Jump to content
Testers Wanted! Shot Scope V5 ×

Fixed Obstruction


Recommended Posts

A player in our group this past Saturday hit his drive into the desertscape area.  The ball was close enough to the cart path that he could get relief for stance.  In line with his shot, approximately 20 feet forward of his ball, was one of those power boxes (~12" square and 3' high).  He thought he should get relief for that as well... was he correct?  If no, would it matter how close he was to the obstruction (i.e. impeded his swing)?

The rest of us were pretty sure he did not get relief other than for stance off the path... but we wondered if we were correct.  I think this is covered under rule 16, and since his swing path was not impeded, we were correct.

https://www.randa.org/rog/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16_1a

Edited by fixyurdivot

:ping-small: G410 Plus, 9 Degree Driver 

:ping-small: G400 SFT, 16 Degree 3w

:ping-small: G400 SFT, 19 Degree 5w

:srixon-small:  ZX5 Irons 4-AW 

:ping-small: Glide 2.0 56 Degree SW   (removed from double secret probation 😍)

:EVNROLL: ER5v Putter  (Official Review)

:odyssey-small: AI-One Milled Seven T CH (Official Review)

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I would agree 16.1a is the correct rule and decision. 

Driver: PXG 0811 X+ Proto w/UST Helium 5F4

Wood: TaylorMade M5 5W w/Accra TZ5 +1/2”, TaylorMade Sim 3W w/Aldila rogue white

Hybrid: PXG Gen2 22* w/AD hybrid

Irons: PXG Gen3 0311T w/Nippon modus 120

Wedges: TaylorMade MG2 50*, Tiger grind 56/60

Putter: Scotty Caemeron Super Rat1

Ball: Titleist Prov1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, fixyurdivot said:

A player in our group this past Saturday hit his drive into the desertscape area.  The ball was close enough to the cart path that he could get relief for stance.  In line with his shot, approximately 20 feet forward of his ball, was one of those power boxes (~12" square and 3' high).  He thought he should get relief for that as well... was he correct?  If no, would it matter how close he was to the obstruction (i.e. impeded his swing)?

The rest of us were pretty sure he did not get relief other than for stance off the path... but we wondered if we were correct.  I think this is covered under rule 16, and since his swing path was not impeded, we were correct.

https://www.randa.org/rog/the-rules-of-golf/rule-16#16_1a

Yes, he gets relief from the path.   As stated the power box could be considered an obstruction if:

  • The player’s ball touches or is in or on an abnormal course condition,
  • An abnormal course condition physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or area of intended swing, or
  • Only when the ball is on the putting green, an abnormal course condition on or off the putting green intervenes on the line of play.

If the abnormal course condition is close enough to distract the player but does not meet any of these requirements, there is no interference under this Rule.

 

If the box did not interfere with his stance or swing then he does not get relief.   

Driver:  :ping-small: G400 Max 9* w/ KBS Tour Driven
Fairway: :titelist-small: TS3 15*  w/Project X Hzardous Smoke
Hybrids:  :titelist-small: 915H 21* w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype
                :titelist-small: 915H  24*  w/KBS Tour Graphite Hybrid Prototype        
Irons:      :honma:TR20V 6-11 w/Vizard TR20-85 Graphite
Wedge:  :titleist-small: 54/12D, 60/8M w/:Accra iWedge 90 Graphite
Putter:   Sacks Parente MC 3 Stripe

Backup Putters:  :odyssey-small: Milled Collection RSX 2, :seemore-small: mFGP2, :cameron-small: Futura 5W, :taylormade-small:TM-180

Member:  MGS Hitsquad since 2017697979773_DSCN2368(Custom).JPG.a1a25f5e430d9eebae93c5d652cbd4b9.JPG

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, cnosil said:

Yes, he gets relief from the path.   As stated the power box could be considered an obstruction if:

  • The player’s ball touches or is in or on an abnormal course condition,
  • An abnormal course condition physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or area of intended swing, or
  • Only when the ball is on the putting green, an abnormal course condition on or off the putting green intervenes on the line of play.

If the abnormal course condition is close enough to distract the player but does not meet any of these requirements, there is no interference under this Rule.

 

If the box did not interfere with his stance or swing then he does not get relief.   

Cool, sounds like we got that one right.  I think he was just afraid the ball might hit it.  Thanks.

:ping-small: G410 Plus, 9 Degree Driver 

:ping-small: G400 SFT, 16 Degree 3w

:ping-small: G400 SFT, 19 Degree 5w

:srixon-small:  ZX5 Irons 4-AW 

:ping-small: Glide 2.0 56 Degree SW   (removed from double secret probation 😍)

:EVNROLL: ER5v Putter  (Official Review)

:odyssey-small: AI-One Milled Seven T CH (Official Review)

 

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...