 

Happy to get any advice. 

Thanks and all the best

You would need to get numbers on a launch monitor to really see what’s going on.

In general the 3w is harder to hit than the 5w and with your distance with the 5w you have a relatively slow swing speed which will make it harder to get the proper launch and ball flight with the 3w to get it to go farther than your 5w. 

The bigger misses from the 3w are due to the lack of speed, spin, height that come from slower swing speeds and swing flaws.