Testers Wanted! Toura Golf Irons Build Test! ×

How do you shape the ball?

I'm by no means an expert at shaping the ball, but I do try to work on it. I'm interested to see how everyone hits these shots (feel free to add others) since there's more than one way to skin the proverbial cat. Here's how I hit each shot:

Shots I can hit:

Fade: Move the ball closer to my left foot (my natural tendency is to fade), I love left to right dog legs.

High: I tend to hit the ball higher on the clubface and pinch it against the ground. The tour striker is by far the best tool to learn this.

Shots I can sometimes hit:

Draw: Close the face of my club. If I want more draw, also close my stance. I've gotten pretty decent at a small draw or extreme draw, just not the in between.

Backspin Wedge: I can make my wedge shots stop on a dime and sometimes goes a little backwards. I switched to high lofted wedges and lighter shaft to hopefully improve here.

Shots I can't hit for the life of me:

Punch: I really need to learn this shot. I've looked at YouTube videos, but I can't seem to pull it off.

Low: The tour striker is great for getting the ball in the air, I wish there was a version to help with low penetrating shots needed for windy days.

My normal shot is a draw. I have to really work to hit a fade with the irons, but with driver, woods, or hybrids I can hit those at will.

To hit the low ball, I simply quite my wrist action and swing a little slower.

To hit the punch, I move the ball back in my stance and hit it hard but with little to no follow through. I have the ball inside my right foot, and try to stop the club around my left foot.

:ping-small: G430LST 10.5° on     T P T    POWER 18 Hi Driver 

:ping-small: G430MAX 3w  on     T P T    POWER 18 Hi Fairway 

:ping-small: G425 3H on     T P T    POWER 18 Hi Hybrid 

:ping-small: G425 4H on :kbs: TGH 80S 

:ping-small: i525 5-U on :kbs: TGI 90S 

:titleist-small: SM8 54 & 60 on :kbs: Wedge 

:L.A.B.:DF2.1 on :accra: White