Should I upgrade my Edge set?

Hey everyone, wanted some advice. I have been playing golf now for the last two years. I have been using the Calloway Edge set from Cosco. 

I am currently a 21 HC per 18 Birdies. I play once a week usually, at minimum once every two weeks. For the last 6 months, I consistently score between a 93-97. Got a new PR of 90 the other day! 

My question -- is it worth upgrading my Edge set? I got fitted for a AI Smoke Driver and AI Smoke Irons/G430 Irons (toss up between the two per my fitter).

Thank you in advance for the guidance! 🙂

5 hours ago, elight said:

What are your goals, and what do you hope the new clubs will achieve toward them? Did the club fitter demonstrate that compared to your current clubs? 

I am wanting to hit more consistent shots. If I could hit my shots straight 9/10 times, that would be the ultimate goal. 

During my fitting, per my fitter, my Driver and the New Driver were going about the same distance (275) but the new driver was more forgiving. For the 7-iron we were using, my Edge goes 175 pretty constantly teed up, while the AI Smoke and G430 was going 200 

Interesting. Did you leave the fitting believing that the new driver was more forgiving, or did he just tell that to you? Did he show you the difference in shot dispersion between the two clubs?

The gap between your 7 iron and driver seems way too small. I would expect your driver to be longer or your 7 iron to be shorter. Either way, distance is not your problem as a 21 handicap. In fact, adding distance may hurt you because it leads to greater dispersion. You need to look at where you're losing strokes compared to a 15 handicap. Is it off the tee or on approach? Much more likely, it's short game and putting.

PXG 0211 driver, 5w, 6i-PW, GW, SW; Titleist H1 4h; Odyssey White Hot mallet.

9 minutes ago, elight said: