TESTERS WANTED! ×

Got To See Jim Hardy Speak Last Night...

GolfSpy Barbajo

My teaching pro invited me to see Jim Hardy speak last night at a PGA instructors meeting. Felt like the fox in a henhouse as first, but soon felt more like an 8th grader in a master's level post graduate course. Tried like hell to keep up and was able to connect a few dots...but it was a fascinating session. Just going to share with you some of my notes. I'm no expert and am in no position to critique any of the theories. For me the whole evening was a fascinating insight into one man's theory of the golf swing.

He discussed his binary approach to the golf swing -- steep vs. shallow angles and wide vs. narrow width at the bottom of the swing, and how it all relates to being a 1-plane swinger or a 2-plane swinger.

He started by saying there's lots of room for disagreement on golf swings -- there's no one way or right way to swing. The only thing that matters is getting the club head square to the ball at impact, and that the goal for any student is correct, repetitive impact, and that your misses will tell you a lot.

Found the binary approach fascinating - breaking things down into + or -, and teachers should strive to get students to more or less neutral to balance out the plusses and minuses. Once neutral, the length of the club you're using will take care of steep or shallow.

Any in setup or swing that makes the angle steep or steeper or makes the bottom of the swing narrow or narrower (think of a "V") is a +, and anything that makes the angle shallow or shallower or makes the bottom wide or wider is a minus. For example, more weight on the left side leads to a steeper swing, so that's a +. More weight on the ride side leads to a shallower swing, so that's a -. More bent over is a +, more upright is a minus. The K-position at address tends to shallow out swing.