Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
GolfSpy_X

YES or NO - Is This A Hole-In-One?

Recommended Posts

Our Sponsors

I think it is because more than half of the ball is below the lip of the hole

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not a hole in one....yet.

 

 

16/3

 

Ball Embedded in Side of Hole; All of Ball Not Below Lip of Hole

Q.A player's ball embeds in the side of a hole. Part of the ball is above the level of the lip of the hole. What is the ruling?

 

A.The ball is not holed - see Definition of "Holed." The player may play the ball as it lies or lift the ball under Rule 16-1b, repair the damage under Rule 16-1c and place the ball on the lip of the hole.

 

 

However I take this one to mean that if you were able to wiggle the flagstick and make it fall into the hole, then it would be a hole in one. Assuming the flagstick was actually touching the ball while it was embedded.

 

 

17-4. Ball Resting Against Flagstick

When a player's ball rests against the flagstick in the hole and the ball is not holed, the player or another person authorized by him may move or remove the flagstick, and if the ball falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke; otherwise, the ball, if moved, must be placed on the lip of the hole, without penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since it's not resting against the pin, put a ball marker behind it, fix the damage and set it back down. There's no way it would stay up in that case and it would be an ace. It's not one until you follow the procedure though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As per the definition of holed:

 

Holed

A ball is "holed" when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

 

The ball is not ALL below the level of the lip of the hole

 

I say not a hole out. That sucks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

16/3

 

Ball Embedded in Side of Hole; All of Ball Not Below Lip of Hole

Q.A player's ball embeds in the side of a hole. Part of the ball is above the level of the lip of the hole. What is the ruling?

 

A.The ball is not holed - see Definition of "Holed." The player may play the ball as it lies or lift the ball under Rule 16-1b, repair the damage under Rule 16-1c and place the ball on the lip of the hole.

 

 

 

I agree repair and replace on the lip (without penalty). Sorta like a plugged ball. I also agree with the comment if I was playing with a friend I would give them this one. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would count it. If you placed a ball marker down and it can't stay up. So I can't see why you would even worry about it. Great Shot Congrats to who ever hit it!!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Great comprehensive answer. Bro, you're the second coming of JMiller. LOL (That's the ultimate compliment, BTW)

 

Question: what if, per the rules, you lift, clean & repair mark and try to place your ball but are unable to. I'm guessing that you would have to place it behind or to the side, though no nearer, which obviously would take it all the way into the hole. Would I have to place it behind the original spot?

 

Again, great answer!

 

Thanx a lot for takin the time to post it

 

Fairways & Greens 4ever

 

The rule just says to place it on the lip of the hole. I would take that to mean as close to the original spot as possible, without it falling into the hole. Kind of like taking a drop near a hazard. You drop it two or three times and it keep rolling in, then you just place it down outside the hazard. if the ball falls into the hole it still doesn't count, you would just need to place it on the lip so it stays out.

 

All that being said, I would wiggle the flagstick until it fell in the hole and count it!! :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rule just says to place it on the lip of the hole. I would take that to mean as close to the original spot as possible, without it falling into the hole. Kind of like taking a drop near a hazard. You drop it two or three times and it keep rolling in, then you just place it down outside the hazard. if the ball falls into the hole it still doesn't count, you would just need to place it on the lip so it stays out.

 

All that being said, I would wiggle the flagstick until it fell in the hole and count it!! :D

I don't know. I can't see it being any different than marking your ball when it's away from the hole and replacing it on the same spot. If it can't be placed in the same spot without falling in, it's holed the way I see it. The hole isn't a hazard. Replacing the ball on the green isn't the same as taking a drop. You always place it no matter what, not drop it and see whether it stays or not. Put a ball marker behind it and it gets placed back in front of the marker after the repair just like anywhere else on the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know. I can't see it being any different than marking your ball when it's away from the hole and replacing it on the same spot. If it can't be placed in the same spot without falling in, it's holed the way I see it. The hole isn't a hazard. Replacing the ball on the green isn't the same as taking a drop. You always place it no matter what, not drop it and see whether it stays or not. Put a ball marker behind it and it gets placed back in front of the marker after the repair just like anywhere else on the green.

 

i think we could debate it back and forth all day (ha ha, and we pretty much have), but the bottom line is that if this happened at a PGA event it would not be an ace.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i think we could debate it back and forth all day (ha ha, and we pretty much have), but the bottom line is that if this happened at a PGA event it would not be an ace.

Yeah that's what I wasn't sure of. I thought you would always place the ball on the same location on the green it was removed from. That was a good picture for a thread!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As the pin would have been in the hole and taking into account rule 17-4 regarding the ball resting against the flag stick what would be the ruling if whilst removing the flag stick the ball was dislodged from it's position and fell into the hole?

 

Lets assume that the ball was not resting against the flag stick but the flag stick touched the ball whilst being removed and fell in the hole.

 

AJ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As the pin would have been in the hole and taking into account rule 17-4 regarding the ball resting against the flag stick what would be the ruling if whilst removing the flag stick the ball was dislodged from it's position and fell into the hole?

 

Lets assume that the ball was not resting against the flag stick but the flag stick touched the ball whilst being removed and fell in the hole.

 

AJ

 

That's the part I'm not sure about, if the ball wasn't actually touching the flagstick, then I would assume there would be a penalty and you would have to place the ball on the lip and continue play. If the ball was touching the flagstick at all then i would assume if it fell in while wiggling it/taking it out then it would indeed be an ace.

 

That's just my interpretation of 17-4 though, I'm not positive.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, hckymeyer, for looking that up for us.

I would not have known the answer otherwise.

Good job.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Having read the rules I suggest the following:

 

1. If the ball was not touching the flag stick you would not be permitted to remove the flag if it was not possible to do so without dislodging the ball. The ball would need to be marked then the divot repaired and the ball placed on the lip of the hole in a stable position so as not to fall in the hole. Standard rules apply for putting out.

 

2. If the ball was touching the flag stick, the player (or an authorised person) may remove the flag and if in doing so the ball was dislodged and fell in the hole then an ace would apply. I do not believe that there is any rule that dictates the level of care that must be exercised when removing the flag stick. (read between the lines)

 

Just my thoughts.

 

AJ

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...