Testers Wanted! Titleist SM10 and Stix Golf Clubs ×

Lag putting drills and practice (and LAB Golf tips)

Hi all,

Weirdly this seemed to be a bit of an under-served area from my searches on the forum (cue someone linking five threads about this in replies...) so I thought I would write up a few of the putting drills I've started using to try to eliminate three putts and up my lagging game. I've just started using a LAB Golf Mezz 1 and my lag putting is taking a while to get dialled for me. I'll drop in a few LAB specific comments below too. On to my learnings/drills.

Tempo

This was a real eye opener for me. Once I started practicing with the Tour Tempo app (metronome would work here too), I saw an almost immediate improvement in my stroke consistency and lag distance control. Maybe some folks have naturally good putter tempo, but this worked for me way better than anything else.

Equipment/Indoor vs Outdoor

Not much needed here other than balls, tees, and potentially an alignment stick or 6ft diameter circle (you can also just place a club 3ft behind your target). I have found that outdoor practice is the only real approach that works for me for lag putting, as you really need to be going 20ft+ and also shifting more than 10ft of distance at a time to practice different feels.

Target

It's up to you but some folks feel like it's bad form to putt to a hole if you're not holing it (Rotella et al). Personally I prefer putting to a hole as it then gives me the option to putt out all of my second putts. Alternatively you can do any of these drills to a tee or to the fringe.

Distance

It's worth measuring out how many paces is roughly 10ft for you - then you can pace out any distance you want on the practice green. Walk this off once at the start of practice and stick some tees in the ground and you're all set.

Session approach: