Testers Announced! Callaway Paradym Ai Smoke Drivers and Autoflex Dream 7 Shafts! ×

Grass (The Golf Course Kind)

Shankster

The topic of grass type on the PGA Tour.  I never put any thought into it until recently.  I played some different types on vacation.

here in Maryland I play on Bermuda fairways.  Up north I was taking huge divots because the grass was so thin.  Here, yesterday, I was barely taking any, and the ball flight seemed higher… 

Whats your take on the grass?

I'm no expert on turf management.  Throughout the years playing this game in the region had seen the change of grass on the putting surface and fairway often.  One year, there was this infestation of fungus allover the region, killing off the grass on the greens.   The local PGA had to bring in experts to figure out a way to apply non-traditional fungicide to maintain the golf courses.  That year and a few after, we had been putting on half bald greens and some temporary greens in the Summer. 

Location dictate the type of grass on the putting surface and in the fairway.  The local climate will promote certain type ( mix ) of grass to thrive, better managed with fungus/moisture control.

In the NW, where plenty of moisture in half of the year and with tall evergreen trees, the shade promote the growth of the fungus.  Especially with the short grass on the putting surface, no golf courses around here could maintain the bentgrass, without the invasion of fungus.  The typical grass on the putting surface is a mixture of broad leaves  ( Poa Annua )and creeping bentgrass.

I believe more blue grass in the fairway mixed with rye, and other which pollinated from the wind of local species.  

Bent grass is so much easier to read and putt on. I live in the South so we have mostly tif eagle bermuda on the greens which is very heat resistant but grainy and adds a layer of difficulty in that you have to read the break AND the grain.