TESTERS WANTED! ×

Low spin premium balls.

Ball companies have been introducing low spin premium balls lately. I wonder how much the player is giving up on short shots. It would be interesting to see data showing the difference on shots around the green where spin is helpful, for example after short siding an approach shot. 
    I also can’t help thinking about the contrast between now and when I started playing 30 years ago. Back then, good players wanted nothing to do with low spinning hard balls. Of course, modern construction techniques give more short game spin than the old rock flights, but it’s still less than wound balatas had. 
     An interesting tidbit:  Ben Hogan in an interview toward the end of his life said if he was a tour player at the time, he would play a 2 piece ball. The interviewer was shocked but Hogan refused to elaborate. 

14 of the following:

Ping G430 Max 10.5 degree

Callaway 2023 Big Bertha 3 wood set to 17 degrees

Cobra F9 Speedback 7/8 wood set at 23.5 degrees

Callaway Epic Max 11 wood

Ping Eye 2 BeCu 2-SW

Mizuno 923 JPX HM HL 6-GW

Hogan sand wedge 56 degree bent to 53

Maltby M Series+ 54 degree

Ping Glide 3.0 Eye2 58 degree

Ping Glide 3.0 60 degree

Evnroll ER2

Ping Sigma 2 Anser

Cheap Top Flite mallet putter from Dick's, currently holding down first place in the bag

TaylorMade Mini Spider

Bridgestone XS

I consider myself a high spin player, and now play Clear Tour Blacks. They are high launch/low spin off the driver, but more spin off the irons. As long as the spin on your scoring clubs does not get too out of hand try to have as much spin as possible.

In my bag:

Driver: :callaway-logo-1: Rogue ST Triple Diamond LS 10.5* (set to 9.5) UST Lin-Q Gunmetal 6f5

Wood: :titleist-small: Tsi2 15* Project X RDX Black 70 6.5

Hybrids: :cobra-small: King Utility 19.5* Diamana Tensei White Pro 90TX

Irons: :cobra-small: Cobra King Tour MIM 4-PW Dynamic Gold 120 X100